We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Miramar Hotel Tenerife Island
Ranked #78 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed 17 November 2012

This is one of the nicest 3 star hotels I have stayed in, very quaint. Booked as a last minute cheap deal and was not expecting much for the cheap price we payed, however I was very impressed, the hotel is spotless, the staff well manered and friendly, the gardens beautiful. The food .... well there was not much of a choice but what was there did the job just fine. If this had been important for us we would have not booked this hotel at the price we paid. I overheard a few people moaning about the food, which I do not think is fair on the hotel, I am aware that you get what you pay for, and the hotel Miramar exceeded my expectations, had a wonderful relaxing time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lynda89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (812)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 812 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2012

just back from a 2 wk stay.our 3 bed studio room 716 faced a tropical garden,to one side sea views and the other mount tiede,spectacular views in daytime and night which was a bonus.room was very clean bright and spacious,large cupboard and plenty drawer space,shower/bath always hot water.carpeted in our room and hallway which i didnt really like, seemingly other rooms had wooden floors.rooms were cleaned, given fresh towels and beds were made everyday.downstairs at reception area was quite classical designed,could do with a bit of updating but comfortable,adds to it's charm i guess.the lift was old and we got stuck in it for approx 3 minutes,handyman/mechanic came quickly and fixed it,so no harm done.hotel has 2 pc's (1 euro for 15 minutes,2 euro for 30 min)for internet use and tables for card games/board games etc,2 tv rooms,plenty comfortable chairs for relaxing,only a few chanels on tv,only 1 british.swimming pool reasonably sized,pool area was kept clean and tidy,had toilets and showers,crazy golf,table tenis and small play area,swings etc was easy accessable,wheelchair friendly.beautiful tropical plants,flowers and trees in the gardens,banana tree and papiya tree laded with it's fruit.we saw alot of cute lizards which came out for a nosey,which our daughter loved,it added to the fun of our stay,the food was very good and always hot/cold appropriately,something for everyone.the waiter pedro stood out from the other staff as he spoke good english and was friendly.the entertainment was once a week on a saturday nite only music and man playing keyboard/trumpet,most nights bar wasnt very busy.
a short distance from miramar was gorgeous biotanical gardens and waterfalls......down the hill and many stairs later were the shops,restaurants and bars.the front promenade was busy every day and night with that much needed buzz after being in a quiet hotel.alternatively take the free shuttle bus down the hill from hotel and back daily mon-fri only,a bit old and rickety but has good brakes!we would take the stairs down into town then on occassion use the bus ride back up.
our stay was comfortable and pleasant,good value for money.hotel a bit too quiet for us normally but we would return happily.we had a great holiday at miramar!

Room Tip: rooms higher up have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lisaburnsedgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Mother and two kids aged 10 and 12, first time abroad alone.

This was a very late booking so a little apprehensive, however I was very happy with all aspects of the hotel and had a lovely holiday.

I e mailed ahead having read reviews here and asked for a quiet room with a good view. I was a little disappointed that the main view out of our window was the mountain and the neighbours empty swimming pool, with a sideways view of the sea. However it seems that this was indeed one of the better rooms, spacious and ideal for myself and two kids, or two adults and a child as the third bed was round a little wall which meant I could read while they got off to sleep.

Maid service every day, rooms exceedingly clean and well decorated, comfy beds, lots of clean towels, good shower and plenty of hot water, although pool showers were not heated.

No kids club, no evening entertainment apart from a fella on a keyboard on sat night, but I liked it this way, was more like being at home with your own pool! Nightlife in town if you want it.

Food was very good for the price, some frozen veg and tinned fruit but also plenty of fresh salad and fruit, home made hot food every night, not adventurous but wholesome and tasty, we ate very well. Plenty of cheese and egg and fish dishes if you didn't want meat.

I would agree that some of the staff are less than welcoming and not very smily, although all were helpful, maybe it's a cultural thing, Spanish pride? Apart from the room maids and one lady I saw very occasionally on reception, all the staff were male.

The gardens are beautiful and the pool was a highlight for the kids especially, the views are stunning by day or night, take a moment to go up to the roof if you can manage.

Puerto cruz is a lovely little town, I felt very safe, no rowdy unsociable behaviour anywhere that we saw. Coffee 80cents and sandwiches available for 1.50euro.

Unless you're hiring a car buy a bono bus ticket for much cheaper fares and visit some of the other local towns, lots to do although Julie the rep won't/doesn't tell you about anything that she's not selling, she had no idea about kids needs her info was limited to a pub selling coffee and the two big parks which you couldn't fail to miss anyway. Loro parque and Siam water park are very worth a visit, I have been to Florida several times and these are as good as the ones there, kids loved them.

Right next to the hotel is a park with a small bar/cafe and child's play area, lots of joggers at all times of day, coupled with the 200+ steps up and down to town lots of potential to get fit!

My only warning would be for anyone with very small children, all the windows slide open like patio doors leaving a gaping hole in the building, toddlers would need to be constantly supervised, the windows do lock when closed but are not difficult to open, and there is no way to prevent them opening fully. There are ground floor rooms with enclosed private terraces, these might be best.

Overall we had a great time, there is still lots on the island to explore (that Julie didn't tell us about) would definitely go back to this location and this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for what you fancy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Just returned from a 2 wk stay.

Location - perfect. In green/tropical park area. Fantastic hotel grounds, views from all angles, not overlooked by other buildings. E4 each to visit private water gardens below the hotel - lovely, views of the sea. Short walk to the left of the hotel, Taoro Park - volcanic gardens, to the front of the hotel, Taoro Hotel gardens, Right of hotel, pretty road with a 5 min walk to beautiful terraced water gardens into town.- killer steps returning!

Interior of hotel - Faded elegance, charm, even though its tatty in places, needs refurbishment.
Clean, cool and airy, you don't feel you are in a 'package hotel'. Large dining room, long windows overlooking quiet tree lined road and gardens. Side window views of the garden, sea, and hills. TV room and small library, odd decor but that adds to the charm for us.

We had Room 803, panoramic views of the sea, gardens and hills and coastline, sun on the terrace in the pm. Large airy room, lots of storage space, generous sized bathroom .Lots of hot water.

Outside - small side garden near a building - apartments? views to hills. Pool was superb, quiet, clean, plenty of loungers and chairs, shade. Pool wc and showers, and outside shower.
Glorious garden and bar, super bar food . Pretty games area, pool, crazy golf, table tennis.

Staff - great - reception staff at times appeared preoccupied, but always friendly - but so are we! Super waiters -Pedro and Esteban and others. One chap wasn't over friendly in the mornings, but was ok. Ed the bar man speaks good English and his dad is the pool barman. Lovely people when you make the effort to get to know them.

FOOD - Traditional, please don't expect British food, not for faddy eaters. It varied from ok to really lovely - you can 'graze' and fill up on every meal. There is room for improvement, please can the food be HOT! Having said that I've put a stone on!!

Absolutely would return. It was the most relaxing holiday we have ever had. Would still return at £50 per head more (to fund needed improvements), it still would be good value.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sophiemorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

I would go back to this hotel. It might not be for everyone, but it suited me down to the ground. Cheap, cheerful, functional, quiet, pretty gardens, great views, safe area, clean.

Pluses-
Bath and shower, always hot water.

Cleaner was very attentive, we put the do-not-disturb sign out quite late some mornings, and went out in the afternoon, returning to find our room changed around.

Pool was quiet and clean, and was a light mix of salt and chlorine meaning we didn't feel drenched in one or the other. No problem getting a sun-lounger or chair. From the pool you have nice views of the surrounding hills, volcano and sea.

Grounds were nice, with lovely gardens, mature palms, roses, canarian flowers, etc. There were some really big geko's running around, which I quite enjoyed watching.

Breakfast was ok. Variety was good. Fruit, cheese, bread, salami and ham, sausages, eggs, beans, bacon, toast, croissants. It all felt very cheap though, the jam was more like jelly, the sausages were fatty etc. For £27 a night inc breakfast, we were happy enough.

Our room (814) was large, with two singles (pushed together) a sofa, walk in wardrobe, separate wardrobe, bathroom, and all-round balcony.

You can get to the roof for views if you want, but we didn't bother.

We played pool in the sunshine, plus there was crazy golf and table tennis. Bats etc are in the pool bar.

Parking was easy, either out the front or in the casino carpark where there is shade.


Down sides:

We ate in the hotel twice on an evening. 9euros a head and as much as you can eat. We were tired and it did the job, but we were very glad not to have been full board as the quality was questionable. If you're a vegetarian you will struggle here, there is meat in almost everything, the scrambled eggs, the soup, pastas etc.

The atmosphere in the restaurant is very school dinners/service station. Clean, functional, but not fun.

The jacuzzi seemed to be closed, We didn't worry enough to ask.

If you like hotels where you can laugh away with the barman/other guests, get tipsy and sing along, watch spanish dancers etc, this is defo NOT the hotel for you. There was one night where we found 4 people playing bingo, but other than that there was no entertainment and no one in the bar. The barman was always there to give us drinks for our room though (much needed after the pull up the hill!)

Our bed was two singles pushed together. Not ideal, but the beds were stable and didn't slide down the middle so we were happy enough.

We would have liked an optional fridge even if we had to pay extra for it.

Some staff were pleasant enough, but clearly customer service, and service with a smile, are concepts that haven't quite reached them yet.

The walk down to the town is lovely, fountains, gardens etc. Sadly the walk back up is pretty tough after food and drink, but if you don't mind finding and paying for a taxi then it's no biggy,

I would definitely go back. This hotel was just right for what we wanted, and we had a great holiday.

Room Tip: 814 is a big and comfy room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spearec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

The hotel is clean and pleasant. Its a ten miinute walk out of Puerto down through some lovely gardens with flowers and waterfalls. The downside is that its a steep trek to get back up especially after a big dinner - many steps!

The room was cleaned every day and always left tidy with fresh towels. We had a lovely view of tenerife with a balcony that extended round the other side of the hotel so not only could we see Puerto but also El Teide as well - room 818! The pool was great, very clean and with nice gardens surrounding. drinks at pool bar cheap enough and no request was too much trouble. There were hardly any kids at the hotel which suited us fine so everything was very tranquil - no loud music anywhere, great for just chilling by the pool with a beer or 3.

There was little to no atmosphere at the hotel - the bar was deserted most nights but there was always a staff member around so grab a drink from. Not sure if it was start of season or not but we had the pool more or less to ourselves some days. Staff not great english speakers but was never an issue.

Breakfast was buffet style, fresh fruit, cereal, bread, eggs, sausages etc. simple but not bad. Fresh fruit was always good - oranges, dates, melon etc

We did B and B as the plan was to eat out most nights. We did eat in twice though after a long trip to El Teide the night before and couldnt face the steps! cheap at 9 euros per head... food was a bit grim to be honest - very school dinner ish but again like most things in the hotel, gets the job done simply and cheaply. Vegetarian soup had meat in and had some very strange soup consisting of scrambled eggs and some very fatty...ummm fat? cheap meat and dodgy sauces!

Would always eat out in Puerto rather than the hotel food - Tambo and Los Gamelos are two places i would return too time and time again!

So if you want a quiet, peaceful, clean relaxed place to stay in tenerife and happy to eat out most nights then i would strongly recommend Miramar - £27 a night for a large double room including breakfast - cant really argue with that.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I happened to stay in the Miramar hotel during a wonderful trekking, and luckily the hotel was the minor thing to think about, being Tenerife and its mountains absolutely fantastic. Nevertheless one can't say that Miramar is a beautiful place to stay. First of all, avoid the restaurant and the bar: food is terrible and the waiters are absolutely unfriendly. Of course also breakfast is totally unbearable, always the same things and all of them chosen among the cheapest. During my stay even the water was undrinkable and so I had to drink only very poor orange juice (no other juice available). Consider that every single day there are only french fries as vegetables... As for the rooms there is a part of the hotel renovated and maybe there they are better; where I stayed it was a triple room and not every day the service in the room made the beds properly; towels were not changed for the whole stay (7 nights!). All in all the only good thing of this hotel is the position, on top of the Taoro Park, with a beautiful swimming pool and a quite nice garden. For the rest, choose another hotel: in Tenerife there is plenty of better ones!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mistok72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol
Casa del Sol
#54 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartments Pez Azul
Apartments Pez Azul
#60 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
388 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marte
Hotel Marte
#46 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Puerto Azul Hotel
Puerto Azul Hotel
#58 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Don Candido
Don Candido
#42 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tenerife Ving
Hotel Tenerife Ving
#64 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramar Hotel Tenerife Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramar Hotel Tenerife Island

Address: Parque Taoro S/N, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: £35 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Miramar Hotel Tenerife Island 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Superbreak UK, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Miramar Hotel Tenerife Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Tenerife Island Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing