We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chilling hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Miramar Hotel Tenerife Island
Ranked #76 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Kidderminster, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Chilling hotel”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Currently staying here, 2 nod time on Tenerife and finding this hotel quite good.
Booked for a week all inclusive and 1st impressions are ok. Wanted a quiet and peaceful break and this hotel fits the bill.
Hotel well laid out and views from room balcony are awesome(8th floor), pool small but as only 50 guests staying at moment there's plenty of room around it. Food and drink acceptable, but they charge for bottled water. Easier if you refill your empties when you go for meals.
There is no entertainment laid on but it's a 10 minute walk down into the main tourist area(200 plus steps) but the view on way down is great especially in the evening as the sun sets

Room Tip: The higher up the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GustyGale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    162
    163
    123
    226
See reviews for
157
366
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

There's lots of good things about this hotel that make it a bargain as a 3* hotel. There's also some minor niggles, many of which would be easy to put right if they wanted to.

Location - in an affluent area of Puerto de la cruz. There's no shops on site or around Miramar so you'll have to go into town for everything. The centre is accessible down some stairs but it takes you past beautiful gardens with waterfalls and is a relaxed easy walk - 10 mins to the centre. A taxi will cost €3 each way.

Check in - easy, efficient and friendly. We had arrived at 10pm so had missed the evening meal but they had put out a cold platter with drinks and fruit which was a much needed lovely touch!! Hairdryer, mini-fridge and safe all have to be paid for to hire, and there is a €10 deposit for the tv remote that you get back when you leave (???)

Rooms - ours was 711 and was fairly big, comfy bed, very clean, carpeted, nice balcony etc. bathroom fairly large with bath and shower - loads of hot water and again very clean throughout.

Pool - the water was very cold but was impeccably clean as we're all the lovely gardens that surround it!!! Loads of places to lounge by the pool or to sit in the gardens / on the terrace! No toddler pool if you have little ones!!! You have to pay extra to use the sauna and jacuzzi facilities!!!

Drinks - beer was fairly good, wine tasty and lots of soft drinks, though no fresh fruit juice at breakfast - only watered down stuff!! The biggest issue was the fact that that they open one bar at a time, so whilst meals are being served in the dining room, the pool bar and main bar are closed, and throughout the day you can only get a drink from the pool bar as the main bar only opens at 8pm!! which did get a little annoying!! Also, they didn't turn on the coffee/tea machine in the dining hall at lunchtime or evening meals which seems strange and meant you had to wait for the dining hall to close and the pool bar to reopen to get a hot drink!!!! The bar closes at 11 but there's nothing going on in there - very dated and old fashioned place with occasional bad music in the background. No other entertainment!!

Food - on the whole this was really good. An excellent choice, good quality products especially the meats that were lovely!!! Breakfast always had fried eggs (though could have done with being cooked a little longer), hot ham (bit like bacon) and beans, sometimes with sausage or scrambled eggs, as well as the continental choices. The toasting de ices were old, way too hot and dangerous to use and really need replacing with actual toasters!!! The dessert choices were not very good - apples, bananas (brown) and oranges wre always out but otherwise they tended to be cheap options you'd find at a kids party - jelly, mousse, blamange etc!! On the days there was doughnuts - these were delicious!!! No snack bar or food available between main meals and no shop for nibbles etc!!!

Atmosphere - this is a hotel for people who are looking for a relaxed peaceful time. There's not much going on and certainly not aimed at those wanting a raucous time!! Also be aware that the town centre is incredibly Spanish - this isn't anything like Los Americos or other Spanish Islands that are geared towards the English!! This is a really authentic Spanish destination so bear this mind when looking to book. (If you do want an English bar The Beehive is the best!!!)

Staff - reception people were friendly and helpful. Most of the bar/dining hall staff were very grumpy and had no interest in conversing with anyone. Cleaning / maintenance people were all lovely tho!!!

Wifi - this was only available at reception and sometimes in the bar which wasn't very good as most people expect 'free wifi' to mean it's available throughout the hotel.

All in all a very good hotel for 3* and with minimal effort could have been a 4*, but only book if you're looking for somewhere quiet and laid back.



Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank dmorgan202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Just come back from a 4 day break to the Miramar in puerto de la cruz . What can i say was very sceptical after reading reviews all i can say is there must be a lot of Victor Meldrews about who there lifes ambition is to moan about everything . Firstly the hotel is like a big mansion with lots of rooms you can sit in and are furnished like a big country mansion with tapastries on the walls and big sofas . The rooms are very spacious clean and our view was of mount teide which still had snow on top . We were all inclusive and food was good but i guess after staying there for longer periods it would get monotimous but thats the same wherever you go. There was no entertainmemt but it cost 3 euros to the square were theres many little spanish bars
Stay clear of the german bars as they still like to rip us brits off .The pool is lovely and tranquil everything is clean the pool bar opens at 10.am and closes at 1-2.30 while lunch is served as its skeleton staff at the moment . The staff cannot do enough for you . Puerto de la cruz is so pretty with beautiful gardens and yes there are237 steps down to the centre which we decided to climb on afternoon the first and last time . Pleasant going down but coming back is not recomended thats were ur taxis come in .we absolutely loved this place and are already making plans to go back if you want 5 star then pay for 5Star but leave your negative comments about the Miramar as they are not justified .

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
17 Thank BUSTER2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I think that people have written bad reviews so that they can keep this little treasure all to themselves! AMAZING value, the hotel may only be 3*, but the staff and cleanliness and quality of the rooms are all 5* the grounds are stunning, there are lovely lounges, the room was lovely and clean and BIG and serviced every day. We always found something to eat from the buffet... what more do people want? The views are stunning and the town itself has everything. There were a few complaints that I read on here about the inconvenience of the 200 steps?? There is actually 242... and these are NOTHING to do with the hotel, it is a route into town... a lovely route with a waterfall and little gardens all the way down, and... a taxi from the town back to the hotel, cost us a total of 3.15Euro. really can not complain about that. We would definately return and thank the wonderful wonderful staff at the Miramar Hotel for a fantastic holiday and for helping create some wonderful memories that will be with our family for a lifetime.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Largely agreeing with David P, we found almost nothing to complain about at this hotel. There was rabbit on the menu once in the week, on a day when the evening meal was traditional Canarian food. Our room was great - all rooms at this hotel have balconies - at other hotels you have to pay extra for this. The view from there was amazing - beach, volcano, coast and sunsets. The room was clean on arrival, and tidied up every day for us. We did not have to pay for the TV remote - it was already in the room.

The garden pool area was lovely, the water was clean, and there are toilets, showers and changing rooms by the pool. Plenty of sun beds, although they could do with a few more parasols.

The only slightly annoying thing was the way we had to buy a tickets for drinks with the evening meal, before going into the restaurant. This applied to half board visitors. It would be better if we could just order drinks from the waiter in the restaurant.

All in all,. we enjoyed our stay very much, and are surprised that previous visitors found so many faults with the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms have balcony or terrace, good views from all sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We read 3 bad reviews of this hotel,so was worried i had made a mistake.Can i just say that the IDIOTS that gave the hotel bad reviews need their heads examining.we arrived in the early hours of the morning and they had a meal for us and drinks.The hotel is gefinately 3 star,but what a little gem!!!.We landed at TFS and it was a 70km drive to the hotel.The hotel is situated on a hill with beautiful,stunning views of Mt Teide and the sea/resort.There are 216 steps down to the resort through ornamental gardens with lovely waterfalls.The hotel is dated,but in an elegant way.Our room was spacious,clean and the beds were the most comfortable i have had.The food is good,meat,fish,pasta,chips,extensive salad bar which changed everyday and NO RABBIT!!!.The drinks were strong and plentiful and stopped at 23-00.The pool bar closed between 13-00 and 14-30,but you could still get drinks in the restaurant.The staff are hard working and we found them pleasant enough.The entertainment was poor,but that did not stop us from having a good time as you made friends.The grounds are beautiful and pool clean and a nice temperature,plenty of sunbeds.We had a lovely holiday and would definately go back again.Thank you to everyone at the Miramar!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We have recently returned from yet another visit to the Miramar. I cannot believe some of the negative comments made by a number of the reviewers relating to this hotel. The choice of dishes at each meal has to reflect the different nationalities staying there and not just us Brits.Rabbit is only served one night a week .You need never go hungry.As for the cleanliness ,this has never been an issue. The comment relating to the rental of the tv remote is incorrect as the cost of 10 euro is repaid when leaving .For the money, this hotel offers excellent value and can be judged by the number of clients returning every year.The only one negative is that the all inclusive package has meant a rise in drunken behaviour .The waiters have been there for years and are under pressure and we find that they like to have a laugh and joke in spite of this. We believe this hotel offers excellent value for money and there are more pro's than cons. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room 6th floor or above as all have excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
0.5 mi away
Hotel Perla Tenerife
Hotel Perla Tenerife
#38 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
403 reviews
0.8 mi away
Interpalace by Blue Sea
Interpalace by Blue Sea
#68 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,049 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#17 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Blue Sea Callao Garden
Blue Sea Callao Garden
#4 of 4 in Callao Salvaje
835 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Diamante Suites
Hotel Diamante Suites
#24 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
499 reviews
2.3 mi away
Panoramica Garden
Panoramica Garden
#61 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramar Hotel Tenerife Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramar Hotel Tenerife Island

Property: Miramar Hotel Tenerife Island
Address: Parque Taoro S/N, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Miramar Hotel Tenerife Island 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Miramar Hotel Tenerife Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Tenerife Island Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing