We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, polite, helpful if a little basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apartments Pez Azul
Ranked #58 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We had not booked this hotel but it's sister hotel 'la carabella' which is just around the corner. On arrival we were told the only room left was a basement room which we were shown, it felt dark and a little damp, they kindly offered us a 3rd floor room at the Pez Azul which we accepted (it was 3am and we were very tired from traveling by this time). They arranged for a cab to this hotel and the reception were there to great us.
The hotel was clean but basic, the room overlooked the view rather than the pool (which personally I think was better), there is wifi at the pool and reception but we were lucky enough to get a signal from the balcony!
Staff were polite, the. Hotel was relatively quiet, sound proofing wasn't brilliant but could have been a lot worse!
We didn't eat at the hotel as didn't look too interesting and there were places close by which were reasonable enough.
Bottom line, it was a 3star hotel, not built in 2014 but the whole area is quite dated. It was reasonably priced and staff all pleasant and helpful, the room had beds, kitchen area, dinning area and balcony...

**one thing.....after first night we noticed one of the mattresses (it was a twin room for me and my son) had a large stain which I can only assume was blood. It was reported to reception and within a couple of hours a brand new mattress and pillow was put in place. I don't think I could have asked for anything else aside from perhaps the daily cleaners/maids should have perhaps picked this up when making the bed originally? I was happy with the response and outcome and actually see this as a positive comment rather than a negative

Room Tip: Depends what you are after but we looked out to the mountains which was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Danny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

My son and I stayed here for 10 nights. Was worried after some old reviews on here but we thought it was lovely. The room was clean, the maid came every day bar Saturday. You definitely get what you pay for so don't expect the Ritz. The room was a good size, 2 comfy single beds. Small table & chairs and nice balcony with a view of the pool. We never found this to be noisy. The only downside was that there was no kettle, just a saucepan. Limited kitchen utensils but we ate out mainly so this was not a problem. The hotel was very noisy at night, lots of people coming back from a night out. the pool was fairly big but was quite deep for nervous swimmers. Could also get busy during the afternoon. We had breakfast every day and the choice was varied but could get monotonous for a 2 week holiday. The food was hot. We had dinner once and it wasn't good,not worth paying the extra for. The main town is about 15 mins walk away, down alot of stairs. We found it better to get a taxi back after a long day, cost 3 Euros. There's a great variety of restaurants, all excellent value. All in all we had a good time at the Pez Azul and in Puerto de la Cruz,would come back.

Room Tip: Pool side, 3rd floor. Had a lovely view of the street which was good for people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Millwall44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Nice relaxing holiday! downside was all the steps to main town to & from hotel but other than that was great to have room tidied everyday, lush food , clean pool, friendly people & a nice chilled out holiday

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank IanJostorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed recently at Pez Azul in Puerto de la Cruz. I have to say the best value hotel I have ever stayed at in puerto. The room was clean, staff friendly, large swimming pool, bed's comfortable. About a 15 minute walk down to city centre, which was a great excuse for a nice walk! A little noisy at times, as near the road and hotel busy with many young locals staying!! I didn't eat at the hotel so I can't comment on the food! The 'free' wifi was great and worked 95% of the time over 3 weeks stay, which in itself was unusual but very welcome!
I would stay here again for sure!

Room Tip: I requested an got a pool view room which was a good idea. No 'real' sea views anyway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Clean but basic. More facilities in a YMCA. Food in restaurant is crap don't bother. Pool good n clean. You need to be a mountain goat if u want the beach or town as there is 154 steps down to contend with also the hyper markets are at the bottom so you will have to drag your shopping back up. There's a nice cafe/restaurant out of the hotel to the right which do a good breakfast n steak. Don't bother going to the coke bar across the road a man plays the keyboards every night dull and the food is horrendous.

Stayed: July 2014
4  Thank Melanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

just got back from these apts cant complain about the cleanliness as they are spotless but what an horrid, horrible ,arrogant man who is on the reception. He realy doesn't like the English at all all they cater for is Spanish an germans nothing for the English at all .I couldn't wait to get home I would never return here again my advice is don't go . One last thing theres 165 stairs to walk up and down to get to the town.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank icequeensheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Hotel was booked as a cheap family option 2 rooms in July for a week cost less than £200, rooms where quite spacious accommodating 3 single beds two of which separated by a partition giving some privacy. dinning table and 4 chairs small kitchenette with 2 rings and a selection of pans knives etc. Fridge with freezer box which worked out perfect for kids ice creams, saving us a fortune. Nice big wardrobe for clothes and a small unit. Bathroom hand basin bath with over head shower and plenty of hot water and of course toilet. Plenty of clean towels etc. Cleaners come in when required simply put a do not disturb on your door and they leave you alone. We were 3rd floor not poolside giving a nice view of the sea and mount Tiede on a clear day, and also providing a spot for early evening soon (poolside shaded). Restaurant serving breakfast lunch and dinner buffet style we didn't use this so cant recommend, there was a bar attached to the restaurant, this wasnt open on an evening there was nothing to do at night in the apartments which I though was a shame the bar could easily have been utilised.

Good Supermarket Hyper Dino 5 mins away as you leave the hotel cross the road and go left take a right turn pass the gardens down the steps and the massive supermarket is on your right, there was plenty of cheap options for S/C Bread 1E, milk 66c, Ham&Cheese 1 Euro, Fresh pastries and baguettes from 33cent, litre of wine 68 cents and cans of Estella 19 cents, family boxes of ice creams lollies etc approx 1 euro loads more of course.....

We were concerned if we could afford a holiday this year but this one really worked for us with cheap accommodation and flights (ryan air) the initial cost was good transfer to and from the airport for family of 5 cost more than the accommodation though a bit pricey. The centre itself was lovely seafront based nice stroll along the seafront restaurants and pubs nice and clean, the old town is slightly further across and a little more traditional give a lovely mix it was like having two separate resorts on your door step, We found that the food was cheap eating out but most places of reasonable to good standard, we only found two places that were really good, portions weren't particularly generous, menus were quiet the same, pizza, half chicken and chips, chicken/turkey escalopes, pork chops, bolognaise, omelettes etc, Family of 6 most expensive night including drinks was £70, cant complain really.

We found due to these factors we had enough money to go to Loro Parque, this is pricey but we had a really good day out, Children under 6 are free no Id was requested, so this was a bonus, there's also a lovely tourist train which takes you from the centre of the resort to the park and back free of charge approx 15 mins, nice for the kids and saved a taxi fare. Botanic Gardens was also lovely leaving the hotel turn right walk up the main road don't take any of the right turns, approx 10 mins walk at a decent not toddler pace, entrance was 3 Euro per adult children free, we had a lovely afternoon here lots of unusual plants trees etc tranquil, also lots of wild free roaming lizards to see, the kids loved looking out for them.

We ended up bringing money home which was a great bonus not only did we afford it but some money left over.

I would definitely go again the only thing that might stop us would be the transfer coach trip its not good for poor travellers the roads are very windy and steep we under estimated the mountains of tenerife.

Enjoy x

Room Tip: 3rd floor not poolside good views and lovely evening sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank CCSunderlandlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol
Casa del Sol
#54 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Carabela Apartments
La Carabela Apartments
#53 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
259 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Plaza Apartments
Park Plaza Apartments
#65 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Alta
Apartamentos Alta
#34 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Don Candido
Don Candido
#42 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
122 reviews
0.7 mi away
Puerto Azul Hotel
Puerto Azul Hotel
#52 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Pez Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Pez Azul

Address: Calle Rector Benito Rodriguez Rios 1 | Rector Benito Rodriguez Rios 1, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: £24 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartments Pez Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio apartments Resort with 135 fully equipped studio with bathroom, kitchenette, balcony. Outdoor pool and children's pool heated in winter. Buffet Restaurant service for breakfast, lunch and / or dinner. 24 Hour reception. Car rental. Free Wifi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Apartments Pez Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Pez Azul Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Apartments Pez Azul Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing