We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a hotel full of surprises”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden
Ranked #29 of 81 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel in October 2013 booking last minute as my original hotel was overbooked. Was a bit dubious as the location was far from the centre of Puerto Della Cruz & had to pay £60 extra for half board but my worries where unfounded. The hotel is out of the centre but there is a shuttle bus every hour with a 3 hour break after 1pm. This can be a bit crowded but one morning they did sent 2 buses.as there were so many people. The hotel is situated in a quiet area still being developed.. If you are given a room with pool view then the view is beautiful. There are 2 lifts but one was out of order which caused a few problems. So many trees there's a tennis club a short distance away, a hotel on a hill then mountain view of Mount Tiede. The pool area is very good and explore there area as there's a small bridge that leads to another garden area or another garden with a water fall or then a garden with tennis courts all with lovely trees The spa was very good and cost 9 euros with a 50% discount for over 55's. The food was excellent I do like the white fish they serve in Spain. There's lots of variation during the week but I would recommend to have a look around first before you choose. There was the usual trays of food then at one end a chef cooking either steak or fried chicken or pork or sea food. Then further along was another chef cooking more food. The drinks are reasonably priced and the restaurant has plenty of space. The chef cooked eggs and bacon so we could see it was all fresh at breakfast time but there's also cold cut of meat, cheeses, fresh fruit etc etc. My last day I discovered they served Champagne at breakfast time. You can walk to the town but walking back not recommended as its all uphill. If you walk a short distance there's a shopping mall opposite the botanical gardens. You can take the bus to the bus station from here or to Santa Cruz. The other guests where mostly German who I found very pleasant and friendly and Spanish who seemed to be in groups. Its 15 years since I was last in Tenerife when my children where young and we hired a car for 2 weeks and toured the island. I spent a great week here loved the hotel and my only complaint is I only stayed for 1 week.

Room Tip: rooms with pool view have view of mount teide
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GS2013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Guests,
I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide. We are glad you enjoyed champagne detailed.
We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.
Best Regards
M ª Carmen Diaz
Manager Diverhotel Tenerife Spa&Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,179)
There are newer reviews for diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 1,179 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

Staff very friendlyyyyy, room very clean and tidy every day, the restaurant has got a lovely terrace with a beautiful view of the Teide and the swimming pool area, excellent food the chef cook beautiful breakfast, very nice and taste. The Spa is very good, good price and very for relaxing, very good pool area, excellent. The hotel location is in a very quiet area 5 minutes from the town by car. we did enjoy very much are staying in this hotel, we recommended to any one.

Room Tip: Room with view to the swimming pool and terrace
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Beachcare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guest,
I am delighted to know that your stay at the hotel has been so nice. On behalf of my staff and we thank you and especially you enjoyed our cuisine, both at breakfast and dinner.
We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.
I hope during your next stay greet you personally.

Best Regards

M ª Carmen Diaz
Manager Diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed at the Playacanaria for a week in June and found it to be a very nice hotel.
People are right in saying it is not 4*, more 3* but for the amount we paid this was reasonable.
The food was good and varied, the pool area was excellent and there were small areas for the kids to play in also. The all inclusive selection at the bar was fantastic for the price and included many branded spirits. The room was a bit of a disappointment and was very cramped, we were all in one double room (3 adults and one child). It was kept clean and tidy though so we can live with this. The hotel caters for a lot of Spanish families so the food and entertainment are geared towards them, again this is understandable but some may not like it.
The hotel is a little out of town but a taxi is less than 5 euros so no big deal.
We would recommend this hotel to families and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joninho75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

ACCESS
100 euro in taxi from south airport
5 Euro taxi from town centre up a step hill...not a problem to walk but steepness makes it not an enjoyable walk.
Courtesy bus hourly but not saturday afternoon or sunday.
FACILITIES
Well kept quiet pool with bar.
Pool not heated but jacuzzi in pool is.
Gym is practically non existent-a few scraps of negligble equipment. ...for real gym heat to bahia playa oppoiste playa jardin.
Tennis court available with rackets to hire
did not use indoor spa.
FOOD
Excellent omlettes/crepe every morning.
Half board dinner nice enough-crepe and dessert very good.
STAFF
Polite and helpful.
ROOM
Room will not be cleaned unless you hang the sign on door.
BEDS comfortable.
BATHROOM more like 2 3 star.
VIEW not good unless you pay for pool view.
Nice sun deck terrace to sit.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LMKLISBURN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear Guests,

First of all thank you for your comments, because it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your holiday. We will have very much in mind your impressions and we will work to improve these points marked so that in the next visit your perception of the product received is entirely satisfactory.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Mª Carmen Díaz
Gerente Playacanaria Spa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

The hotel is located up a hill and about 20 minute walk to the sea. Most of the staff around the the hotel are friendly except for on of the reception managers. He would be at home in faulty Towers! You have to pay extra for fridge in your room, for the safe ( !) and for the spa/ gym. The gym should not be advertised -it is a cupboard with 3 broken machines.
The pool area is excellent -large & open with a big blue pool.
The rooms are basic but clean.
We stayed half board and the food was ok. Quite a good selection.
The avaerage age of guest was 60-80yrs old.
This is a 3 star hotel and the price should reflect that but does not.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool have the evening sun.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 8J_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear Guests,
I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We regret not covering your expectations and we will be delighted if you offer us the opportunity to return to have you back in any of our establishments. We will work in improving the marked points in order that in a next visit your perception of the products received is totally satisfactory.

Mª Carmen Díaz
Gerente Playacanaria Spa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stayed with our 4-month-old in Jan 13 and found it just ok-not the four stars you would expect in some other countries possibly. The positive side is the pool area, which is perfect and the staff (apart from a few useless men at the reception)are most helpful and kind. The room was very dated and basic. The need to pay extra for fridge to keep babymilk in was very annoying, as was the extra charge for the spa. Playa C proudly states that it has a gym, but this could not be further from the truth! I went in once to find what was a tiny room with 3 machines, which did not work at all. We stayed on halfboard basis and the food was ok-quite a bit to choose from, but not great quality food.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tintsu_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We stayed in the Playacanaria when the snow arrived from 18th January 2013. The hotel is OK, a little dated. We were on B&B basis, the breakfasts were fabulous, lots of choice. The pool was lovely, especially when the sun shone. Bit disappointed that there were lots of extras that you had to pay for, eg the safe (which had a key) was 4 euros per day, the spa with indoor pool was 15 euros (less 25% for residents) per day. Even the fridge was extra. On the plus side the room was big, had a lovely balcony, although not a great view. I would class this a 3 star rather than 4 star. Also the hotel is at the top of the hill in Puerto de la Cruz, so be prepared for lots of hills. The area is very beautiful, and there are many great restaurants to eat out.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CherryCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear Guests,

On behalf of the whole staff of the Hotel Spa Playacanria and myself, I would like to say first of all thank you for your comments. We will have very much in mind your impressions and we will work to improve these points marked, we will be delighted if you offer us the opportunity to return to have you back in any of our establishments.

I wuld like on the next time if you have questions during your stay contact me personally. We
will be pleased to help an assist you.

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments.

Mª Carmen Díaz
Gerente Playacanaria Spa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Las Aguilas
Hotel Las Aguilas
#8 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,027 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Diamante Suites
Hotel Diamante Suites
#21 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
584 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blue Sea Interpalace
Blue Sea Interpalace
#70 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#19 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,073 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parque Vacacional Eden
Parque Vacacional Eden
#7 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
597 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden

Address: Calle Guerrero, 14 | Urbanizacion El Durazno, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Playacanaria Spa Hotel)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#19 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: £51 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden is located in a quiet and luxurious residential area of Puerto de la Cruz, very close to the Botanical Gardens and 2 miles from the artificial lake and swimming pools at the Martiánez complex. It is surrounded by a spectacular tropical garden of 3.7 acres and it offers stunning views of the Teide, the Orotava Valley and the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Onthebeach, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playacanaria Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Hotel Playacanaria
Diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing