We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel with olde world charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Sea Costa Jardin & Spa
Ranked #30 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed 5 February 2014

arrived 6th january for 2 weeks and we were given room facing bqack towards mountains with a view of the sea, very little sun but very quiet which was good.comfortable room good lighting,very clean as was the whole hotel,lounge areas upstairs lovely.lots of space to sit with an outside terrace.good heated pool with lovely gardens and plenty of sunbeds,food was limited but very good, i am vegetarian so the usual problems with meat in some of the salads, but i always managed to find something,we were all inclusive and were pleased to find branded drinks which was great,you were given a card to use for the all inclusive bar which was quite a long process rather than just wearing your armband.plent of room at bar with stools,entertainment area and chairs and tables on the other side for those who didnt want to watch the shows,good staff particularly carlos at the bar,spa was great the best we have ever been in,we got a discount for over 55yrs so got in for 15 eauros for two,it was lovely,the not so lovely bits now,jacuzzi at pool outside said no children but they were in there and nothing was done about it,mainly german clientele,no english tv at all,very quiet at night.everyone seemed to disappear after dinner.jorge the animator did his best,lovely guy but the entertainment was bad,the usual terrible animal shows and some silly games done by the animation team,why cant they put some decent music on and show people dances such as salsa,cha cha etc. as said before hotel is out of puerto but there is a good courtesy bus most weekdays,we hd a car and normallyy managed to park.nearest newspaper kiosk about 5 mins away and about ten to supermarkets bars etc. we are in tenerife for a few weeks so off to playa la arena now and will report from there

Room Tip: rooms over pool have more sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kgb1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Blue Sea Costa Jardin & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.
We will have very much in mind your impressions and we will work to improve these points marked so that in the next visit your perception of the product received is entirely satisfactory.

Best Regards

M ª Carmen Diaz
Manager Diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 1,203 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Arrived on holiday day in Canaries to find our booking for 2 rooms was not in their hotel system. Took some time to get through the queue but eventually the "manager" (not sure - he wasn't adorning the yellow and blue outfit other receptionists were wearing) said we could stay for one night and he will take my cc details to cover one night if booking doesn't come through the following day. However, we like others had to wait on rooms being cleaned and made up. It was 2pm.

Made use of the terrace, which was a lovely sun trap and ordered 3 piña colada's from the downstairs pool bar. Best cocktail on their menu- didn't rate the caipirinha later in week!

Rooms - 1 double and 1 single both with private balcony over looking pool and fab view of Mount Teide. Top floor. Double was adequate. Single room was huge but next to the lifts so quite noisy and people passing on tiled floor could be even more distracting from sleep at all times of night. Bed was like a slab of concrete tho, took a couple if nights to get into sleeping on it!

Food- a variety for breakfast from cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurts, hams, cheeses, croissants and honey too! Then the omelettes cooked fresh with also fried eggs and bacon available from cooking station. The best part - champagne served up too! Evening meal as on half board basis- buffet again but always a variety of meats, salads, hot plates with rabbit (first time to try and was amazing I had seconds!) to white fish dishes. Also cooking station with different meat, chicken to fish available every night something different. Wine around €6 a bottle as it was on special - do check by the door as you come in for the wine selection on table with prices.

Pool- great size, tepid and lots of loungers. A real little sun trap down there as it could be a bit breezy out of the sun when walking around the town centre.

Location- about €150 return for private airport transport from South, used resort hoppa. Approx just over an hour depending on the speed of your driver- there he was going like a bat outta hell and a leisurely trip back to airport. Hotel itself is up the hill, and takes about 15-20 mins walk into town to the ocean front. Taxi about €5 to return up the hill if feeling a little less energized. Quiet location so nothing really around, 10 mins to nearest bar/restaurant strip towards botanical gardens- which is lovely in evening all lit up. Supermarket is about 6 min walk from hotel - one up the hill and one on way to Botanical garden. Didn't use their shuttle but it does run into town and back - timetable available from reception.

Would stay again if I were to return to Tenerife. Never stayed in a hotel anywhere in the world where Champagne has been available to help yourself to for Breakfast! Nice little treat :)

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 3PopChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Blue Sea Costa Jardin & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide. We are glad you enjoyed champagne detailed.
We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Best Regards,

M ª Carmen Diaz
Manager Diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

my wife my daughter and i booked a holiday in the hotel playacanaria spa hotel from the 1 of january until the 8 of january for the second time the rooms are good and get cleaned every day, we must say very clean just perfect. the staff is very friendly and always is trying there best to please you. we booked half board and the variety of food is just unbelievable, freshly grilled bacon,omelettes made by order and a full buffet of hot and cold variety. the evening buffet is set up with fresh salads meat and fish dishes plus freshly grilled fish and meat. chefs just brilliant well done. i just can recommend the hotel to every one. we will certainly return again.thank you to the general manager and the whole team.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank grace2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Blue Sea Costa Jardin & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,

I am delighted to know that your stay at the hotel has been so nice. On behalf of my staff and we thank you and especially you enjoyed our cuisine, both at breakfast and dinner.
I hope during your next stay greet you personally.

Thank you again.

Best Regards,

M ª Carmen Diaz
Manager Diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I booked this hotel last minute through quickrooms.com and was really worried how it would be.
I travelled with my wife and my 2 kids aged 6 and 9. Check In was extremely smooth and were transferred to our originally booked room, which was quite a worrying start to our holiday as it was really small for 4 ppl.
we went down and requested an upgrade to the Suite which are all located on the ground floor, easily accesible to the swimming pool. I managed to do this at a very reasonable price. The suit was really amazing, if it werent for that room i would have probably walked out straight away.
The suite was very spacious and included a in room jacuzzi which the kids loved.

Swimming pool- Excellent , Basic. quite small with a single slide and fortunately it was heated. Kids loved it, so cant complain at all about the pool. infact it was very pleasant.

The only downside about the hotel experience was the quality and variety of food for vegetarians. We really struggled!!! They did try there nest to accommodate us but unfortunately there werent many options for us, so we went out for dinner every evening even though we were on an AI.

Fortunately the weather was really good. It was quite a quiet area, not much happening around but as soon as u drive down town theres lots to do.

The kids club didnt exist!!! Even if it did, they didnt seem to be very popular as they couldnt be seen.

All in all we were quite happy there mainly because of the good quality of the room and also as the swimming pools was clean and warm for the kids to go.

Cant comment on the spa because we didnt use it however did enquire about prices etc and they seemed reasonable

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nirav01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Blue Sea Costa Jardin & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Guest:
thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We work every day to ensure that all our customers have a good holiday.
Thank you for choosing Diverhotel Tenerife Spa&Garden and
I will be delighted to welcome you again and greet you personally.

Best Regards

M ª Carmen Diaz
Manager Diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I visited this hotel in December 2013 and got a great deal by booking direct with the hotel.
Honestly I wasn't expecting too much but we were pleasantly surprised by the whole package.
The hotel offered us a Half Board package that also included wine with the evening meal which was ideal and allowed us to explore the surrounding area during the day.
The restaurant is buffet style and also has a grill area where the chef prepares freshly cooked meats and also some hot deserts. The quality was very good and the staff friendly and attentive.
Our room overlooked the pool area with views of Teide in the distance. A decent size for the two of us and, clean and comfortable.
My only negative comment was that one of the lifts was out of order for the whole week. On the plus side it was a good bit of exercise! But I'm sure they will get this fixed soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pil0t62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Blue Sea Costa Jardin & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Guests,

First of all thank you for your comments, because it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your holiday. One of the lifts was a technical problem during those days and sorry to inconvenience.
We are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments.

Best Regards,

M ª Carmen Diaz
Manager Diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We were hesitating to book holidays in December, but were so glad that we did as the temperature never fell below 21 degree C. This side of the island is bit more cloudier than the South and probably few degrees difference as well.

A few comments:

Hotel: All inclusive was certainly value for money. Plenty of food and choice, that is, if you are not a vegetarian. Egg and meat were being cooked on the same tray, not that it mattered to us. Rooms are basic, but clean. We had a room that over looked some ditches and rubbish, so the view was not that great and we did not want to pay extra for a pool view. Light and electricity switches directly on the bed headboard were bit annoying as they kept turning on and off. This is a very children friendly hotel.

Lifts: 2 off, one never worked throughout our stay, as we were on the 5th floor, so walked up and down most of the days.

Pool: Great – roomy and safe- We found out that you need to bring your own towels. May be the reception should make this clear on check in.

Staff: First class – very friendly and accommodating. We were given a room with 2 single beds. On request this was changed to a double bed straight away.

Car park: This is an issue and is very limited, but we could always find a place to park around the hotel.

Gardens – very nice near the pool.

Hotel location: This is remote and is not close to any beach. It is on a hill, quite location, so walking up and down can be a challenge. We love walking, so, not a problem to us. If you want loudness and noise, this is not for you. After visiting the south side where the beaches are, we still prefer this location, as it allowed us to rest in peace and quiet in the evening.

What we liked the best:

Mount Teide – cable ride and hiking on many trails – Remember to get a map from information centre. Scenery – unbelievable when you hike – cannot express them in words.

Las Teresitas – wonderful – plenty of parking spaces – this is golden sand and is a must. Take food with you as there are not many shops around it.

Playa Las Vistas and others nearby – very very crowded – almost impossible to find a place to park your car. Very frustrating and they are very crowded with usual types of shops all around.

Puerto De La Cruz – rocky, black sand – parking can be an issue. Rough sea, not good for swimming in my point of view

Fanabe – good shops – parking OK, very popular, but we found it to be very un- scenic – black sand and rocky

Transport – if you need to see the island then you need a car. Driving is hectic there and be prepared to be challenged.

Over all, we look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: Choose a Pool side room, if you need to stay in most of the times times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank harmesh_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Blue Sea Costa Jardin & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Guests,

I appreciate your comments. The hotel has a welcome letter with all the information and also the reception can help you with any questions. We have a shuttle bus service to the beach from Monday to Saturday afternoon. Feel the inconvenience and hope to a new opportunity.

We stay in your entire disposal and that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Best Regards,

M ª Carmen Diaz
Manager Diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Just returned from a week's holiday with husband and 2 children overall had a nice relaxing time and found the hotel value for money.

Came across CheapestTaxis.com who had good deals on for transfer and offered the cheapest private transfer deal cost approx. £143 for both ways.

A few comments:
Half board good variety if you eat meat/ fish but very few options if you are vegetarian except salad, veg and cheeses. Also morning eggs are cooked on same tray and frying pan as meat.

Room was quite cramped with four of us, but was regularly cleaned. Room view is not good unless you pay for pool/ sea view.

Kids club I found very poor and although advertised 3-5pm tended to be for 1.5 hrs a day. I sat in whilst my children attended as youngest was small, everyday the same 2-3 activities, children were bored as very repetitive. Also to bear in mind if your children are quite young the animation team member did leave the children a few times on their own.

Well kept quiet pool with bar. Pool not heated but jacuzzi in pool is. Pool tables available (need to pay per game) but were not working when we were there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nsl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Blue Sea Costa Jardin & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Guests,
I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.
I`m sorry to inconvenience.

We will have very much in mind your impressions and we will work to improve these points marked so that in the next visit your perception of the product received is entirely satisfactory.

Best Regards

M ª Carmen Diaz
Manager Diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Las Aguilas
Hotel Las Aguilas
#8 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,058 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#1 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,702 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parque Vacacional Eden
Parque Vacacional Eden
#7 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Catalonia Las Vegas
Catalonia Las Vegas
#12 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,927 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Diamante Suites
Hotel Diamante Suites
#18 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
609 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#19 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sea Costa Jardin & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Costa Jardin & Spa

Address: Calle Guerrero, 14 | Urbanizacion El Durazno, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#20 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: £46 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Sea Costa Jardin & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Sea Costa Jardin & Spa is located in a quiet and luxurious residential area of Puerto de la Cruz, very close to the Botanical Gardens and 2 miles from the artificial lake and swimming pools at the Martiánez complex. It is surrounded by a spectacular tropical garden of 3.7 acres and it offers stunning views of the Teide, the Orotava Valley and the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blue Sea Costa Jardin & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playacanaria Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Hotel Playacanaria
Blue Sea Costa Jardin & Spa Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing