We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Garoe
Nearby Hotels
Apartamentos Casablanca(Puerto de la Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sol Costa Atlantis(Puerto de la Cruz)
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
H10 Tenerife Playa(Puerto de la Cruz)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Best Semiramis(Puerto de la Cruz)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Catalonia Las Vegas(Puerto de la Cruz)
US$64
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Puerto Palace(Puerto de la Cruz)
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Be Live Adults Only Tenerife(Puerto de la Cruz)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Sun Holidays(Puerto de la Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$47
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (883)
Filter reviews
883 results
Traveller rating
649
195
30
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
649
195
30
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstrength to strengthbotanical gardenssquash courtlow key entertainmentpool areaexcellent hotelhotel directorbreakfast and dinnertea and coffee making facilitiespool attendantcourtesy busrelaxing holidaymini golfreplenished dailya quiet residential areadressing gownseach guest
Filter
Updating list...
321 - 326 of 883 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My sister and myself stayed here for our annual summer holiday in June 2013 and weren't disappointed in the service and quality of this hotel.

Upon arrival at 11pm we were greeted with a drink at reception and on entering our hotel room, the staff had laid out a selection of meat, cheese, fruit and bread, as we had missed our evening meal.

Food was buffet style to a nice standard. Hotel is immaculately clean and fantastically maintained. Pool area and landscaped gardens are beautiful.

The hotel is located in a quiet area and was probably a little too quiet for us, however, we did travel out of season, so this may have been why.

Overall, the service we received was fantastic and the staff couldn't have been friendlier, more accommodating or helpful. Highly recommended. If only the weather could have been more accommodating(!)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hanzi_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candido-Figueroa, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for the excellent comments about Riu Garoé Hotel in your recent stay.

Thanks for the positive comments about our fantastic and helpful staff. Thanks also for the good comments about our great buffet and immaculately clean. These are great comments which help us to continue growing and providing our customers the best of us. I personally tell to all the staff your good comments about the Garoé Hotel.

Thanks for recommending the hotel Riu Garoé and please let us know about your next visit to offer you a beautiful room.

Yours Faithfully,

Cándido L. Figueroa
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We returned on 27th December after doing a weeks cruise then a week at the Garoe,This hotel not only lives up to its reviews, it beats them!! It is a 5star hotel in a very good location, just a short ride, or a 40 minute walk if you are energetic! The staff are really helpful, nothing is to much trouble for them, The rooms are lovely, large , and with incredible views, you decide when your bedding is changed, and the food! well! I have never eaten so well in any hotel before!
Christmas Day dinner was just incredible, Smoked salmon, caviar,every meat there is, and at least three different kinds of fish, The wine and water were free and you practicaly had to stop the waiters topping your glass up ! Puerto de la Cruz is a lovely place with the most beautiful seafront, if you have a good cine camera then the shots of the sea pounding the rocks will give you memories for years.. My wife and I will certainly be looking for Rio in the future if the Garoe is an example, The only downside was the entertainment and early closing of the bars, It was not very lively and was not really what the British want at Christmas.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have views of incredible beauty,
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brianmorfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candido-Figueroa, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for the excellent Comments about Riu Garoé Hotel.

Thanks for the positive comments about our helpful staff, lovely rooms and good food. These are great comments which help us to continue growing and providing our customers with holiday as their own. We are satisfied to know that you had wonderful and relaxing holydays in our hotel. We will take note to improve the entertainment at night.

Let us know about your next visit to offer you a beautiful room.

Yours Faithfully,

Cándido L. Figueroa
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We have recently returned from holiday having stayed for one week at the Riu Garoe and cruised for a week. We wished we had spent the whole fortnight at the hotel.

We were so impressed with the location, friendliness of the staff and superb food. The view we had of snow-capped Mount Teide from our balcony was incredible.

We thoroughly enjoyed walking down into the town and were very happy to return on the hotel courtesy bus or by the very reasonably-priced taxis.

A week was definitely not enough to see all that the North of this island has to offer and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: High Floor, Pool Side
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candido-Figueroa, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for the excellent Comments about Riu Garoé Hotel.

Thanks for the positive comments about our friendly staff, good location and superb food. These are great comments which help us to continue growing and providing our customers with holiday as their own. We are satisfied to know that you had wonderful and relaxing holydays in our hotel.

Let us know about your next visit to offer you a beautiful room.

A warm hug on behalf of all staff

Cándido L. Figueroa
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I stayed here with my partner in December 2013 and enjoyed it. Firstly the location: The hotel is situated just outside the main town and is in a residential area, just a note it's not near the beach. There is a small supermarket literally up the road (turn out of the hotel entrance and turn right, if you walk up the hill it's on your right hand side) however there's a larger one about 15 minutes walk away. There are a few bars/restaurants dotted around too which are nice to sit down and have a coffee or meal in. The botanical gardens are only a 10 minute walk away, once again if you turn right outside the hotel entrance, walk up the hill and along the main road, it's on your left hand side, the gardens are well worth a visit and only a 3 euro entrance fee. This hotel is not in the main town area as stated earlier and as we didn't walk into the main town I wouldn't be able to say how long it takes to get there, however I heard from our rep and fellow guests that it's about a 30 minute walk. The majority of guests in the hotel are German, and there were only a handful of Brits there however this was no problem. Some of the staff did speak in German to us, once again not a problem as they switched to Spanish or English once they found out we were British.

The hotel is lovely and very modern. We arrived in the early hours of the morning and were greeted by a friendly receptionist with a welcome drink and a porter took our suitcases to our room. Our room was spacious and clean, with a flat screen TV (with English speaking channels), I particularly liked the added 'extras' which included bathrobes and mini toiletries. There was also a kettle with tea and coffee and a minibar (the prices for the drinks in the minibar were cheap too - bonus!) Our balcony was a nice size too, there was a clothes horse for drying clothes and a table with a couple chairs, perfect for having a drink of an evening or just relaxing.

Our room was always cleaned thoroughly by the cleaners, fresh towels and bedding supplied whenever we requested. One note for the hotel management - please can you ask the cleaners to make sure the room doors are closed properly when they are finished, we came back on one occasion to find our door was open after the cleaners had been in, thankfully we always make good use of hotel safes but anyone could have walked in and helped themselves to our property.

The food in the restaurant was nice and plentiful, there was a lot of choice so please don't worry if you're a fussy eater! A negative side however was on a few occasions I felt some of the dishes were barely warm (for example the pasta or pizza dishes never seemed to be hot, more lukewarm and in the mornings some of the breakfast items were cold, i.e the bacon or beans). The restaurant in terms of layout, I felt, was cramped and the tables were so close together you felt as if everyone was sat together in one long line.

The pool area was lovely, there was no need to rush down at 8am to reserve a sun bed however as we travelled there in December, it wasn't a particular busy time at the pool so it may be different in the summer! There is also an indoor pool (alongside a gym and spa). Around the back of the hotel are some gardens with a large chess set! It was a very beautiful area and it was nice to be able to sit down there and enjoy the sun.

There are a few outdoor and indoor spaces within the hotel which are basically just a few chairs/sofas in a relaxing, quiet area. I thought this was a good idea as you could just sit there with a good book during a lazy afternoon!

There are two bars in the hotel, an outdoor (by the pool) and an indoor. The indoor bar is really modern and the drink prices were really good. It was around 4 euros for a beer and around 2 for a glass of house wine just to give a perspective on prices. There is entertainment in the indoor bar of an evening, it starts around 8pm however it wasn't that great if I'm honest, generally just a singer performing a few 80's songs!


The hotel staff were very pleasant and friendly, couldn't do enough for you. There were one or two who it would have been nice to see a smile from but on the whole I have no complaints. A few of the staff couldn't speak English so it could be helpful to learn a few essential Spanish phrases beforehand.

Wifi is available in the hotel however the signal isn't very good unless you're in the reception area.

One thing I want to point out - I found the hotel was quite noisy at times, especially around 10pm(ish) when I could hear people shouting down the corridor and again at breakfast time when I could hear people running, shouting, talking very loudly down the corridor. I understand that it's not the hotel's fault but it did wake me up a couple times.

I wouldn't say this hotel is catered for children really, there was a small playpark at the back of the hotel however there was no children's entertainment at all during the day or evening, alongside no children's pool.

Not relevant to the hotel but if you can, visit Mount Teide, it's stunning!!! You can see it from the hotel too, I was just in awe staring at it!

Overall, a nice hotel and myself and my partner enjoyed staying here. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a peaceful, relaxing holiday as I think the Riu Garoe offers just that. We will definitely be coming back at some point.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank L20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candido-Figueroa, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for the excellent comments on Riu Garoé Hotel in your recent stay.

Thank once again for your fabulous comments about our Staff and Hotel. Thank you very much for have perceived our good job and have seen great interest to satisfy our customers.
Comments like lovely and modern Hotel, nice and plentiful food or pleasant and friendly staff, are beautiful comments which help us to continue working at the same quality line. Excuse me for the inconveniences; we will make sure the doors are properly closed. If you need hottest food, you can use the microwave is available in the area of fish.

In your next visit let us know to offer you a beautiful room.

A warm hug on behalf of all staff

Cándido L. Figueroa
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We considered self catering but chanced upon a good deal for the Riu Garoe so looked at all the reviews before deciding.They were impressive and turned out to be spot on. From the quality of the decor to the friendliness of the staff but especially the food. My husband who travels extensively said it was the best hotel food he had ever had. So much choice and so flavoursome! Other reviewers have described the hotel and surroundings in detail and very positively. I agree with it all with the exception of the complaint about the pool temperature. We swam in it every day and found it very pleasant. There was nothing about this hotel which I could fault. We certainly made a good choice and would highly recommend it for a superior relaxing break.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candido-Figueroa, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for the excellent comments about Riu Garoé Hotel in your recent stay.

Thanks for the positive comments about our quality decor and friendly staff. Thanks also for the good comments about our high standard food. These are great comments which help us to continue growing and providing our customers with holiday as their own.
Thanks for recommending the hotel Riu Garoé, as a quiet place und please visit let us know about your next visit to offer you a beautiful room.

A warm hug on behalf of all staff

Cándido L. Figueroa
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews