We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Garoe
Nearby Hotels
Catalonia Las Vegas(Puerto de la Cruz)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
H10 Tenerife Playa(Puerto de la Cruz)
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Best Semiramis(Puerto de la Cruz)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Be Live Adults Only Tenerife(Puerto de la Cruz)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sol Costa Atlantis(Puerto de la Cruz)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Puerto Palace(Puerto de la Cruz)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Apartamentos Casablanca(Puerto de la Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Sun Holidays(Puerto de la Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$47
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (883)
Filter reviews
883 results
Traveller rating
649
195
30
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
649
195
30
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstrength to strengthbotanical gardenssquash courtlow key entertainmentpool areaexcellent hotelhotel directorbreakfast and dinnertea and coffee making facilitiespool attendantcourtesy busrelaxing holidaymini golfreplenished dailya quiet residential areadressing gownseach guest
Filter
Updating list...
304 - 309 of 883 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We are from New York City USA and thought this would be an unusual trip. It was! There are very few Americans that come here. It is a long trip to get here but worth it. This hotel is one of the reasons to be in the North (We also stayed in the South). It is a beautiful very Spanish hotel. The manager accopmodated us in a beautiful room overlooking the pool. The manager should be complimented for what he has done here. The food (only breakfast) was quite good.
If you want to explore the North of the island you really need a car. We did travel into town but it took some work to park. There are restaurants near the hotel and delicious ones in town. Lots to see.
My fellow Americans need to see this place. It is a little piece of Spain on a fabulous island.
I wish I was there now.

Room Tip: Pool views were great (and quiet)
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FORHILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candido-Figueroa, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the excellent comments about Riu Garoé Hotel in your recent stay.

Thank you so much for your beautiful comments about our beautiful and Spanish Hotel. These are great comments which help us to continue working at the same quality line.
It is pleasure for us to know that guests who travel from EE.UU love our fabulous island and our little hotel.

Let us know in advance to offer you a beautiful room in your next visit

Yours Faithfully,

Cándido L. Figueroa

Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

ROOMS are perfect with extras such as Bath robes, kettle/hot drinks, fresh flowers and English TV if you want it, BBC1, ITV1 etc. Rooms are perfectly maintained and cleaned in an as new condition.

RESTAURANT Although the hotel recommends smart dress for dinner, it is a relaxed policy (no shorts), most guests opt for smart casual. Allocated tables for evenings so no waiting for a table. Food is superb and great local wine. Absolutely nothing to fault. Very fresh buffet with plenty of "cook to order" fish and meat. Decent Vegetarian selection. Breakfast buffet is vast and superb, excellent coffee, but avoid fruit juices they are sadly tasteless.

GUEST AREAS are very well maintained with a good sheltered (warm) pool, plenty of sunbeds and quiet garden areas to relax. Nice terrace bar, reading room and lobby to sit and people watch.

Overall very good value and a good choice if you like to retire by midnight, get up early to explore the island or chill by the pool all day. If you want to party all night with late bars and sleep until midday stay elsewhere, but if you want to relax enjoy great food, good wine and return home feeling chilled stay here. Most guests are at breakfast by 08:15 so expect some banging of doors and chatting in the hallways. Mildly annoying if you want to sleep later!

Room Tip: Ask for top (3rd) floor over looking the front of the hotel these will be quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candido-Figueroa, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for the excellent Comments about Riu Garoé Hotel.

Thanks for the positive comments about our well maintained and cleaned rooms and superb food and great local wines. These are great comments which help us to continue growing and providing our customers with holiday as their own. We are satisfied to know that you had wonderful and relaxing holydays in our hotel.

Let us know about your next visit to offer you a beautiful room.

Yours Faithfully,

Cándido L. Figueroa

Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This was our first stay in a Riu hotel and our second visit to Puerto de la Cruz. The hotel is situated in a quiet area about twenty minutes walk from the centre but a courtesy bus runs free from the hotel and is very punctual. Rooms in the hotel are spacious and very well looked after with tea and coffee making facilities which are replenished on a daily basis, if you wish your bed linen to be changed there is a card which you place on the bed and the maid will duly oblige, towels that require changing are just left in the bath. There is a mini bar in the room which is also replenished daily and the prices for the contents are very good value (be sure to look at this).
Pool area is very clean and well looked after by the attendants and is surrounded by beautiful gardens. Sunbeds are plentiful and never a problem to get one.

Food in the hotel also excellent plenty of choices for breakfast and dinner to suit everyone.
Lunch can be taken in the pool bar area and is reasonably priced the only problem I found was that there was no visible drinks tariffs.

The surprising thing to us about this hotel is that there is no dress code for dinner and anything seems to go from jeans and tee shirts to three quarter trousers, flip flops for men and the women also didn't make much effort, so I wouldn't go packing your evening wear as we returned with most of our dressier clothes unused as we would have felt over dressed and out of place.

Over all an enjoyable stay but not one we will be repeating.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Figaro38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candido-Figueroa, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for the excellent comments about Riu Garoé Hotel in your recent stay.

Thanks for the positive comments about our spaciosus and vey well locked rooms, clean hotel, excellent choice at the buffet and reasonable drink prices. These are great comments which help us to continue growing and providing our customers the best of us. The Garoé hotel has available to all the customers the food and drinks menu at the pool bar where you can see every prices.

Thanks for recommending the hotel Riu Garoé and please let us know about your next visit to offer you a beautiful room.

Yours Faithfully,

Cándido L. Figueroa
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My husband and I went to the Riu Garoe for an early break 18 April until 25 April. Having not been to Tenerife before we were a bit unsure as to which area would suit us most. We arrived at the hotel at 2.00 pm and were greeted by a most pleasant receptionist who checked us in and gave us a complimentary arrival drink. We were given room 017 and my heart sank because I can remember reading on trip advisor of someone who was in room 013 and said avoid this area. We arrived in the room and I was delighted with it and we had a sea view which I thought was a bit strange as we certainly didn't request one. The room was spacious, had a lovely bathroom with twin sinks, there were ample towels, lots of storage, a mini bar/fridge and it was absolutely spotlessly clean. The balcony was really big with a table and two chairs and a big airer to dry towels etc on.

The following are our views of the good and bad points of the hotel.
1. The hotel is well designed, well maintained and is kept spotless in all areas.
2. Lovely swimming pool that is slightly heated out of season which means you can actually get in and have a swim.
3. Ample sun beds that are new and have some good cushions to put on them.
4. Drinks are a reasonable price and there is a good choice.
5. Gardens are immaculate.
6. Free courtesy bus to the town is an asset.
7. Has an indoor pool which is lovely and warm (although the area where it is can be a bit eery and it could maybe do with some bigger windows putting in to throw some more light in)
8. Food was very good and well presented.

One problem for us was that we found out our room was to be very noisy because it was next to the lift, the restaurant and in a stone courtyard. We got no sun on the balcony but they didn't really bother us at all but if you like sun this may not be the room for you.

We did have a problem when we were there. Although we don't watch television on holiday we do like to look at the news for ten minutes or so each day. We could not get any English channels on the TV and other English guests had told us they could get 3 English channels. We went to reception and told them on the Saturday and they said they would come and see to it. When we got back in the evening we knew they had been in as the television was on when we put the key card in for the lights. We checked but they had not solved the problem. We thought they had probably got to come back but still no news by Sunday. We asked again but still no English channels. My husband went to reception on the Monday and the gentleman on reception was quite "off" with him and tried to tell him he was not putting it on the correct number. My husband told him he was but it was saying "no data". We assumed they would be back. On Monday evening still no channels (we could only get German and Spanish) so I rang reception. Maintenance man came and spent 15 minutes trying to get it going and then said it was the signal and he needed to go on the roof. He came back but still couldn't get any English channels. He rang someone and they had to bring a new television when eventually we got English channels. I would have expected an apology from reception for all but calling us liars but we didn't even get a call to ask if all was resolved.

One big problem with this hotel is that it is mostly German guests (about 8 English during the week we were there). Don't get me wrong we have no problem at all with the Germans and in fact we got talking to a wonderful German lady and we did feel it a shame that we cannot speak any German because we would have liked to get to know some of them. However, despite that the hotel staff did not seem to have any time for their English guests. They automatically assumed you were German and started talking in German to you. It made us feel quite uncomfortable at times. Whilst saying this I do have to rule out the evening bar staff with having this attitude as we found them the friendliest of all the staff and they did make you feel very welcome.

We did discover that this whole area was mainly an area that mainly Germans visited as the town also catered mostly for them.

To sum up, if you want an excellent hotel in a quiet and pretty location and you don't mind being an English minority then this is the place for you to get a lovely relaxing break. For us it was just a bit too quiet and we felt a bit out of place so if we return to Tenerife it will be to the south of the island.

Please don't let our reviews put you off what is a superb hotel (we would go back to the hotel but not in the area where it was)

We wish the hotel every success.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the courtyard areas. If you want a quiet room refuse 017 definitely.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wendyhowieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candido-Figueroa, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for the excellent comments about Riu Garoé Hotel in your recent stay.

Thanks for the positive comments about our well designed and maintained hotel, lovely swimming pool, ample sun beds, reasonable prices, immaculate gargens and well presented und very good food. These are great comments which help us to continue growing and providing our customers the best of us. We apologize for the technical problems happened with the TV channels during your stay.
Thanks for recommending the hotel Riu Garoé and please let us know about your next visit to offer you a beautiful room.

Yours Faithfully,

Cándido L. Figueroa
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

This was the perfect getaway. The staff were great the room was perfect and cleanliness was outstanding. They were very helpful at the desk and great with my little boy. The location was perfect. Quiet but only small taxi ride to most local locations. The food was excellent and catered for all. It was the best food we have had on a holiday yet. If you eat healthily no problem, fancy a fry up? No issue, vegetarian? Yes they cater for you and if special requirements dietry wise they will sort it! The pool is beautiful surroundings and gardens great. In our opinion worthy of 5 stars and we will be going back. Loro park is a must for animal lovers. All animals well cared for and the ethos is to save and help animals. If you have picked tgis hotel well done you're gonna love it! Mount teidi is also a great day out or night to look at the stars. Thank you hotel rui garoe!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candido-Figueroa, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for the excellent Comments about Riu Garoé Hotel.

Thanks for the positive comments about our helpful and great staff, perfect room, excellent food, great gardens and beautiful pools. These are great comments which help us to continue growing and providing our customers with holiday as their own. We are satisfied to know that you had wonderful and relaxing holydays in our hotel.

Let us know about your next visit to offer you a beautiful room.

Yours Faithfully,

Cándido L. Figueroa
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews