We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent overall hotel”
Review of Masaru Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Masaru Apartments
Ranked #22 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
london England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent overall hotel”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed here for 10 days in April and loved the hotel. I stayed self catering but occasionally had a breakfast which was great, a large selection for a good price. The grounds and pool are amazing and the staff were more than helpful. Will be booking again soon

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the pool for afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank loulondonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    201
    94
    29
    20
See reviews for
167
207
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We stayed for 5 days at the Masaru apartments. When we arrived (quite late - we should have bought a map from the airport as we got lost) we were initially given a twin room instead of a double but my husband went down and pointed this out, and we were changed without any fuss.There is no actual car park for the hotel but it was easy to find a parking space on the street.
The room was spotless and a decent size. We were self catering - most equipment was provided but no washing up liquid or sponges. Bed was quite comfortable although plastic covering under sheets was a bit annoying.
We loved sitting out on our balcony for breakfast - over the roofs of the houses we could see the sea, and on the other side the mountains - they look great as the clouds sit quite low over them.
Best thing about this hotel was the pool. It was really big and never that crowded when we were there. We were there in april and didn't see anything other reviewers mention about people rushing for the sunbeds - every time we went (usually mid afternoon) there was plenty of space.
There are shops and cafes around the hotel but it was quite a walk into the main town by the sea - down lots of steps. This wasn't a problem for us at all but could be for some people.
Overall we enjoyed our stay - Tenerife is a great place (this was our first visit but will definately be going back) and the hotel was clean and the pool amazing.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise190726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sipoo, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

The hotel is somewhat L-shaped, about 30 years old, clean, well maintained and updated. The rooms have a kitchenette and two fronts face La Oratava and El Teide, one overlooks the street and the sea, and one the street and views to the East. The hotel's location is quite good for bus travelers (TITSA), allowing discovering the island by buses. Don't forget the Botanic Garden, worth a visit. Restaurants close by in abudance, the best is El Secreto, close to Calle Sabina.

Room Tip: Room facing La Oratava, El Teide
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miehinkisaari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Decent self catering apartments, large rooms with decent equipment.
Small twin beds with plastic under sheet. Bathroom good with loads of hot water.
Most unfriendly reception staff in the world. The Germans do race of the sun loungers it was brilliant to watch the pre-breakfast clamour,if you head down about 11.00 most have gone again so its no problem. Huge Pool. The bar next to the pool is kept by a very friendly waitor brilliant. Location is ok its a good 10-15 mins downhill to the town centre and either a 150 M climb or 3.50 taxi back. The local resturants are very German which is ok if I wasn't in Spain. so we headed into town for somthing more local.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trebor303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulu, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Despite of several glorifying reviews, we found this apartment hotel to be a very average three-star hotel. No more stars. The complex is pretty good situated in the La Paz area, within a reasonable walking distance from downtown PDLC. Our 3rd floor room was situated in the seaside wing, facing to Calle Acevino which brought almost untolerable noise from bars (especially Krombacher Inn) during several nights up to 2 am. Once we tried to change our room to a more quite location but the staff failed. The apartment consisting of a living room, a bed room and two balconies was very roomy and clean with a kitchen geared up with all utensils. But no dish washing liquid - so we left a pile of dishes to be taken care of by the cleaner... Most guests seemed to be elder and retired German, French and British people whose first task in the morning was to conquer sunbeds at the pool opened as late as 11 am.

The hotel has excellent pool in which our children loved to swim, with beautiful view towards El Teide. However, the hotel has a ridiculous and annoying procedure to require a 20 eur (!) deposit for pool towels: very complicated with children going to swim independently, and further you have to keep your deposit receipt to get it back! The hotel even required a 15 eur deposit for the TV remote control! Fortunately that very small TV worked also without remote control unit. There were tiny ants in the pleasant bath room (as well in the hotel's restaurant, one even climbed on my tea sachet!), but they did not bother us. The pillows were poor, as observed also by another reviewer.

The breakfast was almost the best the hotel could offer: lots of choices from fresh bread and fruits to variety of cold cuts. Only the Sunday cook was able to fry the bacon properly. There are a lot of restaurants around the hotel, but unfortunately once again my theory proved to be right: the closer to a tourist hotel area a restaurant is, the worse its food is! (However, this does not apply to hotels' own restaurants.) Especially avoid expensive and slow (it took 40 minutes to prepare three pizzas, only two other customers!) Pizzeria Europa at Calle Retama, awful Restaurant Luna and Restaurante Pizzeria La Paz, both at Calle Acevino. Instead, walk (or take a taxi, only 3 eur) to the downtown and you will be enjoying a lot better and cheaper meals. However, if you like good Scandinavian style coffee (black coffee), pop in a cafeteria (unfortunately I don't remember its name) lying in the junction of Calle Robles and Calle Acevino, opposite Masaru. They call it German coffee: it is expensive but good.

There is a free and fast WLAN internet in the lobby, so bring your own laptop with you. Just visit the reception desk to get the password which is valid for 6 hours.

This is what we never ever have experienced earlier, although we have visited tens of hotels earlier: when we asked more shampoo ("Hair and body gel") pouches at the reception desk, the lady started whining that we are using too many and that you should clean your hair only once a week! Unbelievable. We pay them well over 100 eur per night and they start crying about a matter like this! (Once in London, we stayed in a small downtown hotel and when inquired, the lady in reception rushed spontaneuosly to another nearby hotel to get free soap and shampoo for us!) We would like to have stayed at Hotel Semiramis, but we did not get a proper offer in time.

If you plan to stay in Masaru and want good and peaceful night sleep, insist you room to face towards Calle Robles. Bring your own toiletries. Have lunch and dinner downtown PDLC.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Finflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2010

This was our third time staying at the Masaru in La Paz, and we weren't disappointed. This time we had a studio looking back into the garden area, and tennis court area. It was very quite at night, and we had a lovely view of Teide from our balcony.

The big attraction of staying here is the lovely pool and surroundings. The bar/cafe does a nice range of snacks.

Guests can avail of wi-fi in the lobby area, although they now issue tickets with an account number and associated password that are valid for twelve hours.

The hotels continues to be very clean - our room was cleaned regularly.

I just love staying in La Paz with it's Germanic feel!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishwhite01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2009

We had a lovely week in the Masaru apartments. When we first arrived the receptionist sent us to a third floor studio, which we couldnt stay in because the previous occupier must have been a very heavy cigar smoker. We went back to reception and a very nice young man exchanged our key card for another and told us it was a very nice room and if we wanted something else just to ask. we needed more pillows and they arrived within five minutes. A kettle would have been handy to boil water but just made do with microwave.Quiet-ish, great location, Just hope they finish working on renewing the roads and pavements outside the hotel, before too long. (they are working on it).Overall great base for touring around.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzee60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.5 mi away
Parque Vacacional Eden
Parque Vacacional Eden
#7 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
567 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Casablanca
Apartamentos Casablanca
#3 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,752 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Alta
Apartamentos Alta
#31 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
smartline Teide Mar
smartline Teide Mar
#45 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
317 reviews
1.1 mi away
GF Noelia
GF Noelia
#38 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel RF Astoria
Hotel RF Astoria
#28 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masaru Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masaru Apartments

Property: Masaru Apartments
Address: Calle Robles 2, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Masaru Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the residential area of La Paz, next to the Botanical Gardens, with views over the Orotava Valley, Mt. Teide and the sea, and just a 10 minute walk from the centre of town, the Lago Martianez swimming pools and the beach. It is a tourist complex built in 1974 and totally refurbished between 2001 and 2004. It holds the “Tourist Quality Q” awarded by the Spanish Tourist Quality Institute and it consists of over 240 units between apartments and studio apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Masaru Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masaru Apartments Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Masaru Apartments Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing