We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of Hotel Sun Holidays

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sun Holidays
Ranked #22 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here in December 2013 for 3 nights and had a fantastic time. As other reviewers have stated it can be a bit noisy through the walls and on the street, but the location makes up for any inconvenience. Out the door and turn right and you are on restaurant street where you will have fantastic meals. Keep going another 5 minutes and you are on the seafront and in the main square. The hotel staff are very friendly and accommodating and the rooms are clean and comfortable. We have already booked to come back for 4 days in September.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TerpsisQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Holidays H, Manager at Hotel Sun Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for writing this great review! We are really happy to know you enjoyed your stay and you decided to visit us again, it will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back in September!

Wishing you a great Summer and waiting forward to your arrival!


Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed here from 17th to 24th March.

Silvia and Fernando were excellent! - warm welcome, nothing was too much trouble.
The toilet in my room was pouring all the first night - Fernando had it fixed the very next day.
The cleaning ladies were pleasant and efficient.

I had gone to Tenerife amongst other things to practise my Spanish, but Silvia and Fernando's English was so good, that in the hotel I spoke English!

There is a nice rooftop terrace which gives good views (when Teide is not cloud covered........).

The walls of the hotel are very thin, so you can hear what is going on next door, and there is a lively cafe across the street, but I would stay here again without hesitation - I am already debating whether to book again for next year!

There is lots of free parking nearby, the hotel is in a mainly pedestrianised area, and the centre is a 5 min walk away from the hotel, where there are many eateries and bars (hint - the cheapest bar is on the corner near the statue of the fisherwoman).

Ate in several places, including a German restaurant (didn't know it when I went in) where I was asked to order in German! - very good food and welcome, though.

They are doing the hotel up nicely, and it shows.

For travellers with reduced mobility, the hotel has a lift.

I have already answered the question which I end all my reviews with - 'would I stay here again?' - I will repeat my answer - 'definitely!'.

Thanks, Silvia and Fernando.

Paul.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MONTFIQUET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Holidays H, Manager at Hotel Sun Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear Paul,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for your kind words!! Dont´t debate any longer, we hope your next stay with us will be even more pleasant!

Thank you once again and best wishes from all our team, especially from Silvia and Fernando.


See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Great central location, bus station,beaches,cliff walk,shops and resturants all close by.Well equipped studio apartment enjoying sun all day and lovely view.Staff friendly and helpful.
Lots to do and see in locality.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank marylaura2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Holidays H, Manager at Hotel Sun Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Marylaura2,


Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, your feedback is really important to us!

We hope to see you again on your next trip to Tenerife and we wish you the very best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Ourselves and another couple stayed here in two separate rooms - both very good, one with a particularly large bacony. Clean and tidy, towels changed each day and bedroom spotless.It couldn't have been better - nearby cafe for breakfast, wide choice of nearby restaurants and shops and close for access to public transport, the coast and inland walks- miles of them. A real find and we intend to return again.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor and a corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Holidays H, Manager at Hotel Sun Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Karen,


Thank you very much for writing such a wonderful review, it is a motivation for us to keep our efforts in the same direction!

We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us and our Hotel met all your needs and hope to have you here again soon!


Greetings from Tenerife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend are a young couple and we stayed here for a week in January. We were delighted with our stay. The rooms are really nicely decorated and cleaned every day. We were on the top floor and we got a fair sized balcony with a lovely view, was great for sitting out and having lunch or a few drinks on! We had good signal from the free WiFi in our room. Its in a lovely location, in walking distance to everything, and the staff are nice. The one thing I worried about is that there didn't seem to be any air conditioning? So in the summer you may die of heat! But this hotel is great value for money! Would recommend to anyone :)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank vodkat92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Holidays H, Gerente at Hotel Sun Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your wonderful review!

We are glad to know you had a pleasant stay at our Hotel and we invite you to visit us again in summer. Fortunately, the Canary Island´s balmy climate allows us to enjoy soft winter and fresh summer. As we are near the sea, the breeze also moderates the temperatures.

Hope to see you again soon!

Greetings from Tenerife!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for four nights in January 2014. The hotel was clean and in a great location. In my opinion it is much nicer to stay in this part of town than the overly-touristy part by the wharf. There were a few animals barking/meowing at night (as another reviewer posted) but it wasn't a huge problem. The staff were really friendly.

We were really fortunate to have a room facing west which got sun in the afternoon and had a lovely view of Teide. We were also on the third floor so it was a bit quieter. Some of the rooms (particularly the lower rooms facing the cafe) could be a bit loud in the evenings.

Make sure you try the local cafe - they have delicious (and cheap) sandwiches and coffee. Be sure to check out La Mana cafe as well.

Room Tip: We were really fortunate to have a room facing west which got sun in the afternoon and had a lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hools007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Holidays H, Manager at Hotel Sun Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Hools007,


Thank you for taking the time to comment your stay at our Hotel. We are pleased to hear from you that you enjoyed your stay with us!


We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.


Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

We took a chance on this hotel as at the time of booking there were no reviews to be found. We wanted something simple and clean in a good traditional location close to the beach and we weren't disappointed. Really nice old town with great features. A 5 minute walk to good beaches. Good location for the bus station. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the rooms tidied daily with fresh towels. The only downside is it is located in an area where there are bars and this noise can continue passed midnight. The local Vets is across the road with locals queuing with their beloved pets also so expect some random barking. Apart from that we'll recommended and we will defo return!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Holidays H, Gerente at Hotel Sun Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Ms. Parr,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive feedback here on TripAdvisor! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel and you are satisfied with our service and facilities. We do look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Greetings from Tenerife!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
0.3 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#19 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
397 reviews
18.7 mi away
Occidental Santa Cruz Contemporaneo
Occidental Santa Cruz Contempora...
#5 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,083 reviews
21.8 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.1 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#5 of 13 in Los Cristianos
3,464 reviews
0.8 mi away
Parque Vacacional Eden
Parque Vacacional Eden
#7 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
638 reviews
27.2 mi away
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
#9 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sun Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sun Holidays

Address: Calle Penita 6, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: £29 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Sun Holidays 1*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Would you like to live a unique holiday experience at an affordable price?Sun Holidays Hotel provides simple accommodation in a quiet pedestrian street of the historic city centre of Puerto de la Cruz, free WiFi, flat screen TV and solarium terrace with sea and mountain views.We are situated 5 minutes away from Playa Jardín, 300 meters away from the city centre and within a 15 minutes walk fro ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sun Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sun Holidays Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing