We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit tacky and sad.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Sea Puerto Resort
Ranked #66 of 81 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A bit tacky and sad.”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This is not 4* It is 3* at best. The service at reception is awful, when we arrived late at night we were left to find our room on our own! No offer of help and we had to return twice to ask for a better explanation of directions to the room. The room is grotty, sticky carpets and cockroaches in the bathroom! Not a pleasant site. The tv never worked and we were told conflicting stories as to why it is not working. I told reception that the remote is probably at fault as it cannot turn the tv on. On the last day a service technician came and said the remote does not work!
The food was mediocre, if you like familiarity then you are in luck as the menu is the same every single day. The one saving grace was breakfast was half way decent. The pool only gets sun for a short time of the day due to it being surrounded by buildings. We never used it and drove to the beach instead. The entertainment is fantastic, if you are 65 yrs old. Otherwise it will drive you crazy as it is elevator music played live.
Tenerife is a wonderful place and Puerto De La Cruz is really charming with very helpful and welcoming people. This hotel however is a joke. Best to avoid and stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere Puerto De La Cruz has a wide choice of places to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Khalid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    229
    227
    165
    110
See reviews for
312
320
34
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
epsom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Oh my god I cant believe that someone has just written what a great hotel, maybe my standards are different, I dont expect to have to stay in one hotel and have to walk across the road to eat in another, thats not restful, the pool was freezing we saw them filling up in the day with a hose from the tap, and the so called heated indoor pool isnt heated until Nov 15th, it states 500 metre from the beach... what beach? straight over a cliff do you mean??. and I have never in my life had all alcohol laid out on a table in a tent like a tacky wedding Yes the rooms were big, give them that and clean and the food wasnt bad, what you expect from an all inclusive, and the animation team did try hard to entertain the kids..but this hotel needs to learn a few things like how to speak to paying customers, reception is rude, and unhelpful, and the biggest prob I have is the fact that they dont tell you that there are 3 hotels joined together and you could be in any one of them, an none have any indoor daytime bar to get a cup of coffee, not everyone wants to get off there face by 11 the morning..and theres nothing for kids to do in the day , without the pool you are stuffed. They say kids daytime activities well I didnt see any, the kids club opens for 2 hours morn and afternoon, to do colouring .Sorry but this should only be a 3 star max. would not be going again...

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be large, but the Bonanza is closest to everything, Beds are very tatty and thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laineyEpsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto de la Cruz hotels

1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Just got back from a week all inclusive .... Went with my mother, my 6 year old and 10month old baby. We stayed in Bonanza Palace. Firstly, the room was lovely.... Clean and big with good air con and a nice travel cot for the baby. It was cleaned whenever we asked for it to be and had a nice balcony looking out to the pool. The food was fine- lots of choice, clean dining areas and very very friendly staff. The pool area was clean and safe and the animation staff were great with activities.... They made a special effort for the kids on Halloween and did a great party for them. There was usually something going on to get involved in and my son spent his week making friends and playing either pool, on the park, football or in the pool. Oh and lets not forget the nightly mini disco which he absolutely loved!
Days out at Loro Park and Siam park were fantastic and the weather was mainly good.
The only down sides were the reception staff were sometimes rather rude... When asking your change I was met with a rude response and they insisted on cutting off our all inclusive bands at 12midday check out even though we weren't leaving until. 9pm which was petty and mean but we just ate out at one of the many pizza restaurants instead!
Would I return? Definitely yes!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat121280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

As many people have already commented it is a good 3* rather than a 4* but if you are looking for a cheap holiday in the sun you can't go wrong. My husband and I (both early 20's) went for a week in August (full all inclusive) stayed in the Canarife and had a great time. Most of the staff made an effort to speak what english they could (some could speak more than others) if you were polite to them. Our room was really good (we upgraded! - definatly worth it) we had a nice size balcony with a view of the pools and the mountains, and a huge bedroom with good size bathroom. The room was clean when we arrived and had a door hanger for cleaning requests. Also the towels were changed whenever you left them in the bath. The food was quite good (you could eat at any of the 3 hotels) the buffet stayed pretty much the same for breakfast but varied for lunch and dinner and there were snacks available between meals, these were not as good but were ok if you dont mind pizza & hot dogs etc. The snacks were served in a tent by the pool along with the serve yourself drinks, I know many have complained about this but we didnt care you could pour as much or as little as you wanted from 11am - as long as you wear shoes in there! Finally the entertainment! Look out for a guy called Carlos, he was hilarious and would come out in different costumes everyday before starting the pool activities (total wipe out or polo) which we thoroughly enjoyed! They also had entertainment on during the evenings but we usually went to the local bars to listen to the live music. Overall I would say this was a great holiday and look out for Teide divers they are fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank cam2690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Went for a last minute all inclusive to the Canarife Palace hotel. Great value for money. Rooms a decent size and clean. Food was buffet style and was adequate but must admit we did eat out a lot towards the end of the holiday. The only downside was the quality of the alcohol on offer and the snacks by the bar. Saying this the actual resort of Puerto de la Cruz is beautiful with views to die for. Value for money was excellent.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SallyC100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed in Bonanza hotel. Room very big, spacious, clean,fridge in the room, little bit old furniture, but it was what I expected. Only thing which I did mind was the balcony french door, where you could see all the finger and hand prints from different guests who stayed in the room (that wasn't clean for the whole stay) and also you could hear everything from other rooms, so you just need to hope to get nice and quiet neighboors. Room cleaning every day, linen change on 5th day. We asked for a higher floor and sea view. Staff friendly, but most of the receptionists had only basic english, so we didn't get any usefull information, just what time is breakfast and dinner served, all the rest we had to figured out. Reception only in Canarife Palace building. Food delicious and waiting staff excellent. Breakfast and dinner was the best on this holiday :D We had half board, where if you want drinks on dinner, you had to buy tickets from reception, I'm not sure about the price, we had our own drinks in hotel room. Pool nice and clean, but most of the pool chairs was occupied at 9 am with towels, so you have to be fast as well. There's couple of beaches, the closest one is 20 minutes walk from hotel. City centre is also around 20 - 25 minutes walk from hotel - lots of stairs and uphills and downhills, but if you don't like walks, you can take a taxi for 3 euros. Evening entertaiment in hotel was fine, some evenings better than others. We liked the Falcon show, where they showed (and also you could touch) owls and other birds. I recommend to see Loro Parque - lots of fun for children and adults as well - it's kind of zoo with dolphins, parrots and killer whales shows. Also you can go for hiking on Teide mountain or there's an aquapark Siam park on the other side of island, but there's some buses going there.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor and sea view, otherwise you can end up with parking lot view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilith441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwold, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Just back from a week here with my two young sons and we couldn't fault it. We had an amazing time. Hotel is clean with really nice rooms and food was fantastic. The entertainment crew were really friendly and always plenty to do. I would highly recommend a stay here if you are going with family

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 280Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
0.0 mi away
Blue Sea Interpalace
Blue Sea Interpalace
#69 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,109 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
#22 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#15 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Diamante Suites
Hotel Diamante Suites
#24 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
560 reviews
29.0 mi away
Alborada Beach Club
Alborada Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Las Galletas
2,099 reviews
0.7 mi away
diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden
diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden
#28 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sea Puerto Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Puerto Resort

Property: Blue Sea Puerto Resort
Address: Calle Acevino 8, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Hotasa Puerto Resort Bonanza Canarife Palace)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#25 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Sea Puerto Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Blue Sea Puerto Resort is located on the island of Tenerife, the largest of the Canaries. Visitors can enjoy the beautiful black sand beaches like Playa Garden or the fabulous selection of parks, museums and historical monuments. It is essential to visit the leisure complex Martianez Lagos, created by the artist Cesar Manrique in Puerto de la Cruz during any stay. The Hotel is located in a residential neighborhood near the beach. This location is perfect for enjoying all the activities of the island and the subtropical gardens that surround the resort are a great way to relax after a day of hiking or beach sports. The rooms are designed and equipped to make your stay as pleasant as possible. All rooms have a separate bathroom, air conditioning, balcony or terrace and a safe. There is also a mini bar (extra charge). With regards to services, the Blue Sea Puerto Resort also has an outdoor swimming pool, pool bar, health club and tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Sea Puerto Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Sea Puerto Puerto De La Cruz
Hotasa Puerto De La Cruz
Blue Sea Puerto Resort Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing