We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Sea Puerto Resort
Ranked #67 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible stay!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Me and my partner just have arrived yesterday from 1 week stay in the one of the 3 blue sea hotel. Firstly, it was hard to find the resort because of the different types of names of the 3 hotels. I t was not clearly said anywhere, as I personally think it is really important for the first time travellers in this area to be recognised. We had taken the "all inclusive" board, which is completely NOT all inclusive. Things such as safe, TV, Wi-Fi (inside the room & the lobby), and beach towels for changing to the clean ones where charged. This is completely not all inclusive. Regarding to the hotel it is not a 4 star at all. The furniture is poor and old. Rooms are equipped with the old furnitures and dark old looking colours. When we asked to change the room, because it did not look at all like we have seen through the "Low cost holidays.ie" pictures. We were given a room in the building on the opposite side "Bonanza" hotel. No much of a difference. Also the superior rooms are exactly the same just a bit bigger. Not worth the money. In our room we had few problems; the safe didn't work at all, balcony door didn't lock. The mattress on the beds felt like sleeping on the ground. Food is poor. I am not a picky person, but this was poor and cheap food. No proper juices or coffee. Exactly the same selections everyday. Restaurants are poorly set.All the meals are buffet. Looks more like a canteen. What surprised the most was the carelessness of one of the receptionist, when we gave back the beach towel to get the deposit back he handed me the money and told me to go back to the reception office and throw in the towel myself. Spa was just a joke. Very disappointing stay! Not a 4 star at all!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Velta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Blue Sea Puerto Resort, responded to this review, 21 November 2014
Dear customer,
First and foremost we would like to thank you for making the Blue Sea Puerto Resort Hotel your destination of choice for your vacation.
We would like to apologise for any inconvenience you may have endured during your stay and we are truly sorry that our service did not meet your expectations as we always work aiming towards the customer's satisfaction.
We hope to welcome you in the near future to make sure you have a wonderful stay in our hotel.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    223
    224
    161
    108
See reviews for
303
316
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Myself and my partner stayed in this hotel last August and we were both pleasantly surprised. On arrival we were allocated our room key and the reception staff kindly watched over our luggage as we were just in time for dinner.
We went up to our room and its was a lot larger than expected, very clean and had a good sized balcony, the only downside to the room was the view (we were overlooking the back of the hotel) but I guess thats just pot luck. The maids came in to change bedding/towels every other day and never touched our personal items, they were always found as they were left.
We stayed all inclusive which didn't disappoint, there was lots of choice at meal times and something different every night, the self service bar was excellent and was always kept restocked.
Brilliant location, a lovely 10 minute walk into the centre and this was all downhill, we opted to get a taxi back as it was very reasonably priced at around 4 euro.
This hotel is very family friendly,it had a choice of 3 pools, a games room and there was always something going on. Very Enjoyable holiday indeed!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Blue Sea Puerto Resort, responded to this review, 27 December 2014
Google Translation
Estimado cliente,
En primer lugar queríamos darle las gracias por haber elegido el Hotel Blue Sea Puerto Resort como destino vacacional y por compartir sus comentarios en la página web de Trypadvisor.es.
Nos alegra saber que disfrutara de su estancia con nosotros y que nuestro hotel fuera una buena elección para sus vacaciones.Nos despedimos con un cordial saludo y con la esperanza de poder volver a darle la bienvenida muy pronto en nuestro hotel. Atentamente,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I was in one of the 3 blue sea resorts a few weeks ago. I was on a work experience with the college so this was mainly used as a base for eating and sleeping. Up in arrival first impressions were good. Only thing to fault was reception staff taking our passports for 2 days for no apparent reason. But none the less the hotel was clean looking, rooms were a good size bathroom was clean. Everything you would expect from a holiday hotel. After flying all day we went to get food. The restaurant was full in our hotel which I thought was ridiculous it was far too small for such a big hotel. So we went next door to the bonanza hotel. Well.. The food was awful! Never knew someone could ruin food so much. Even the chips were dried up and covered in grease. But what do you expect to get with all inclusive. The entertain staff were very nice tried their best at everything and tried to get everyone involved. The bar staff were friendly and the cocktails were lush couldn't complaint overall I would return to the hotel. Close to everything and you get what you pay for x

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tenerifebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Blue Sea Puerto Resort, responded to this review, 14 January 2015
Dear customer, We would like to thank you for making the Hotel Puerto Resort by Blue Sea your destination of choice for your vacation. We are truly pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We are truly sorry that you didn´t enjoy the variety offered in our buffet with 12 table menus that our chef prepare everyday with great care. We hope to welcome you in the near future to make sure you have a wonderful stay in our hotel. Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Average food, great staff, poor drinks (i mean soft drinks here, not big drinkers).
The bedroom was huge - best room we have had - with a good bathroom. However.... Sheets were not changed and towels were left several days.
The pool area was too busy - not enough loungers. And the (dreadful) entertainment went on until after midnight which kept the whole hotel awake, whether happy to do so or not.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank glasgowworkingmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Blue Sea Puerto Resort, responded to this review, 21 January 2015
Dear customer,
We would like to apologise for any inconvenience you may have endured during your stay and we are truly sorry that our service did not meet your expectations as we always work aiming towards the customer's satisfaction. We hope to welcome you in the near future to make sure you have a wonderful stay in our hotel.Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Hotel does what it says on the tin ... clean through out, hot water on tap, good position as out of town, but just a 10min walk - downhill - plenty of stopping places on way back (Seats and cafes ) - or 3.5 euros in taxi. Breakfast was plentiful and help yourself, lots of choice, all seemed fresh and well staffed to clean tables. Local area plenty of shops, bars, food places etc... 5 min walk from botanical gardens, As its sited slightly higher up hill ... you get great views across town, the sea and up to Teide ... Only bad points - you can be in one of 3 hotels, so when you get dropped at road side you have to walk between hotels to see if its yours or not, food for lunch or dinner a lot of people seemed to unhappy about - but I wasn't all inclusive, so no prob. and only so bars inclusive and used cheap local branded spirits .. but drinks in non inclusive bar were cheap and entertainment every night ...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
7 Thank Lee John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Blue Sea Puerto Resort, responded to this review, 27 December 2014
Google Translation
Estimado cliente,
En primer lugar queríamos darle las gracias por compartir sus comentarios en la página web de Trypadvisor.es. Nos alegra saber que ha disfrutado de su estancia, al igual que del abundante desayuno y de las estupendas vistas que se aprecian desde la habiatción.
Nos despedimos con un cordial saludo y con la esperanza de poder volver a darle la bienvenida muy pronto en nuestro hotel. Atentamente,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I was there over Christmas and agree with the reviews about the poor maintenance and especially the poor food and attitude. Very German orinetated and they made no effort to make you feel welcome or explain any facilities or how anything worked. My room also has a safe that didnt work, they sent someone up to fix it eventually and he pronounced it 'kaput', I spoke to other people who said the same - I wonder if any of them worked at all? (notices everywhere saying nothing was covered unless it was in the safe!). The bathroom was nice but the ceiling had obviously fallen in at one stage. The worst thing was the food and the fact that not all the hotel was all inclusive (AI) so if you were AI you found yourself treated as a second class citizen, only plastic glasses, cant have this that or the other. You werent allowed to have tea or coffee in the dining room after the meals (the machines were there but only functioned at breakfast time, presumably to stop non AI people helping themselves. You couldnt take anything up to your room (a glass of wine for before dinner, a bottle of water for bed or even some fruit and a roll if you werent going to be at breakfast the next day) and the bars all had weird opening hours so if you wanted a pre dinner drink you had to go to the hotel over the road etc. The cocktails were out of a machine and very watery and sweet - clearly contained no alcohol either, the wine in the restaurant was out of a machine and all three colours were undrinkable, the wine by the pool was obviously watered down and the wine in the bar was either sherry or cider ! and it was all self service so no being waited on either. The hot food was never hot and there was often a weird sewage smell wafting around that came and went.

On the plus side there was plenty of nice hot water in the bathroom and the pool area was lovely albeit the pool was freezing - would it really cost them that much to just take the edge off it a bit with heating it? The animations team where great and tried hard with activities and enteretainment, cant fault them. The germans are still doing the sunbed thing despite notices everywhere in all languages asking not to. It said the hotel would remove them but they never did.

I had a lovely holiday but that was nothing to do with this hotel. Basically what let it down was the food and attitude of staff and the policies re all inclusive guests. You could see some guests (no AI) being served nice food, sparklers in proper drinks in proper glasses etc and it just made you felel second class.I think you could do much better and yes, as has been said, stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: higher floors and not facing the sea (sea rooms in shade all the time) but you are better off stayin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank maria_twizell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Blue Sea Puerto Resort, responded to this review, 21 November 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you for making the Blue Sea Puerto Resort Hotel your destination of choice for your vacation. We would like to apologise for any inconvenience you may have endured during your stay and we are truly sorry that our service did not meet your expectations as we always work aiming towards the customer's satisfaction. Please be aware that customers’ comments are of great value to improve the quality of the services offered by our company and therefore we hope to welcome you in the near future to make sure you have a wonderful stay in our hotel. Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto de la Cruz hotels

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We got to hotel at 2100 hrs and were given a room , we spoke English at this time, the safe wouldn't lock and the door to balcony would not lock so we changed rooms , this room was the same after pleading with front of house staff ,who by this time forgot how to speak English .At 2230 we got a room that was just OK .After I started speaking German to staff . when I asked for room service was told there was none, can we order food in ? Yes but don't have any numbers . They didn't tell us anything about facilaties . Food bad ,staff ignorant and arrogant .The breakfast was almost warm one morning ,worst food I've ever had in a 4 star hotel ,the evening meal was cheapest cuts of meat , I got the impression clients were only allowed 1 slice of meat at buffet which was always over cooked I complained to the hotel manager Xavier and assistant Isobela an it was agreed for us to have free TV and WI FI for a week which I had already paid for. I got my money back the TV was cut off ,back to one channel .Please don't ever go to that place

Room Tip: Don't take a room No gym
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank belfastjohn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Blue Sea Puerto Resort, responded to this review, 21 November 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you for making the Blue Sea Puerto Resort Hotel your destination of choice for your vacation. We would like to apologise for any inconvenience you may have endured during your stay and we are truly sorry that our service did not meet your expectations as we always work aiming towards the customer's satisfaction. Please be aware that customers’ comments are of great value to improve the quality of the services offered by our company and therefore we hope to welcome you in the near future to make sure you have a wonderful stay in our hotel. Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
0.0 mi away
Blue Sea Interpalace
Blue Sea Interpalace
#69 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,086 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
#23 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,071 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Diamante Suites
Hotel Diamante Suites
#24 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#16 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
988 reviews
29.0 mi away
Alborada Beach Club
Alborada Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Las Galletas
2,049 reviews
22.4 mi away
Blue Sea Lagos de Cesar
Blue Sea Lagos de Cesar
#10 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sea Puerto Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Puerto Resort

Property: Blue Sea Puerto Resort
Address: Calle Acevino 8, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Hotasa Puerto Resort Bonanza Canarife Palace)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#24 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Sea Puerto Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Blue Sea Puerto Resort is located on the island of Tenerife, the largest of the Canaries. Visitors can enjoy the beautiful black sand beaches like Playa Garden or the fabulous selection of parks, museums and historical monuments. It is essential to visit the leisure complex Martianez Lagos, created by the artist Cesar Manrique in Puerto de la Cruz during any stay. The Hotel is located in a residential neighborhood near the beach. This location is perfect for enjoying all the activities of the island and the subtropical gardens that surround the resort are a great way to relax after a day of hiking or beach sports. The rooms are designed and equipped to make your stay as pleasant as possible. All rooms have a separate bathroom, air conditioning, balcony or terrace and a safe. There is also a mini bar (extra charge). With regards to services, the Blue Sea Puerto Resort also has an outdoor swimming pool, pool bar, health club and tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Sea Puerto Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Sea Puerto Puerto De La Cruz
Hotasa Puerto De La Cruz
Blue Sea Puerto Resort Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing