We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Great. But didn't spoil our holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blue Sea Puerto Resort
Ranked #66 of 81 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not Great. But didn't spoil our holiday!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This hotel is not a 4 star. There are 3 different hotels all across the road from each other. We stayed all inclusive. Breakfast was the best meal. The bacon, sausage and tomatoes were the only things I ate. We never ate lunch there, and hardly ate any dinner. The food was cold, there wasn't much choice and there wasn't a lot of options for children (they served chicken nuggets for breakfast rather than dinner) so most nights we went out somewhere else to eat. I only enjoyed and ate a proper dinner once out of 7 nights. The food is defiantly not the best. And breakfast, lunch and dinner are served at the different hotels, so breakfast and dinner were served in one and lunch in another. 'All Inclusive' is food at meal times certain drinks at the bar and everything else is an added extra. No pack lunch offer. Cocktails extra charge. Safe extra Charge. Mini bar extra charge, Taking food and drink up to the room extra charge. No food served after dinner, and no drinks available after 23.30 (the bar is meant to be open til 00.00. Evening entertainment saved the day and made our stay at the hotel much more enjoyable. However I really didn't like the Falcon Show as thought it wasn't appropriate. The rooms are big. The bed was uncomfortable. But there was room service everyday and was clean. Decor is a bit out dated. Never used the pool. The north of is Island is much cooler and more overcast than what the south is. Loro Parque is about 15 mins away. Most other attractions Siam Park, Aqualand, Jungle Park, Monkey Park are all south. Transfers and public transport is quiet expensive so were glad we hired a car. The Hotel is ok for a family budget, but a holiday is what you make it. And we were out everyday and spent minimal time here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanielleJackandLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Blue Sea Puerto Resort, responded to this review, 21 January 2015
Dear customer,
First and foremost we would like to thank you for making the Blue Sea Puerto Resort Hotel your destination of choice for your vacation and for taking time of your life to post this comment on the Tripadvisor website.
We would like to apologise for any inconvenience you may have endured during your stay and we are truly sorry that our service did not meet your expectations as we always work aiming towards the customer's satisfaction.
Should you have communicated your dissapointment with us our guest service department would have done anything to try and solve the problem on the spot. Please be aware that customers’ comments are of great value to improve the quality of the services offered by our company and therefore we hope to welcome you in the near future to make sure you have a wonderful stay in our hotel.Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    229
    227
    165
    110
See reviews for
312
320
34
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel on the all inclusive package with my friend and our children.we arrived about 11 at night and were shocked that there was nowhere to get anything to eat for the kids.we had 2 superior rooms which were a good size and the beds were ok,our rooms we not cleaned until we complained about it and the towels wasn't changed daily.

I found the staff extremely rude especially the ones in the restaurant,I was not at all impressed when I saw Elizabet shouting at my son for making the chair damp.we complained to the manager who was not helpful in the slightest.the food was cheap and didn't taste to great either.the all inclusive snacks were disgusting and we had to pay for certain drinks .

There was not much for children to do during the day all the activities were for adults.the swimming pool was freezing and the kids that were brave enough to get in we're yelled at for jumping in,playing ball and having snorkels and goggles in the water.

I am shocked this is rated a 4 * hotel I have stayed in better 3*.i would certainly not recommend this hotel,the staff made us all feel very uncomfortable and we could not wait for our holiday to end.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank R0bin23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Blue Sea Puerto Resort, responded to this review, 21 November 2014
Dear customer,

First and foremost we would like to thank you for making the Blue Sea Puerto Resort Hotel your destination of choice for your vacation and for taking time of your life to post this comment on the Tripadvisor website.

We would like to apologise for any inconvenience you may have endured during your stay and we are truly sorry that our service did not meet your expectations as we always work aiming towards the customer's satisfaction.

Should you have communicated your dissapointment with us our guest service department would have done anything to try and solve the problem on the spot.

Please be aware that customers’ comments are of great value to improve the quality of the services offered by our company and therefore we hope to welcome you in the near future to make sure you have a wonderful stay in our hotel.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto de la Cruz hotels

St Helier, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The Hotel Resort is based on three Hotels which gives you plenty of options for entertainment and catering. All to say that all buffets are well presented and plenty of choices for you to choice. Unfortunately not a lot of local cuisine but all cooked not brilliantly but on a upper average.
The room is in separately need of decorating but if you have a brilliant view of sea and landscape. Beds are awful and carpets are .... ,paint of walls in certain places is coming off and decor is left over from the 80's. The service in the Hotel is good but definitely has room for improvement. Unfortunately not all staff is helpful and cheerful. Reception staff all very friendly but the have difficulties to find e-mails, like board in pass if you want to print them. But they try to satisfy you to the most in their possibilities.
Catering staff is split in people who wants to work and be cheerful and some who are really grumpy. Be aware of waiter "Jesus" as if you get a smile out of him you are really lucky. Thank you for the Restaurant Manager for looking after us and the red haired lady who always was smiling and cheerful even at busy times. Chefs all very helpful especially behind hotplate.
The real jewel of the resort is the animation team how works hard to get people happy and enjoying their holidays. Special mention to Sam as she really looked after our daughter and family, keep up your good work.
A couple of notes please: free internet or if you pay for it would be nice to be able to receive it in the room without having to go to the balcony, better tennis rackets and balls as they seen their end, warmer water in the swimming pools as they are a real challenge even the sea was warmer, new carpets as they seen their life end. Some different options on Snack time as they always been: Hot dogs, pizza or burgers. Only 4 channels of TV and from them 2 are German ones. Thankfully I do speak German. Please some better not scratching pool towels as you have to pay deposit for anyway.
All in all a good relaxing holiday with a hotel resort which has plenty of improvement to do for 4 star hotel. At the moment only average 3 star if?

Room Tip: Visit Loro park, it is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whatdoesthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Blue Sea Puerto Resort, responded to this review, 21 January 2015
Dear customer,
We would like to apologise for any inconvenience you may have endured during your stay and we are truly sorry that our service did not meet your expectations as we always work aiming towards the customer's satisfaction. Should you have communicated your dissapointment with us our guest service department would have done anything to try and solve the problem on the spot. We hope to welcome you in the near future to make sure you have a wonderful stay in our hotel.Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel was nothing to write home about...outdoor pools were to cold to swim, and the children who were using it kept getting yelled at for playing ball. (They were not harming others and were the only ones willing to go in). Indoor pool that was supposed to be heated wasn't. Over half the sun beds were cracked and broken. All inclusive drinks were very limited.

Luckily the entertainment team was great. They tried their hardest to get people involved in activities even with the lack of people. Sam was supper friendly and made you always feel so welcome! She also wowed everyone during her evening performances! Keep it up!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Need2Dance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Blue Sea Puerto Resort, responded to this review, 27 December 2014
Dear customer,
First and foremost we would like to thank you for making the Blue Sea Puerto Resort Hotel your destination of choice for your vacation and for taking time of your life to post this comment on the Tripadvisor website. We are truly pleased that you have enjoyed with us. Our entertainment staff works constanly in order to try and pleasure everyone's heart content with our local clients as well as our international customers. Therefore they do different activities for adults and for children during the day and also there are nightly music live shows and also folk shows tipical of our Islands. We hope to have you back in the near future to make sure you have a wonderful stay with us. Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Me and my family (5 yr and 11 yr old girls) stayed in this hotel last week and had an amazing holiday. We were allocated a Superior room in the Hotel Bonanza which was one of 3 hotels next to each other which form part of the Blue Sea resort. The room was big with 4 twin beds and clean. The room was cleaned every other day. The breakfast and dinner were in our hotel and the lunch was across the road in the Interpalace hotel. Both hotels had a large range of food and it was very good for a buffet menu. Each night they had a different theme Spanish, Asian, Italian etc. We were all inclusive which was a first for us and the first few days we ate & drunk too much as you do lol. Calmed it down after that and took it easy. The drinks were on tap and you could have as much as you wanted. San Miguel, red wine, rose & white wine were our main choices and they didn't disappoint. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We would recommend booking the Loro Parque & Siam Park joint tickets as these were both really fun day outs. The kids loved the kids disco and the 2 shows we see after were very good.

The only slight negatives were that there could of been more play areas for kids, it was uphill on the way back from the town so we got a taxi back every time (only 4 euros though), pool was a little cold for the kids, the sauna wasn't working when we had booked the Spa and Jacuzzi was a bit cold.

Overall I wouldn't let any of the above negatives put you off as we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Blue Sea Puerto Resort, responded to this review, 18 December 2014
Dear customer,
First and foremost we would like to thank you for making the Blue Sea Puerto Resort Hotel your destination of choice for your vacation and for taking time of your life to post this comment on the Tripadvisor website. We are truly pleased that you have enjoyed with us and that our hotel met your expectations. Your kind words are a great motivation for all of our staff, is a pleasure to have a positive feedback that we share as a reason to keep working towards the customer's satisfaction.
Please be aware that customers’ comments are of great value to improve the quality of the services offered by our company and therefore we hope to welcome you in the near future to make sure you have a wonderful stay in our hotel.Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Me and my partner just have arrived yesterday from 1 week stay in the one of the 3 blue sea hotel. Firstly, it was hard to find the resort because of the different types of names of the 3 hotels. I t was not clearly said anywhere, as I personally think it is really important for the first time travellers in this area to be recognised. We had taken the "all inclusive" board, which is completely NOT all inclusive. Things such as safe, TV, Wi-Fi (inside the room & the lobby), and beach towels for changing to the clean ones where charged. This is completely not all inclusive. Regarding to the hotel it is not a 4 star at all. The furniture is poor and old. Rooms are equipped with the old furnitures and dark old looking colours. When we asked to change the room, because it did not look at all like we have seen through the "Low cost holidays.ie" pictures. We were given a room in the building on the opposite side "Bonanza" hotel. No much of a difference. Also the superior rooms are exactly the same just a bit bigger. Not worth the money. In our room we had few problems; the safe didn't work at all, balcony door didn't lock. The mattress on the beds felt like sleeping on the ground. Food is poor. I am not a picky person, but this was poor and cheap food. No proper juices or coffee. Exactly the same selections everyday. Restaurants are poorly set.All the meals are buffet. Looks more like a canteen. What surprised the most was the carelessness of one of the receptionist, when we gave back the beach towel to get the deposit back he handed me the money and told me to go back to the reception office and throw in the towel myself. Spa was just a joke. Very disappointing stay! Not a 4 star at all!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Velta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Blue Sea Puerto Resort, responded to this review, 21 November 2014
Dear customer,
First and foremost we would like to thank you for making the Blue Sea Puerto Resort Hotel your destination of choice for your vacation.
We would like to apologise for any inconvenience you may have endured during your stay and we are truly sorry that our service did not meet your expectations as we always work aiming towards the customer's satisfaction.
We hope to welcome you in the near future to make sure you have a wonderful stay in our hotel.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Myself and my partner stayed in this hotel last August and we were both pleasantly surprised. On arrival we were allocated our room key and the reception staff kindly watched over our luggage as we were just in time for dinner.
We went up to our room and its was a lot larger than expected, very clean and had a good sized balcony, the only downside to the room was the view (we were overlooking the back of the hotel) but I guess thats just pot luck. The maids came in to change bedding/towels every other day and never touched our personal items, they were always found as they were left.
We stayed all inclusive which didn't disappoint, there was lots of choice at meal times and something different every night, the self service bar was excellent and was always kept restocked.
Brilliant location, a lovely 10 minute walk into the centre and this was all downhill, we opted to get a taxi back as it was very reasonably priced at around 4 euro.
This hotel is very family friendly,it had a choice of 3 pools, a games room and there was always something going on. Very Enjoyable holiday indeed!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Blue Sea Puerto Resort, responded to this review, 27 December 2014
Google Translation
Estimado cliente,
En primer lugar queríamos darle las gracias por haber elegido el Hotel Blue Sea Puerto Resort como destino vacacional y por compartir sus comentarios en la página web de Trypadvisor.es.
Nos alegra saber que disfrutara de su estancia con nosotros y que nuestro hotel fuera una buena elección para sus vacaciones.Nos despedimos con un cordial saludo y con la esperanza de poder volver a darle la bienvenida muy pronto en nuestro hotel. Atentamente,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
0.0 mi away
Blue Sea Interpalace
Blue Sea Interpalace
#69 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,109 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
#22 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#15 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Diamante Suites
Hotel Diamante Suites
#24 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
560 reviews
29.0 mi away
Alborada Beach Club
Alborada Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Las Galletas
2,099 reviews
0.7 mi away
diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden
diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden
#28 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sea Puerto Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Puerto Resort

Property: Blue Sea Puerto Resort
Address: Calle Acevino 8, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Hotasa Puerto Resort Bonanza Canarife Palace)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#25 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Sea Puerto Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Blue Sea Puerto Resort is located on the island of Tenerife, the largest of the Canaries. Visitors can enjoy the beautiful black sand beaches like Playa Garden or the fabulous selection of parks, museums and historical monuments. It is essential to visit the leisure complex Martianez Lagos, created by the artist Cesar Manrique in Puerto de la Cruz during any stay. The Hotel is located in a residential neighborhood near the beach. This location is perfect for enjoying all the activities of the island and the subtropical gardens that surround the resort are a great way to relax after a day of hiking or beach sports. The rooms are designed and equipped to make your stay as pleasant as possible. All rooms have a separate bathroom, air conditioning, balcony or terrace and a safe. There is also a mini bar (extra charge). With regards to services, the Blue Sea Puerto Resort also has an outdoor swimming pool, pool bar, health club and tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Sea Puerto Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Sea Puerto Puerto De La Cruz
Hotasa Puerto De La Cruz
Blue Sea Puerto Resort Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing