We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Sea Puerto Resort
Ranked #68 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Good VFM holiday if you are happy staying around the hotel as it's a bit away from the town and sea. Near though to cafes, bars and shops. There are 3 hotels together and you can use facilities of any. Reception staff in 2 of the hotels but not ours, but not really a problem. Really good size room, good food and staff were friendly, provided you were polite to them, which doesn't seem the norm with Spanish hotel guests! Predominantly Spanish families staying. Nice pool and plenty of sunbeds. About 50 euros for a week's decent TV. Transfers went smoothly. Would recommend for a quiet couples or family holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Blue Sea Puerto Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014
Google Translation

Estimado cliente,
En primer lugar queríamos darle las gracias por haber elegido el Blue Puerto Resort como destino vacacional y por compartir sus comentarios en la página web de Trypadvisor.es.
Es un placer saber que ha disfrutado de su estancia con nosotros. Sus comentarios nos motivan a seguir trabajando con el objetivo de cumplir con los deseos y las expectativas de nuestros clientes.
Nos despedimos con un saludo, esperando volver a darle la bienvenida muy pronto en nuestros hoteles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (947)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 947 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

This review is just about the hotel; I have reviewed the resort separately. We made the mistake of booking flights to the South Airport (aerpuerto sur) and, not realising how far we were from the resort, took a taxi. 50mins and 100 euros lighter, we arrived at the hotel (well, actually 3 hotels).
It does get a bit confusing as it is a "resort" which includes 3 separate hotels, 1 on the left and 2 on the right. We were booked into the Canarife Palace and were lucky enough to be given a large suite on the 4th floor. The balcony overlooked the road behind the hotel and was very quiet.
Guests at the hotel appear to be primarily Spanish - didn't bother us, but it's good to know. The type of guests is obviously something that the hotel can't control and I am not going to dwell on that side of things. The same goes for the weather. We were told that the weather was cooler in the North of the island, but hadn't anticipated that it would be so cloudy. It's about 10 degrees cooler than the south and we had to wrap up at night.
That brings me to the things they can change. We booked al inclusive and the only place you can get drinks, other than in the restaurants, is from the buffet-style bar by the Bonanza hotel. It's basically a glorified tent with a couple of trellis tables on which is a variety of local spirits, sangria, ice and lemon. At the back are a couple of beer taps, and soft drink dispensers. To the other side is a table for serving snacks, a coffee machine, freezer (for ice creams) and chiller for salad and cooked meats. It tends to get very busy and at times is a bit chaotic. From there, you take an outdoor seat around the pool for the evening entertainment and it did get really cool. In fact I took a blanket from the room on a couple of occasions. There were no where near enough seats for everyone and peole were sitting on the floor, grass and even using the sunbeds. What would have helped us more (as a couple) would have been an indoor bar to be open. A bar did open a couple of times (for the football) but it wasn't part of the all inclusive package.
Also, the decor is looking a little tired and it could so with an injection of cash to bring it back up to the standard it deserves.
Positives: the food was really good and plentiful. There was always something for everyone and we are really fussy eaters. Food was available right through the day until 23:00ish.
The staff are very professional and, although some would say they were unfriendly, I don't believe that they had time to chat as they worked so tirelessly from early morning until late at night. They did appreciate my attempts at pigeon Spanish - made them smile at least.
The animation team were always on hand to provide entertainment, especially for the kids. There was no pressure to join in, but lots of variety and they also worked really hard making the guests happy.
The spa was great. Needs to be pre-booked, but a real treat and well worth the extra cost.

Room Tip: If you want to get an early night or have young children, I would suggest a room at the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank selbybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Blue Sea Puerto Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2015

Dear customer,
First and foremost we would like to thank you for making the Blue Sea Puerto Resort Hotel your destination of choice for your vacation.We are truly pleased that you have enjoyed the size of the rooms, the views of the Teide and the sea and also the amazing variety offered in our buffet with 12 table menus that our chefs prepare with great care.Our entertainment staff works constanly in order to try and pleasure everyone's heart content with our local clients as well as our international customers. Therefore they do different activities for adults and for children during the day and also there are nightly music live shows and also folk shows tipical of our Islands. We hope to have you back in the near future to make sure you have a wonderful stay with us. Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

iam a 64 year old pensioner and have just 3 months of hospital tests and treatment for myeloma and thought i would book myself an all inclusive holiday with yourselves and during booking with your very helpful operative richard was shown from your website exactly what i should expect ie: pool and maybe sea views iam an easy pleased elderly guy who just wanted the comforts of home with a few more for my once a year holiday well on landing at 23.15 at tenerife south airport i quickly found my waiting transfer to my hotel destination and after he took and sat me in his minibus i was left for about an hour while he went off to find all his other passengers so once he had we got going about 00.25am and i realised then that our journey was one hour and fifteen minutes away so we arrived at puerto de la cruz at about 01.30 in the morning and all i was looking forward too right then was my bed and the hotel looked exactly what i was promised imagine how i felt when the receptionists told me : this isnt your hotel although it said hotel blue sea all over it and with all my heavy bags was shown another hotel 200m down the other side of the road which i dragged myself too so i got there and booked in and was given all my keys and paperwork and a salad for my missed hotel dinner then the bombshell receptionist then told me the same : this isnt your hotel sir so i had to drag myself once again all up the road to a hotel called bonanza palace which is right opposite the first wrong hotel i was dropped off at and by this time it was now 02.20 in the morning so i just went straight to my hotel room completely exhausted only to be woken early by about 8 yapping fighting dogs in the in the local park opposite the hotel i now found myself in so i started looking around my room and and turned on the tv only to find it said no signal on the screen but it did show a very badly broken up picture sometimes then i tried turning on the room aircon because it was quite hot and humid only to find that it just blew hot air into the room and just didnt work either next i saw a light fitting hanging dangerously off the wall so i went for breakfast feeling very deflated by all this thinking NO nothing else can go wrong but ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh yes it did on my return from the dining hall i couldnt get back into my room with the access key card and it took me 3 days to get that fixed by reception which was 200m up the road all the time too complain too and whenever i did i was told in a very condosending way mr thompson your hotel room is very nice isnt it ???? i just nodded my disbelief at their lack of care for my comfort on my holiday so eventually i realised it was my holiday and if they wasnt going too do anything then i had beter myself so i just hired a car and tried to forget all about my just about 1 star yapping dogs no comforts room restaurant food and all the staff where great as was the night time entertainment i did take pics of what i could so please find these attached i hope you can me some kind of explanation for all my disappointment with this hotel stay mick thompson

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Blue Sea Puerto Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2014

Dear customer,
First and foremost we would like to thank you for making the Blue Sea Puerto Resort Hotel your destination of choice for your vacation and for taking time of your life to post this comment on the Tripadvisor website.
We would like to apologise for any inconvenience you may have endured during your stay and we are truly sorry that our service did not meet your expectations as we always work aiming towards the customer's satisfaction.
Should you have communicated your dissapointment with us our guest service department would have done anything to try and solve the problem on the spot.
Please be aware that customers’ comments are of great value to improve the quality of the services offered by our company and therefore we hope to welcome you in the near future to make sure you have a wonderful stay in our hotel.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Have just came back from a weeks break with my partner.
First let me say if you are a young couple expecting sun and nightlife please go to the south. The whole time we were there we had one day of sun, the rest was cloudy and dark with on/off rain. We were told this was usual for the north part.
On arrival we were told we were in Bonanza, which to fair was alright.
Our room was on the 6th floor and huge, though the decor of the rooms and hotel was like a throw back to the 80s though that didnt really bother me.
Even though the weather wasnt great there is still a fight for the sunbeds so get there early! Pool was nice and big, though the pool area only gets cleaned around 10am every morning and i lost count of the amount of times i stood on left over food,drinks and fag butts!

Our room got cleaned twice the whole time we were there.

Food was okay, i wasnt expecing much but was surprised by actually how alright it was. Only food i wasnt keen on was the hot snacks. As we went all inclusive we were surprised not to be able to get drinks from the bar or if we did we were told to pay for them?! Therefore we could only use small plastics cups to get our drinks. Salad and some kinf of ham were out daily though everytime i looked at it, it was covered in flies whicj put us off.

We did go down in to the main square many nights which is aroubd 4euros in a taxi, a few nights we did walk down but the hill to get back up was enough to make me want to get a taxi back!
We ate out a couple of nights and the food was good, loads of little bars that do cocktails etc which we were glad of as the hotel nightlife and surrounding area just wasnt for us!

The hotel staff were rude, day or night!

All in all its not the best hotel in the world but not the worst either. My only advice would be to really research Puerto De La Cruz before you book as if we had done this we would have stuck to Los Christianos or Playa De Las America.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KR1481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Blue Sea Puerto Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2015

Dear customer,
We would like to apologise for any inconvenience you may have endured during your stay. We are truly sorry that the impression of the staff members has not been the most pleasant one but I would like to assure you that they have the appropriate training and preparation for that matter and we get compliments from our guests regarding the way they are treated and assisted by our personnel.
Our maintenance staffs clean the pool daily and complete control check throughout the day and the housekeeping staff clean this area minimum two times per day. We are not allowed to use glass near to the swimming pool for security reasons.
The Pool Terrace Bar ist exclusive for customers who have the all inclusive service and all drinks are self-service. We offer our guest different drinks with and without alcohol, infusions, coffees, soft drinks, juices, beers, long drinks, cocktails, wine, and mineral water form 10:30 am to 00.00am. In the Taboro Bar (not all inclusive bar), we make different cocktails and we also offer happy hour deals in most of our beverages. We hope to have you back in the near future to make sure you have a wonderful stay with us. Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My fiance and I booked a last minute holiday (Friday 27th of June '14), all inclusive, and I have just returned home and have decided to write this review whilst it is all fresh in my mind.
To begin; before booking we looked at reviews for this hotel, many of which stated that the hotel was dated and many complaints about traffic noise and cold food with little variety - I can tell you now that the majority of that is not true!

Being a 4 star hotel, it doesn't really match the standards of, let's say, a 4 star hotel in the UK but you get your moneys worth. The hotel is a little dated looking but keeping in mind that you don't go on holiday to sit all day in a hotel room, it gave you what you needed; the room was clean and tidy, the shower was of a high pressure and hot and included a bath and hair drier. The double bed was just 2 single beds pushed together but it was comfortable enough. The room came with a mini fridge which was useful for storing our water and any other bits and bobs; also included were additional blankets and clean towels. We got everything we needed from our room. We were also very fortunate to have gotten a high up room with a balcony looking out to the sea - beautiful view!
There is a main road which runs along the hotel but I never really saw it busy at all and at night the area was generally quite quiet.
The pool is very cold, you have been warned, but after exploring the island, having long walks which is very hilly, that and also the general heat is enough to make you crave the cold pool. Overcast days arn't so nice for the pool but otherwise it's nice! Also very clean.
For all inclusive; coffees, teas, soft drinks, fruit juice, alcohol (including beers and wines) and water are all available on tap and in bottles at the side for you to simply help yourself. The food was fantastic and buffet style! A lot of variety with something different on every day most of which were local Canarian recipes including meats such as lamb, duck, goat, rabbit as well as many fish and salad options. If you're a fussy eater or a vegetarian they also have things like chicken nuggets chips and various vegetable dishes. My only complaint about the food is that it gets cold quickly, very often when eating it was luke warm but the quality of the dishes made up for the temperature. Wide variety of desserts as well.

Over all, the hotel was very nice, very clean, helpful friendly staff and provided everything that was needed. I would happily return.

On a side note, in regards to activities in and around the hotel; the night time entertainment within the hotel is pretty rubbish but with all inclusive you can go across the road to its sister hotel and have a drink and enjoy their entertainment (the entertainment is better there).
The beach is roughly a 15 - 20 minute walk and all down hill and if you can't be bothered walking, Monday - Friday the hotel provides a free bus service to and from the town center though if you're looking for a drink and nice restaurants I'd suggest visiting Old Town which isn't far from the center - go to a bar called Black Jacks - they're well priced, great drinks and dynamite staff! I'd also recommend a restaurant, just below the chinese buffet, with a white canopy, to the left of black Jacks (unfortunately I can't remember it's name) - the food was stunning, cheap and large portions with excellent live music!

If you can, visit Loro Park and Siam Park.

I hope this helps and that all who visit enjoy their stay.

Worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Kiera G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Blue Sea Puerto Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2015

Dear customer,
First and foremost we would like to thank you for making the Hotel Blue Sea Puerto Resort your destination of choice for your vacation and for taking time of your life to post this comment on the Tripadvisor website. We are truly pleased that you have enjoyed with us and that our hotel met your expectations. Your kind words are a great motivation for all of our staff, is a pleasure to have suff positive feedback that we share as a reason to keep working towards the customer's satisfaction. We hope to welcome you in the near future to make sure you have a wonderful stay in our hotel.Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I read many of the reviews before booking this hotel, so I now know why there are mixed reveiws regarding the rooms?

We asked for Double/Seaview/AC/Top Floor, but we arrived at 3am to be given Gorund Floor/Twin/Pool View, we were moved after two days due to all the rooms being full.

The first room was ok but not a 4* more a 3* and in need of updating, but the room we were given after two days was a well worth a 4* and in great decorated design.

Food was great for an A/L with salad and fruit everyday, some complained the food was cold but if you go round the salad etc first then the hot meat etc, then you will have your meal at a good temperature.

One thing I will say lets these hotels down is the fact that they supply A/L and yet they close all three main bars, allowing the Bonanza bar to open at selected times(ie: Football matches) but not for A/L. You have to pay for your drinks?????????? There is a pool bar and a so called snack bar(hut) and these are the only places you can get drinks(not including meal times). Many holiday makers including ourselves were very upset at the fact that we paid A/L, expecting to be able to watch the World Cup(female by the way but who doesnt like the world cup). We had to go into town or bars near by to be able to watch football, and then pay for drinks that we should have been able to have at our A/L hotel?

We could have gone into the bar and watched etc, but due to the principle of being A/L, why should we give them more of our money? Because of this I have given a low rating.

Room Tip: 1651 was front view top....nice 1006 facing swimming pool but needs updating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cazz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Blue Sea Puerto Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2014

Dear customer,
Thank you for making the Blue Sea Puerto Resort Hotel your destination of choice for your vacation. We would like to apologise for any inconvenience you may have endured during your stay and we are truly sorry that our service did not meet your expectations as we always work aiming towards the customer's satisfaction. Please be aware that customers’ comments are of great value to improve the quality of the services offered by our company and therefore we hope to welcome you in the near future to make sure you have a wonderful stay in our hotel. Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Just came back from a week in this resort. Have to take a guess which of the 3 hotels to go to when you first check in, but once you find your room there is no problems. I went with my boyfriend, and they gave us a lovely bedroom and ensuite. We were in the Bonanza hotel, on the second floor and the balcony had a fairly nice view.
Didn't have much to do with the staff but they were all friendly enough. Food was typical holiday food but there was lots of choice everyday. We went all inclusive, which was great as you got unlimited drinks and snacks all day and night. You get to choose between 3 pools and 2 restaurants. The hotel put on lots of entertainment during the day and night.
The hotel is also very close to a variety or bars and restaurants, and it's also a 3€ taxi ride to the main town.
Thoroughly enjoyed the holiday and the hotel was brill, would go again!

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Blue Sea Puerto Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2014

Dear customer,
First and foremost we would like to thank you for making the Hotel Blue Sea Puerto Resort your destination of choice for your vacation and for taking time of your life to post this comment on the Tripadvisor website.
We are truly pleased that you have enjoyed with us and that our hotel met your expectations. Your kind words are a great motivation for all of our staff, is a pleasure to have suff positive feedback that we share as a reason to keep working towards the customer's satisfaction. We hope to welcome you in the near future to make sure you have a wonderful stay in our hotel.Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Blue Sea Interpalace
Blue Sea Interpalace
#70 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,206 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Sea Costa Jardin & Spa
Blue Sea Costa Jardin & Spa
#29 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,240 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Diamante Suites
Hotel Diamante Suites
#20 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
#23 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#18 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,173 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sol Puerto de la Cruz Tenerife
Sol Puerto de la Cruz Tenerife
#33 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sea Puerto Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Puerto Resort

Address: Calle Acevino 8, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Hotasa Puerto Resort Bonanza Canarife Palace)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#26 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: £37 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Sea Puerto Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Blue Sea Puerto Resort is located on the island of Tenerife, the largest of the Canaries. Visitors can enjoy the beautiful black sand beaches like Playa Garden or the fabulous selection of parks, museums and historical monuments. It is essential to visit the leisure complex Martianez Lagos, created by the artist Cesar Manrique in Puerto de la Cruz during any stay. The Hotel is located in a residential neighborhood near the beach. This location is perfect for enjoying all the activities of the island and the subtropical gardens that surround the resort are a great way to relax after a day of hiking or beach sports. The rooms are designed and equipped to make your stay as pleasant as possible. All rooms have a separate bathroom, air conditioning, balcony or terrace and a safe. There is also a mini bar (extra charge). With regards to services, the Blue Sea Puerto Resort also has an outdoor swimming pool, pool bar, health club and tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Sea Puerto Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Sea Puerto Puerto De La Cruz
Hotasa Puerto De La Cruz
Blue Sea Puerto Resort Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing