We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel - value for money!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puerto Resort by Blue Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Puerto Resort by Blue Sea
Ranked #66 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good hotel - value for money!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed in April 2014 for 8 days in Bonanza. Hotel is nice and clean, rooms are big. We really liked evening entertainment :) There is big choice of food. I need to agree that restaurant staff is not really nice. During our stay we met excellent travel advisor, she was really helpful and friendly. She really organised our days in Tenerife.

The only thing we can complaint about is weather. It's better to stay on the south of the island, as weather in puerto de la cruz was not excellent everyday. Sure that's not hotel's fault. Tenerife was excellent holiday and we really enjoyed our time in the hotel. See you soon Tenerife!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank independent93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Puerto Resort by Blue Sea, responded to this review, 27 December 2014
Google Translation
Estimado cliente,
En primer lugar queríamos darle las gracias por compartir sus comentarios en la página web de Trypadvisor.es. Nos alegra saber que disfrutara de su estancia con nosotros y que nuestro hotel fuera una buena elección para sus vacaciones.Nos despedimos con un cordial saludo y con la esperanza de poder volver a darle la bienvenida muy pronto en nuestro hotel. Atentamente,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    213
    214
    156
    99
See reviews for
287
303
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

During my stay here in June the reception staff were very unhelpful. The staff in the restaurant were unfriendly.

On a plus point the rooms were very clean and spacious. In general not a friendly welcoming hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Puerto Resort by Blue Sea, responded to this review, 21 November 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you for making the Blue Sea Puerto Resort Hotel your destination of choice for your vacation. We would like to apologise for any inconvenience you may have endured during your stay and we are truly sorry that our service did not meet your expectations as we always work aiming towards the customer's satisfaction. Please be aware that customers’ comments are of great value to improve the quality of the services offered by our company and therefore we hope to welcome you in the near future to make sure you have a wonderful stay in our hotel. Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto de la Cruz hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

There are 3 hotels belonging to Blue Sea in close proximity. We stayed in Canarife and are glad after exploring the Blue Sea Palace itself which has a rather foisty damp smell on the lower floors! Also the bar at Canarife is self service which meant there was little queing for drinks -we saw queues at Blue Sea Palace.
As mentioned entertainment is meadiocre- we saw 2 unimpressive bird of prey shows and a hoopla lady and balancing on tins man! Good for a laugh though!
Some nice bars in town,walk down there in about 10-15 minutes . Walk back up is not for the faint hearted, lots of steep steps. Beach is small and grubby with few ameneties.
Weather was overcast but warm.
Food is fine and nicely presented.
One gripe is the extras-10 euros for a beach towel and 1 euro to change it, TV - only english channel is BBC World News unless you pay for extra channels 4.50 euros per day ( never done that before with AI). Kettle doesnt come as standard in rooms, 20 euros returnable deposit. Safe is 30 euros, not sure if thats returnable as ours didnt work so we didnt bother. Our room was on level 3 -odd numbers dont see the sun( when its out).
All in all a clean hotel with half decent food- good for chillin.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philandwendy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Puerto Resort by Blue Sea, responded to this review, 27 December 2014
Google Translation
Estimado cliente,
En primer lugar queríamos darle las gracias por haber elegido el Hotel Blue Sea Puerto Resort como destino vacacional y por compartir sus comentarios en la página web de Trypadvisor.es.
Nos alegra saber que hemos cumplido sus espectativas en cuanto a la relación calidad - precio. Tendremos en cuenta sus comentarios constructivos para seguir mejorando. Nos despedimos con un cordial saludo y con la esperanza de poder volver a darle la bienvenida muy pronto en nuestro hotel. Atentamente,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Hotel is very nice and has all you need. Entertainment on an evening is poor so best to head out. All inc drinks are very good as it is self service on beer and spirits, just make sure you find a bigger cup as the ones they provide last about 5 seconds. Pool area is nice, although the life guards have a strict no fun policy apparently, banning lilos, bat and ball and drinks poolside. Although they do have daily water polo which redeems this slightly. Close to the beach and seafront, with few nice places to eat out. Make sure you check the weather as the side of the island it is on can often be cloudy and overcast. All in all, a nice relaxed getaway. On a side note, when in Tenerife, be sure to go to the water park!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank GuestAnon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Puerto Resort by Blue Sea, responded to this review, 5 January 2015
Dear customer,
First and foremost we would like to thank you for making the Blue Sea Puerto Resort Hotel your destination of choice for your vacation and for taking time of your life to post this comment on the Tripadvisor website. We are really pleased that we have encountered your expectations regarding the quality of our hotel and we hope to have you back in the near future to make sure you have a wonderful stay with us. Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Hotel was nice, food nice, rooms clean. This is the cloudy side of the island and so most days is overcast. Hired cars at low cost, take one hour to go to the south side. Great island. Siam park a must

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
5 Thank claireandsam2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Puerto Resort by Blue Sea, responded to this review, 24 November 2014
Dear customer,
First and foremost we would like to thank you for making the Blue Sea Puerto Resort Hotel your destination of choice for your vacation and for taking time of your life to post this comment on the Tripadvisor website. We are glad that you room met your expectations and that you enjoyed our excellent buffet that our chefs creat with grate care.
We hope to have you back in the near future to make sure you have a wonderful stay with us. Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Good VFM holiday if you are happy staying around the hotel as it's a bit away from the town and sea. Near though to cafes, bars and shops. There are 3 hotels together and you can use facilities of any. Reception staff in 2 of the hotels but not ours, but not really a problem. Really good size room, good food and staff were friendly, provided you were polite to them, which doesn't seem the norm with Spanish hotel guests! Predominantly Spanish families staying. Nice pool and plenty of sunbeds. About 50 euros for a week's decent TV. Transfers went smoothly. Would recommend for a quiet couples or family holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Puerto Resort by Blue Sea, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Google Translation
Estimado cliente,
En primer lugar queríamos darle las gracias por haber elegido el Blue Puerto Resort como destino vacacional y por compartir sus comentarios en la página web de Trypadvisor.es.
Es un placer saber que ha disfrutado de su estancia con nosotros. Sus comentarios nos motivan a seguir trabajando con el objetivo de cumplir con los deseos y las expectativas de nuestros clientes.
Nos despedimos con un saludo, esperando volver a darle la bienvenida muy pronto en nuestros hoteles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This review is just about the hotel; I have reviewed the resort separately. We made the mistake of booking flights to the South Airport (aerpuerto sur) and, not realising how far we were from the resort, took a taxi. 50mins and 100 euros lighter, we arrived at the hotel (well, actually 3 hotels).
It does get a bit confusing as it is a "resort" which includes 3 separate hotels, 1 on the left and 2 on the right. We were booked into the Canarife Palace and were lucky enough to be given a large suite on the 4th floor. The balcony overlooked the road behind the hotel and was very quiet.
Guests at the hotel appear to be primarily Spanish - didn't bother us, but it's good to know. The type of guests is obviously something that the hotel can't control and I am not going to dwell on that side of things. The same goes for the weather. We were told that the weather was cooler in the North of the island, but hadn't anticipated that it would be so cloudy. It's about 10 degrees cooler than the south and we had to wrap up at night.
That brings me to the things they can change. We booked al inclusive and the only place you can get drinks, other than in the restaurants, is from the buffet-style bar by the Bonanza hotel. It's basically a glorified tent with a couple of trellis tables on which is a variety of local spirits, sangria, ice and lemon. At the back are a couple of beer taps, and soft drink dispensers. To the other side is a table for serving snacks, a coffee machine, freezer (for ice creams) and chiller for salad and cooked meats. It tends to get very busy and at times is a bit chaotic. From there, you take an outdoor seat around the pool for the evening entertainment and it did get really cool. In fact I took a blanket from the room on a couple of occasions. There were no where near enough seats for everyone and peole were sitting on the floor, grass and even using the sunbeds. What would have helped us more (as a couple) would have been an indoor bar to be open. A bar did open a couple of times (for the football) but it wasn't part of the all inclusive package.
Also, the decor is looking a little tired and it could so with an injection of cash to bring it back up to the standard it deserves.
Positives: the food was really good and plentiful. There was always something for everyone and we are really fussy eaters. Food was available right through the day until 23:00ish.
The staff are very professional and, although some would say they were unfriendly, I don't believe that they had time to chat as they worked so tirelessly from early morning until late at night. They did appreciate my attempts at pigeon Spanish - made them smile at least.
The animation team were always on hand to provide entertainment, especially for the kids. There was no pressure to join in, but lots of variety and they also worked really hard making the guests happy.
The spa was great. Needs to be pre-booked, but a real treat and well worth the extra cost.

Room Tip: If you want to get an early night or have young children, I would suggest a room at the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank selbybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Puerto Resort by Blue Sea, responded to this review, 5 January 2015
Dear customer,
First and foremost we would like to thank you for making the Blue Sea Puerto Resort Hotel your destination of choice for your vacation.We are truly pleased that you have enjoyed the size of the rooms, the views of the Teide and the sea and also the amazing variety offered in our buffet with 12 table menus that our chefs prepare with great care.Our entertainment staff works constanly in order to try and pleasure everyone's heart content with our local clients as well as our international customers. Therefore they do different activities for adults and for children during the day and also there are nightly music live shows and also folk shows tipical of our Islands. We hope to have you back in the near future to make sure you have a wonderful stay with us. Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
0.0 mi away
Interpalace by Blue Sea
Interpalace by Blue Sea
#68 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
#21 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
22.4 mi away
Lagos de Cesar by Blue Sea
Lagos de Cesar by Blue Sea
#10 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.0 mi away
Alborada Beach Club
Alborada Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Las Galletas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,928 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Diamante Suites
Hotel Diamante Suites
#23 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#19 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerto Resort by Blue Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerto Resort by Blue Sea

Property: Puerto Resort by Blue Sea
Address: Calle Acevino 8, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Hotasa Puerto Resort Bonanza Canarife Palace)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#24 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Puerto Resort by Blue Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Blue Sea Puerto Resort is located on the island of Tenerife, the largest of the Canaries. Visitors can enjoy the beautiful black sand beaches like Playa Garden or the fabulous selection of parks, museums and historical monuments. It is essential to visit the leisure complex Martianez Lagos, created by the artist Cesar Manrique in Puerto de la Cruz during any stay. The Hotel is located in a residential neighborhood near the beach. This location is perfect for enjoying all the activities of the island and the subtropical gardens that surround the resort are a great way to relax after a day of hiking or beach sports. The rooms are designed and equipped to make your stay as pleasant as possible. All rooms have a separate bathroom, air conditioning, balcony or terrace and a safe. There is also a mini bar (extra charge). With regards to services, the Blue Sea Puerto Resort also has an outdoor swimming pool, pool bar, health club and tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and Onthebeach so you can book your Puerto Resort by Blue Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Sea Puerto Puerto De La Cruz
Hotasa Puerto De La Cruz
Puerto Resort By Blue Sea Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing