We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“avoid like the plague no customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotasa Puerto Resort Canarife Palace
Ranked #73 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed 12 July 2012

we arrived late in July to a cloudy sky this was not to change for 2 weeks.This was not the hotels fault .
This is a resort consisting of 3 hotels the canarife, bonanza and interpalace. upon arrival reception very slow and apathetic.Had to wait 2 hours for room cleaning but no problem. When got room it was tiny very disappointing.Went for food which was reasonable.
Went for evening drink in bar Tabaro in hotel Bonanza very friendly bar staff and excellent service.I had received a photocopy of bar hours from reception which stated it closed at 12 but we were kicked out at 23.00.This was ok .Fist week enjoyed this bar as my watering hole. Second week all bars except table by pool closed thus had to get drinks from table area whicch was like a cattle market and had to drink beer out of small plastic cups as all other bars closed WHAT A LOAD OF RUBBISH! Complained to an officious idiot in a waistcoat just to be dismissed..
What is annoying is that it could be such a nice place with a bit of thought.

Room Tip: do not book promo room or upgrade to standard immediately
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daiyates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2012 via mobile

The Hotel is NOT 4 Star! The location is pretty poor and it's on a steep hill, The food is terrible - Fine if you like pasta with no sauce but you can have broccoli with it if you wish or you can have cooked carrots for breakfast with sweet corn! It's a typical example of a Spanish All Inclusive Hotel - My Advice is never go All Inclusive when holidaying in Europe you'll always get poor quality food and very weak beer we ended up eating out during the Evenings because the food was poor at the hotel. The staff there cannot speak very good English at all so to communicate you had to point or draw diagrams of things! The area of Tenerife the hotel is located is very very quite not a lot happening during the night - The Town Centre around a 20 minute walk is on the small side and is just satuated with tapas bars with low key music playing in the back ground. All in All a poor holiday for us, The food, The Location, The Staff do this hotel no favours at all, If the staff see you with a bracelet on, You are treated differantly to those who are paying for their drinks etc! We will be back to Tenerife but will stop in the South of the Island and Bed and Breakfast!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Canarife Palace Hotel 7th -14th June 2012 we found the hotel to be very good.
The rooms are very spacious fully carpeted have two wardrobes which included two drawers and some shelves, a 4 drawer chest and bedside cabinets with a drawer in each. Plenty of storage we also had a room safe (charged at 3 euros a day) a built in fridge, coffee table lounge chair and a bedroom chair, two large mirrors and an old fashioned TV (who watches TV on holiday?) a nice balcony with table and chairs.
We stayed in room 342 and had a lovely view over the pools and of the Oratavo Valley and Mount Teide.
The bathroom is a very good size and had hot water all day regardless of the time you wanted to shower and was spotless no mould/mildew or stains anywhere and nicely tiled walls and floor.

Beware with the air conditioning in the room it has a contact switch on the balcony door, it is easy to shut and lock the door without making the contact (needs an extra push).

Our room was serviced every other day so be aware that you need to hang your towels on the airer in between services.

The restaurant was very good always spotlessly clean, nice selection of hot and cold food, you could always find something you wanted to eat. Soups were very hot and really good. Beware in the morning at breakfast if you want toast, There was only one toaster and it took on average three passes to have a nice piece of toast. Please note that you need to purchase your drinks at evening meals if like us you were half board.

The pool area and sun terraces are shared with the sister hotel "Bonanza Palace" and vice versa with the Bonanza pool and terraces.The whole area in and around the hotel, gardens and pools were always spotlessly clean.

As regards the staff and service on arrival the reception staff were polite and efficient as were the restaurant staff, however it is amazing what a small gratuity a smile and attempting to speak basic Spanish can achieve.
The second day it was all smiles and in the restaurant greeted with a handshake shown to a table already set up and the wine and water already in place. Dishes cleared and wine regularly topped up. We were also asked if everything was alright and wished goodnight when we were leaving the restaurant.

Outside the hotel you can straw along the road and see a good selection of bars, shops and restaurants.

If you decide to stay at the hotel please be aware that it is a twenty minute walk down to the town centre/beach area which can be by hilly roads or steps or a combination of both, however a taxi is under 4 euros good to straw down and ride back.

Room Tip: Pool view room on at least floor two or higher for good view of the mountain and quiet. Room 342 was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Glen7_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I've been there with my girlfriend for 1 week in April and it was a terrible experience!
The hotel is ok and the rooms are spacious and nice but the personnel are horrible! The staffs at the reception DO NOT CARE at all! Really POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE!
- Not friendly
- They gave us an occupied room and when I went back to change it and let them know, the receptionists didn’t even apologise for the mistake!!!
- Only Spanish speaking
- Very old people without any knowledge
- They never help with anything
- Do not rent a car with their company, you’ll get a bad old car for very high price!
- They never let you feel welcome, never a smile!
- ....and I could go on much more!
The buffet is nice only for dinner, forget about nice food over lunch!
The location is also not good. The hotel is on a hill and to get to the first beach you have to walk 15-20 min and be ready for more than 200 steps!!
If you want nice holidays in a 4* don’t come here!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luca_tnLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We arrived late to find a picnic bag of food & water. Our room was lovely, clean & spacious with the most amazing view of the mountains and Teide. The reception staff were very helpful & we had a good nights sleep. We were very pleased when we saw the pool areas they were all very clean and well looked after. There are a group of 3 hotels Interpalace, Bonanza & Canarife. They were all very good but I think ours was the best of the 3. We could eat drink & swim in any of the 3. The food was very varied and plenty of it. The room was cleaned every day the staff were very friendly, all except an obnoxious bar man in Bonanza which we thought was the best of the 3 bars. I think he was the head bar man & had a real attitude problem. We saw him being extremely rude to a few different people. I hope the hotel group read this and teach him some people skills because he lets the place down!
La Paz the area of these hotels seems to be catering mainly for Germans. Very few British or Spanish.
Puerta de la Cruz is a really lovely town. Very spanish not spoilt by tourism. Great to look at at night. Many good places to eat & drink. Loro Parque was a real suprise (theme parks are not my thing) but this place is so well done. Expensive but worth a day of your holiday the botanical gardens were a disappointment the gardens at Loro parque were much better. There are also great gardens in town which don't seem to be mentioned in the tourist literature.When we had a couple of cloudy days we just drove or got a bus over to the sunshine further south. Masca & Teide are a must! La Oratava is near by and interesting.
I would recommend these hotels for a beautiful part of Tenerife. There is night life in Puerta de la Cruz but If you want night life with the "Brits abroad" go to the south.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the mountains for spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carolseameads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I have just visited Hotasa Puerto Resort in Puerto De La Cruz, Tenerife March 2012 for 1 week. This was our first holiday with our 1 year old daughter. We were not sure what to expect when we booked it as when we looked for reviews on the hotel we couldn’t really find much and was all too confusing with different names for the hotel. The hotel is 3 hotels called ‘Blue sea’ there are 2 side by side joining by the swimming pools, these are called the Canarife Palace and the Bonanza Palace then there is a hotel across the road called the Interpalace. All originally known as Hotasa Puerto Resort.
We flew into the Reina Sophia Airport which from here the transfer by coach takes approximately 1 hour 20 minutes with us being the 1st drop off. We arrived at the hotel on a Sunday at approximately 22:00, not a good day or time to arrive at this resort as the Restaurants were closed and snacks no longer being served and outside the hotel all cafes and eatery’s are closed with it being a Sunday. But on arrival we did get, baby too, a snack bag which was a salad bowl with fruit and tuna and bottle of water although this was no good for our baby as she couldn’t eat it and so had to sleep that first night with no food.
We were given our room swipe card and key and we were on the 5th floor, corner room facing onto the quiet cul de sac road behind the hotel with views upto the volcano. From the corner of the balcony/terrace you have a view of one of the pools. The room was very spacious with lots of room for our daughter to crawl around and play, lovely sized bathroom with bath, shower over the bath, toilet, sink and be day. Soap, towels, and shampoo provided. Room had 2 large built in wardrobes with 2 drawers, bedside drawers, dressing table 2 single beds, cot, 2 chairs and table with lots more room! This led out onto the balcony/terrace with table and chairs and clothes airer. 1 thing I found great about this room was the balcony, it is stone from top to bottom and was secure and safe for our baby to play where as the balconys over in Interpalace have a metal or glass across them with a gap at the bottom between the side and the floor. Rooms were lovely and clean and towels were changed daily and beds made and rooms tided daily. Rooms also have air conditioning and heating which you control.
You could eat breakfast at any of the 3 restaurants same as lunch and evening meal. Although we never ate over at the Interpalace. Breakfast had lots to choose from, cereals to full English, sandwich’s and fruit, tea coffee and juices. Lunch time there were also lots to choose from same as evening meal, there was always something different to have, even our daughter never struggled. One thing I will add is there are no childrens menu such as fish fingers, chicken nuggets, burgers etc but if your child doesn’t mind eating meats, veg and potatoes or chips he/she will be fine! Also the food was just right temperature, could have done with a little hotter but was fine. Lots of delicious desserts to choose from at lunch and evening meal too. Snacks were served at Bonanza Palace bar, not much to choose from, basically the same every day, rice, tuna pizza, meat, breads and ice cream. Pool bar opens from 10:30am where you can get all your alcohol and soft drinks as well as the bar in the bonanza. The bar over at the Interpalace is a self service bar! Lunch was served till 2:15pm Snacks were served till 7pm and evening meal till 9pm.
The Canarife and Bonanza shared 2 large pools and a childrens pool, all pools were cold and are not heated. We tried the indoor pool at the Canarife which was cold too the sauna was lovely though. Pool and inside pool at Interpalace looked nice but we never went in those. At Canarife there is a very small arcade with air hockey and few small machines. There is basket ball, ping pong and tennis too. There are lots of loungers around the pools and up on one terrace and also tables and chairs outside. There is a small park also next to the pools.
Activity guy was ok to speak to as he spoke little bit of English as this is a very foreign hotel, mostly german and Spanish speaking although everyone, staff and visitors were very very friendly! If you go with a child, they will get all the attention from them and your child will love it.
We were all inclusive and got to keep our bands till leaving, there is a menu off all the free beverages on all the tables and small charges for others that aren’t. We flew with Thomas cook, our rep gave us a list of free excursions, we would not advise to go on the coach trip around the island to the perl factory as this is a PALS Blanket trip and are left infront of sellers for periods of time one being an hour or 2.
We took a walk to the centre it is down a very steep hill or lotsssss of steps! Although where the hotel is actually situated there are few cafes, excursion centres, car hire, bars and shops including mini market and a pharmacy which is all on flat surface! The hotel runs a free bus service every 20 mins from 9am mon to fri till around 6pm. Taxi is 4euro to the centre.
We visited the Loro parque which is brilliant 33 euros pp and worth every penny! With whale, seal lion and orca shows and a park where you can spend a full day eating playing and looking at animals. There is a free train from the centre to loro parque and back again every 20 mins.
All in all a lovely clean hotel, nice friendly staff and had a great time although we probably wouldn’t visit this part of the island again as they are a lot older visitors that go here. Also on leaving we heard of one case over in Interpalace of food poisoning but we never had any problems or anyone else we spoken to.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pagan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

First impressions were very good, immaculate reception with well presented neat staff. Room was roomy and clean. Thats the good stuff, the bad? The food was transport cafe standard, in fact no, they manage to cook stuff through. Breakfast cold, how can you serve cold eggs,sausages and bacon.

My wife became ill probably as a result of the half cooked chicken from the 'hot' grill,speed seemed to be the name of the game. Raw chicken can kill folks,reaction was shrug from the chef. Hotel was full of older German people which didn't bother me, they were friendly and I speak German. So basically kitchen staff need a reality check they are ruining the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_fi_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Blue Sea Puerto Resort
Blue Sea Puerto Resort
#68 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
874 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Sea Interpalace
Blue Sea Interpalace
#69 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Masaru Apartments
Masaru Apartments
#20 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Weare La Paz
Hotel Weare La Paz
#24 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Semiramis
Hotel Best Semiramis
#21 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#18 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotasa Puerto Resort Canarife Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotasa Puerto Resort Canarife Palace

Address: Calle Acevino 10, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: £48 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotasa Puerto Resort Canarife Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotasa Puerto Resort Canarife Palace Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Hotasa Puerto Hotel Canarife Palace
Hotasa Puerto Resort Canarife Palace Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing