We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious rooms, helpful staff - worth considering if the price is reasonable.”
Review of Hotel RF Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel RF Astoria
Ranked #29 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Tipperary
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Spacious rooms, helpful staff - worth considering if the price is reasonable.”
Reviewed 23 November 2012

The rooms are a very generous size, beds large and staff is helpful.If driving It is desirable to book a parking space in advance as it is difficult to find a space nearby. However the hotel only has four parking spaces. The complimentary breakfast, although limited, was very welcome and helped keep expenses down. Location is central but away from the sea front.

The beautiful 'grand' entrance is closed off and reception is via a rear entrance which is tatty and does not create a good impression. The beds although large could be more a bit more comfortable. There is no air conditioning, which was not a problem in November, when we went but I imagine would be so in warmer months. The cooking facilities are in the bedroom with the consequent smell factor if they were used for anything other than basic cooking.

Overall a good value stay and worth considering if the price is right.

Room Tip: If driving book a parking space
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hillstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about your stay at our Hotel.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay, and that you liked our hotel in general. For us is very important your point of view, and that's why we have taken note about all these things that we should improve. We are working hard for giving our guests the best possbile service.

Just, we would like to inform you that we have available 10 parking space. And it is better to book them in advance.

Also, we are located in the city center, only 200 meters from the sea. Everything is close here. Even you can get the farest beaches walking 15 minutes.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcoming you back in the future. Do not hesitate to contact us if you need it.

Best Regards,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    103
    44
    10
    4
See reviews for
21
137
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

My family and I arrived at this hotel at 11pm to be told by an older man that we did not have a booking at this hotel. I showed him our print out of the confirmed reservation from Booking.com, he just passed it back to me and said we had no such booking. I asked if there was a room available for the night, and he stood in front of my wife, my 16 month old son and myself and flatly lied to us saying that the hotel was fully booked. Needless to say we were distraught. I asked him if he knew anywhere we could stay and he just shrugged his shoulders and walked away. I asked if I could borrow a phone to call Booking.com and was told to use our mobile.

After contacting Booking.com via my mobile phone, a very helpful lady told me she would call the hotel and find out what was going on. After 20 minutes of going through files, the guy asks me for my paperwork. 10 minutes later I had the keys to a room in the hotel that was apparently fully booked with no rooms available.

The reason this review has been done is that even if there was a miscommunication between the hotel and Booking.com I can't believe that this man didn't care about our situation or that we had a young child, stranded late at night, he wanted us to leave and not have to deal with us and was not willing to assist in anyway. We were not rude or disrespectful and we just stood there shocked someone could be so unhelpful. To add insult to injury, an apology wasn't ever offered even after I was given the keys to the room, UNACCEPTABLE. After enquiring in the morning about what had happened I was told 'These things happen'. NO THEY DO NOT.

In general the hotel is worth an average rating, we stayed 12 nights, the room was a good size, bathroom was OK, everything was clean, the small kitchenette was useful. Unfortunately the rooms are not air conditioned, so you need to keep the doors open at night but and the noise from the street echoes into the room, and you dont get a lot of sleep.

The hotel does have Wifi but you need to sit in reception to use it.

Finally don't waste your money on breakfast, it's usually very basic - there are many places to have a nice breakfast locally.

Although we had trouble with the one member of staff, everyone else were very nice.

First impressions aside, I still wouldn't stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Colin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear Colin,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about your recent stay at our hotel.

First of all, we want to apologize for the inconvenience. For sure, these things should not happend. There was a problem with the fax, and we do not received your reservation. That's why we were not ready for your arrival. We have talked with the receptionist, because it is embarrasing, and it must never happen again.

Your comments and impressions have been addressed to the responsible persons in order to analyse them. We hope that does not happen again. Your feedback helps us to improve our services and quality standards.

We see that you like our hotel in general, avoiding this problem. And it would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back and have the opportunity to meet your expectations.

Best Regards,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München, Duitsland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Very hard to find, and confusing because on the outside it says "Bambi". The room was small and it was incredibly noisy so we had to sleep with the windows closed. As there was no airconditioning, this wasn't very comfortable. Also, there was no place to sit except for 2 wooden dining chairs.
On the plus side, the room was cleaned every day and the kitchen was big enough for our needs. It is very close to the beach and all the stores. The pool is nice to cool off after a long day outside in the sun.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iKirs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for this review about your stay in our hotel. You will help our future travellers, and us to improve our service. It is very important for us to know your opinion. In this way, we can offer a better service day a day.

We are located in the center of Puerto de la Cruz. That's why, sometimes you can hear noise from the street and so on, but normally is a quiet area.

In the entrance, there is a sign on the wall, indicating the direction of Hotel Astoria. Maybe you did not see it.

It will be a pleasure to welcoming you in the future and get the oportunity to reach your expectatives.

Best Regards,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel, a little tricky to find with the one way system, however well worth finding, the staff are charming, our room was large with a fully equipped kitchenette, two large beds and a good size bathroom. Hotel was very clean. Swimming pool area ok. Over all excellent value for money and strongly recommend staying

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rewecourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review about your recent stay at our hotel.

We are glad to know that you have spent a good holidays with us. We work very hard for giving you the best possible service.

It would be great to welcome you back in the future. Do not hesitate to contact us if you want to visit us.

Best Regards from all of us,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Good hotel with big rooms, helpful stuff but no wifi in the rooms and anyway it should be paid in addition. The hotel is well situated - close to playa Martinez (2nd beeach in Puerto, 5 min) and many resorants.

Room Tip: we stayed in 211 - nice big room if you do not want smt special
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aedesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay at our Hotel.

We would like to welcome you back in the future. Do not hesitate to contact us if you need it.

Best Regards,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Stayed two nights in September 2012. I should have read other reviewers in greater detail as I may have booked elsewhere. It ended up being a nice hotel and I have no complaints, but there were minor inconveniences.

The location is perfect, the room was large and mostly comfortable. The reception staff are great, but I find it a bit inconvenient to ask for the key each time I wish to enter my room, as I went in and out a lot depending on the activity.

I made the same mistake as others of trying to find street parking for 20 minutes before learning of the underground garage. I had reserved the parking in advance, so it wasn't a problem once that was sorted out.

I prefer sleeping in a much cooler temperature, so with no air conditioning, the fan and open window were inadequate for me personally.

Internet access is only in the lobby, so not only was it warm to sit there for any length of time, it was not private so Skype was out of the question for me.

Overall it was a nice hotel and enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clingermanml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about your recent stay at our Hotel. Your opinion is very important for us, because we can improve our service. Our purpose is to make you feel as if you were at home.

We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We have taken note about these things that we should improve.

It would be a pleasure to welcoming you in the future. If you are planning to come back to Puerto de la Cruz, do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2012

The hotel has a great location from the beach in the nice area of Tenerife for the good price. Also hotel has a freindly staff and clean rooms. However, there is no view to the ocean from the balcony. As well hotel missing air conditioner, that makes it very hot to stay in!! Now there are some road works going on, so it is very noisy in the morning..

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jekaterina_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear Jekaterina,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about your recent stay in our hotel.

We are happy to know that you like our hotel, althoug we feel a little bit frustrated because we have not met completely your expectatives.

We do not offer views, even you cannot book a room with views, because we have a very good location in the city center of Puerto de La Cruz, and we are surrounded by buldings.

The council of Puerto de La Cruz, who is fixing a street in the back of our hotel, will finish in the next days. We apologize, if they have caused problems with noise. They start at 10 in the morning for not disturb the guest in the sourroundings.

There is a ceiling fan in the room, and the big windows that you can open in case the temperature would be high.

In case you want to come back to Puerto de La Cruz, it would be a pleasure for us to welcoming you.

Best Regards,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.0 mi away
Apartamentos RF Bambi
Apartamentos RF Bambi
#35 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sun Holidays
Hotel Sun Holidays
#18 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monopol
Hotel Monopol
#25 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#16 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Alta
Apartamentos Alta
#31 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#33 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RF Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RF Astoria

Property: Hotel RF Astoria
Address: Calle Enrique Talg 15, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RF Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel RF Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Astoria Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Hotel RF Astoria Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing