We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Perla Tenerife
Nearby Hotels
4Dreams Hotel(Puerto de la Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$42
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
H10 Tenerife Playa(Puerto de la Cruz)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Best Semiramis(Puerto de la Cruz)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sol Costa Atlantis(Puerto de la Cruz)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Apartamentos Casablanca(Puerto de la Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Catalonia Las Vegas(Puerto de la Cruz)
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Sun Holidays(Puerto de la Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$48
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Be Live Adults Only Tenerife(Puerto de la Cruz)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (539)
Filter reviews
539 results
Traveller rating
88
180
151
51
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
180
151
51
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree buswine by the bottleresidential areasun terraceup hillfab holidayloro parqueall inclusive dealthree starquiet holidayall inclusive hotelplenty of choicemin walkhotel is situatedinclusive barhired a carmobility problems
Filter
Updating list...
307 - 312 of 539 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2011

The hotel itself was to a reasonable standard, its staff were friendly and helped for an enjoyable stay. The food was good and the menu was varied.
The room was small and not to the standard portrayed in the pictures on their website. The bed was very uncomfortable and would recommend going all inclusive to allow you enough drinks to overcome this issue.
If you are hoping for a peaceful break this is probably not the hotel for you as it has very thin walls and very noisy cleaners.
This hotel would benefit some money being spent upgrading the facilities in the rooms to bring it back to the 3 stars it advertises.

To no fault of the hotel Northern Tenerife does suffer with a lot of cloudy days even when the South is basking in Sunshine.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rufus1724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Hotel was fine, a few faults (no a/c in the bedrooms) but on the whole the staff were very attentive. The only thing reason they did not get 5 stars is the attitude of the bar staff.....One barman in particular (a big, no neck ugly bugger) who should be no where near people trying to enjoy themselves. He seem to think the all inclusive bar was coming out of his pocket...would only serve you when he was ready and very rude when he did.......We would never go back until he's gone!! What a shame

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a washing M/C....handy if your there for 2 weeks
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank everreadyCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My friend and I stayed there for a week at the beginning of July to relax after finishing our degrees! And relax we did!

The rooms are basic...but you don't spend time in them anyway! My friend said her bed was a bit hard, mine was fine but I can sleep anywhere!

Food was good - huge salad selection, and ALWAYS fish on (I don't like fish so some nights it was a bit boring because there would often only be one meat option). And deserts are the standard "non- English" deserts that we always moan about abroad!

The area we were really disappointed with. There is not much to do unless you have the cash !!!!! It is a cheap hotel and holiday but when you get there to actually do things it will mount up. Other holidays I have been on you can just walk places and there is so much to see (for free or very cheap) but not here!!!

Also, it is very hilly - so be warned if you cannot walk very well etc

We did go on a trip up to the volcano though and we LOVED it! Breathtaking views! 100% recommend it!!

There is a bus you can get to the South but we got there and headed back after a few hours because it is like Blackpool in the sun!!! Ten mins down the strip and there was an O'Niell's and a Hooters!!!!! And the bus to get there was 15 euros each return so not really worth it - just for the baking hot sun!

IT IS VERY CLOUDY IN THE NORTH!!!!!!! out of the seven days we were there we had roughly half sunny days and half cloudy days (1 sunny day being in the South, and one sunny day being on the trip)!!!! BUT BE WARNED - YOU WILL STILL CATCH THE SUN THROUGH THE CLOUDS!!! ( I burnt quite badly from thinking I didn't need much sun cream in the cloud and after 45 mins the back of my legs were very red - oops! )

Now onto the hotel staff - there is one in particular - KEEP YOUR DAUGHTERS LOCKED UP! He would always make comments to my friend about us swimming or going in the Jacuzzi! And on our second to last day when my friend went to get a drink, he pulled out a bottle of champagne, and said "For you, the three of us, later when I finish my shift, meet me, what room are you in?" - needless to say we told him the wrong room no. and barricaded ourselves in our room ten minutes before his shift finished!! :)

If you go out on a night out, don't worry when you come back to see the gate over the bridge locked - just press a tonne of buttons 'til reception answers like we did haha!

Oh and do NOT fly there with Monarch as we had the worst trip home! Spent the night sleeping in the airport! There is no Monarch rep in Tenerife it is dealt with by Iberia who are just awful. We need another holiday now to relax after that ordeal!

I hope this covers everything but if not then feel free to message me to ask me specific questions :)

Room Tip: Just don't go on floor 1 - the pool are bar are on floor 5 and 6
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amylou337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We've just got back from a week's stay at Perla, and don't really have a bad word to say about the hotel. The decor is a bit dated, and there are a few odd bits (like the reception is on the 5th floor, and the pool on the roof terrace) but the hotel is clean, the food is great and the staff are helpful. The only bad thing was the other guests - on our last night we were kept awake by people shouting from balcony to balcony at 1am, but this isn't the hotel's fault.

The food is a buffet service, and there was plenty to choose from. As someone with a wheat intolerance I usually struggle abroad, but there was plenty of salad (always fresh), two or three meat dishes, sides e.g. canarian potatoes (scrummy!) and a fish dish. There was plenty of choice for pudding as well, with fruit, yoghurt, mousse, some creme brulee style dessert etc. At breakfast they have a buffet with cereal, your usual fry up bits and pieces, fruit, yoghurts etc. If you're all inclusive you get a bottle of wine or other drink each with your lunch and dinner. The drinks are great and the choice isn't too limited, but beware of the measures - you get a double or triple measure every time, so you're merry in no time!

The entertainment on a night was pretty poor (apart from the Friday and Sunday we were there, as there wasn't any!). It's usually a disco or a bloke on some keyboards which was the weirdest thing I've seen in a while, and the bar closes at 11pm on the dot with everyone having to leave the bar at midnight. I was quite glad of this, as our room was 602 and only two doors down from the bar and you get the usual people who can't be bothered to control their children and let them run riot.

The rooms are clean (ours was cleaned every day with fresh towels every other day) and adequate for what you need. We had a balcony that looked out onto a back street, which was nice quiet (apart from the other guests!).

The pool is small and there is a small jacuzzi style pool as well. The sunbeds are up some stairs on a roof terrace, so if you go in the pool you can't see your sunbed which is a bit of a shame.

The staff are polite and helpful, especially one of the guys on reception who helped us plan a trip to Playa de las Teresitas (which is well worth a visit).

The hotel is situated a 10-15 minute walk up the hill from the main centre of Puerto de la Cruz, but there's a free bus which goes every 20-30 minutes down to the centre for those who don't fancy a walk. There's a mini market on the way down to the town which opens at 8am - great for getting your morning paper. Puerto de la Cruz seems to have a fair few bars and restaurants but they're scattered all over the town. It's not a very touristy place (apart from down by the Lago Martianez, where there are street peddlers trying to sell "genuine" Rolexes etc) but it's nice and relaxed. The beach isn't great - its black and looks very bleak, so go to the Lago if you fancy a swim in the sea.

We went to Las Teresitas beach which is near the capital of the island, Santa Cruz, and is the best beach on the island. It was an hour roughly by bus from the hotel but well worth it, and the bus service is brilliant.

A word about the weather - it's not great. I had more of a tan when I set off, as I'd had a very light spray tan! It was cloudy every day apart from one day, and rained on the second day we were there. Apparently it's due to the proximity of the sea and volcano, and the cloud just hangs about and doesn't burn away. It was still warmish (24-26 degrees) but not great! If you want the weather, go to the south of the island. If you're not bothered, I'd recommend this hotel. Great value for money.

Room Tip: Go to Playa de las Teresitas for a day trip - it's gorgeous
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank joromunki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Rooms- cleaned daily and immaculate, non smoking and altho i am a smoker i prefer a room not to smell, good size with a fridge and safe(deposit req) views not great but not an issue
Staff- absolutely amazing, very willing and friendly
Pool- small and deep loungers on the roof upstairs ideal for the sun(when it comes) be careful of the metal stairs as they are very slippery when wet
Food- again amazing, well cooked and different daily
Entertainment- this is where the hotel is a letdown...Pedro on his keyboard!!! and a disco, which to be fair if you dance(like we did) it can be a giggle no other entertainment and bar closes at 12.00 dead on so its either bed or town as there is nowhere else to sit.
Best advice to give is hire a car and do some sight seeing as it can be cloudy(altho you still tan) and a bit rainy as its in the north.
Met some fantastic people from all different places and if you put yourself out and talk to people you can make your own entertainment. All in all an excellent holiday

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank jfaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews