We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel but weather let it down !!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Perla Tenerife
Ranked #46 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Four adults went to this hotel , my partner and I and my son and his girlfriend.We had to request a room change because we were given a room in the basement which was clean but had a wall for the view. The reception were very understanding to move us all when I advised them that it felt damp and it was making my asthma bad.Once moved the room was very clean and we had a fab view with balcony towards Mount Teide.The food was fresh but not particularly varied but we all had plenty to eat during our stay as all inclusive.The pool was small but perfectly good enough for us but it was very deep no real shallow end !I would recommend the hotel but if you are a sun worshipper then think again!!!!!! as the clouds linger on the top of the mountain all day. We recommend Loro Parque it was brill .

Room Tip: ake sure your room is not on the basement level unless it is overlooking the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julieshute270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

just had a lovely two weeks at perla. we were all inclusive,and the meals we had were very good for the price we paid .Our room was at the front of the hotel and we had a lovey view of the sea it did look much closer than it was. the staff were very good our room was cleaned every day by the same lady she was lovely Had plenty to eat and plenty to drink . the pool is smaller than expected and deep but still very nice when the sun gets too hot.only problem it is on a hill and takes about 15 minutes to walk down into town but much longer to walk back up better to use the free bus or get a taxi All in all a very good holiday and very good value for money

Room Tip: 6th floor front of hotel its on the roadside but gets the sun in afternoon and a lovely view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyous60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Me and my boyfriend (both of us early 20's) had a lovely time at this hotel. We paid very little for it and it was just what we paid for. The rooms were basic but clean, the food was limited but you could eat something everynight and the majority of the staff couldn't do enough to help you. The hotel is located about 1km from the sea front and the beach, it takes about 20mins for a leisurely walk down, there is also a free shuttle bus and a taxi is 3.50. The evening entertainment is non existent but there are so many nice bars on the front that we didn't find it an issue.

The main down side of this hotel was the bar staff, playing cards was forbidden and they enforced this rule. They were often rude, stopped serving before 11pm and wouldnt let you have a soft drink or water before 11am.

Overall this is a good value hotel, you get what you pay for and the North of Tenerife is very beautiful and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: The bottom floor can be quite noisy with people leaving and entering the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We had a good stay at this hotel nice room very clean plenty of food and drink.The bus to the center was a god send as taxis varied from 2--5 euros one way,the walk down was OK but unless you are fit don't walk back !!!.We would go back to this hotel but looking at the other reviews I koow what side/room to stay in.

Room Tip: rooms away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jandkthewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Just arrived back from Tenerife, hotel perla was very clean the rooms are quite basic, very friendly staff, food was always fresh and we always found something we liked to eat. Overall great value for money!! Drinks were really good too !! With very good measures if u had spirits! all in all great hotel !! Hotel was approx 20 mins walk from main centre/sea front beautiful area very pretty but very hilly !! Lots of resturants/shops/cafes - would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buttercup556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We arrived at the hotel just before Midnight, and was dropped at the rear of the hotel by which can only be descrived as Big Brothers gate! We pressed all the buttons on the intercom as there were no instructions and was eventually greeted by a voice, who buzzed us in. We entered the hotel to be confronted by a long corridor with no sign of the reception - we had to ask a couple who were coming along the corridor where we should go. Eventually we found the reception on the 5th floor and checked in, the guy at reception was very helpful although his English was basic. He showed us to the restaurant where they had provided us with a simple cold meat salad, bread roll and jug of water. After this we found our room on the 4th floor overlooking the Dry River bed that you hear so much about. At around 2am were woken by what sounded like a farm - this was to be a staple part of the night time entertainment. From around 1am to 7am every night there was a chorus of Chickens and Cockrels chattering away - my Fiancee who is a very light sleeper found this to be distruptive. The bedS (yes you read that right, we had 2 single beds, not a double as we thought we had booked!) were basic - not much more than a fold out bed with a slatted bottom that you would provide a child . These slid around on the floor as you turn over during your sleep - anyone hoping for a romantic entaglement should be ready for more entertainment than they bargain for! The room was fairly small, but adequate for sleeping in but lacked Air conditioning - although we had a fan which was situated over the door - it kept my feet cool at least. The balcony overlooked the Chicken Hill but was better than the view on the other side of a street. The restaurant and kitchen were directly above our room so from around 5am we were greeted by the sound of trolley/carts being pushed over the tiled floors. We only got our sheets changed once in the week we were there, whereas we heard other people had theirs changed daily. Some rooms had washing machines and kettles, ours had neither. The food is basic, but quite enjoyable - I recommend the Wrinkly Potatoes and Mojos. There is always a baked fish dish and a meat in sauce dish - generally veal, pork or rabbit. If the food is too basic the surrounding area has plenty of cheap but well prepared food to buy. We were 'All Inclusive Lite' which turned out to be unnamed brands of spirits. The day time bar staff were helpful, polite and chatty, yet at night there was one particular guy on the bar who was grumpy, and I only saw him smile once in a week - usually he frowned or barked words in Spanish. Saying this if you were Spanish or female in a bikini you were fine. The bar stated that you had to wear footwear, a tshirt and be dry when you entered the bar - which yet again if you were Spanish, or female in a bikini this was forgotten. There were seats in the bar, but no stools as shown in the pictures. We ventured out most days and enjoyed the walk to the beach - which took about 15 minutes or so, but much longer back as this was uphill. There is a free bus which runs hourly and drops you 5 minutes from the beach. The bus has air conditioning but it still gets VERY hot and sweaty. The pool was basic, and adequate for the hotel - and situated on the roof - floor 6. There was a 7th "floor" which was a higher roof and this is where the sun loungers are - they are not by the pool as shown in the pictures. Overall I was satisfied with the hotel, but would not recommend it as there were other hotels in the area that appeared to be better equipped, and in a slightly better location. There is nothing for children/teens to do, and several turned to throwing the pool balls/cues into the pool while bored. I recommend going into Puerto de la Cruz, and exploring all the little side roads as you will find some lovely shops and great food. Loro Parque was fun, but their "goal" was rammed down your throats at everytime - they kept stating how they were doing this and that for the environment and kept asking for donations - it felt like a time share sales pitch at times, although the shows were fantastic and the animals were well looked after. If you want to eat out I would recommend La Bodega - we ate there twice and enjoyed it both times. The Paella there is great value and delicious!

Room Tip: Away from the dry river bed - not room 430!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daneshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We arrived at the hotel just before midnight and checked in. We had 4 rooms on the 1st floor. They were clean, but the terraces had a view of a wall. We went to the bar to get water for the night at 11.58pm and were greeted by the bar man mentioned in the other reviews- he served us but begrudgingly. By this stage we weren't feeling very positive about our hotel!!! However, the next day we asked to change rooms and the receptionist was superb. He changed us to rooms on the opposite side of the hotel with lovely balconies. The bar staff were fine. Yes, one of them is serious, but will chat if you're friendly with him. The rooms are basic, but clean, and the housekeeping staff were great. The food was good- plenty of choice, and wine with each meal. The restaurant staff were polite and attentive. The pool area looks onto mount tiede which was fabulous. The pool area is basic, but there are plenty of loungers and the bar is handy.
There is some entertainment, which varies in quality. The resort is pretty cheap for eating out, and the regular shuttle bus is great.
We had a good holiday. We expected basic when we booked, and that's what we got, but have no complaints at all.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on floors 4,5 or 6. Preferably on the bridge side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deb_jay2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
0.6 mi away
Blue Sea Interpalace
Blue Sea Interpalace
#69 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,156 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Sea Puerto Resort
Blue Sea Puerto Resort
#68 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
871 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Marte
Hotel Marte
#42 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Diamante Suites
Hotel Diamante Suites
#18 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
598 reviews
28.5 mi away
Hotel Palia Don Pedro
Hotel Palia Don Pedro
#1 of 5 in Costa del Silencio
1,269 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
#24 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Perla Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perla Tenerife

Address: Calle Isla de La Gomera 3 | Urbanización Guacimara, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: £41 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Perla Tenerife 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Perla Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perla Tenerife Hotel
Hotel Perla Tenerife Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing