We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK but if anything goes wrong its awful!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Perla Tenerife
Ranked #43 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“OK but if anything goes wrong its awful!!!!!”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Rooms big and clean but there is NO air con just a ceiling fan that moves the warm air around! Very ltd food just your breakfast,lunch and tea, pastries from breakfast is then availble from 4pm. Your not allowed in the bar area next to the pool in wet/damp swimming clothes and you have to wear foot wear all the time. Our veiw was lovely over the valley but with several cockrals crowing even before dawn puts a downer on the view lol. Food again was OK very same/same and had some very upset tummys on most days?!! Had a french couple who argued very very loudly most nights and even went round offering "cake" but even after complaints by most gusets they were still there!!!! We were booked in until the end of the 24th ( our coach picked us up at 11PM) but they asked us to leave our rooms by 12noon which is fair enough but they would not give us food or drink after 12noon!!! very disappointed with thw customer service which was a shrug of the shoulders. The bus service is great but the area in total is lacking in the evening/night enetertainment and really has not much to offer. Having this as my first all inclusive I would not ever go all inclusive again but my boyfriend has been on several and all been brill so I may be temped for one more go. People are saying you get what you pay for but this is still below par and was so disappointed. The hotel is in dire need of updating ie sunlougers, umbrellas, chairs, dining area, reception and not everything is all inclustive, just the basic spirits, beer, pop, tea and coffee. Entertainment was crap and was not even on every night and were to far out for anything else but there are some great things to do through thr day like the pools, gardens,lorro park, siam water park ect......

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Husseybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    142
    110
    44
    53
See reviews for
101
224
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Hotel Perla disappointing. Basic hotel clean but now in need of a bit of tender loving care. Food of very poor quality. Meals were either cold or lukewarm. Some days meals from the previous day were on offer again including Paella !! Many of us suffered stomach upsets so be prepared with a supply of Imodium.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Lorna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Stayed here with my boyfriend in August last year, August being a peak month and should be sunny.......no. Puerto De La Cruz is a horrible location if you want sun, don't come to this bit of tenerife, go to the south. The location of the hotel is terrible, it looks like a prison camp from the back. It is really far from everywhere, there is a bus available but it just takes time. We were looking for a beach all day, it was nowhere to be found. We went both sides of the hotel, nothing. We found a dock, that's the only thing you can find, it's terrible, horrible colour of the sea and the actual sea looks dangerous. The rooms, are a decent size. The TV, just spanish channels, except english news (which I might be fussy but were going to another hotel which has ITV, BBC and so fourth) the beds are two singles, pushed together, and if you sleep in the middle you will fall to the ground, we phoned the reception and was told that the rooms with a double bed aren't nice :S the beds are hard and uncomfy. There isn't air con in the room, only a fan, and the fan seems like it's going to fall on you any second. The views are terrible, and the ones at the front of the hotel I feel sorry for as they are in a basement kind of room, and haven't a balcony at all, only a view of a wall. Overall, rooms OK. Room service was OK, a few things tended to go missing????? The manager asked for proof, which we didn't have. The staff are terrible with their english, and aren't very happy looking, if they don't enjoy their job they should get another one. The restaurant was OK, food was OK. Overall, not a good holiday. Company only made it good. Won't be going back.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank IKNOWMYSTUFFDOTCOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto de la Cruz hotels

uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

So long as the sun shines, Puerto de la Cruz is a far better destination than the package tour nightmares on the South coast. The old town retains character and because it's a 'proper' town and not just a resort, it has a good variety of shops, cafes, bars and restaurants. The Atlantic rollers make for very exciting swimming and wave watching. Try a swim at high tide in the small, oldest harbour near the Lido.

Ah yes, the Lido. Cheaper than hiring a sunbed on any beach, it's got excellent swimming, loads of room and top sunbathing places. Stay all day for E3.50. Sold.

The Perla. Built in a residential area it's hard to find, especially arriving by car. It's a good, easy walk downhill into town via the rear access bridge. The walk back is also easy if you're reasonably fit. Otherwise a free bus every hour. Your enjoyment of staying at the Perla will depend largely on the capricious North coast sunshine and on the Perla floor your room's on. The hotel's built on the side of a dry gorge with reception on floor 5 (ground floor from the road at the front). Many people don't like the first 2 floors because of the lack of a view, looking directly out into the gorge. Floors 5 and 6 can be very noisy with the floor 6 bar area having the nightly 'entertainment'. That leaves you to fight over floors 3 & 4.

The hotel grows on you. It's a bit quirky, which I like. The rooms are big and clean, though in need of proper refurbishment (nothing unusual there though). The staff are fine, effecient and cooperative. The food's got a lot of comment elsewhere, but we found it freshly prepared from mainly fresh ingredients, very edible and well above average for this type of hotel and price range. Expectations are everything folks.

And the price. It's about as cheap as you're likey to find on Teneriffe and still get a perfectly acceptable deal.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
35 Thank whbiteside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

My boyfriend and I (in our mid-20's) holidayed here at the start of August 2011 for a week and we had a great time! It was a last-minute holiday and we were on a budget, so the Perla was the perfect choice for us. Don't expect a posh or modern hotel, it is very basic and randomly the reception is up on the 5th floor! But it was clean and going all-inclusive saved us SO much money, we could eat and drink to our hearts content =)
We didn't spend too much time in the hotel, you can get free buses into the town & beach but we couldn't find it, it was only a 20-30 minute walk though and some good exercise! The pool isn't too big but was lovely to go for a dip and there is a pool table next to it too which we spent some time on.

Our room was on the 3rd floor and mainly quiet (other than the last night when there was an angry couple arguing next door, which was quite loud!) The room was clean, unfortunately though there was a television, I think the only English channel was the news. We had two single beds too that we had to push together to make a double. The cleaners start early but as long you put a 'do not disturb' sign outside your door, you will be left in peace.

The hotel entertainment consisted of Pablo the keyboard player (an odd act but we enjoyed it!) or a DJ. All the staff seemed friendly enough (I don't know if it is there culture there, but staff in other places we visited seemed more off-hand than they did at the Perla) and it was nice to have as much wine or cocktails (loved their Pina-Colada!) as we wanted.

I am quite picky when it comes to food, but I was happy with their buffet selection (it is basic - a meat or fish dish, salads, pasta, soup... & always chips! - the puddings could have been better though) & usual english breakfast items in a morning.
Just remember you get what you pay for, its not gourmet but if cheap & cheerful is what you are looking for then this is a great place to go... How much time are you going to spend in the hotel anyway?
Speaking of outings, Loro Parque is HIGHLY reccommended! x

Room Tip: Floor 3 is a good level (sandwiched between/away from the Ground Floor and the higher level Receptio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Ongar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

our holiday was 3 weeks 13th Dec/3rd Jan.in that time we had dinner 4 times,my advise is take extra cash for meals out.The rooms were very clean the cable TV consisted of only one English channel.When we arrived we were given a room on the 1st Floor,there are 6 floors the reception is on the ground floor and that is the 5th floor, so as we did not want to face the wall which was 8ft away we asked to change rooms and were given one for 2 days facing the garden on the 1st floor, then we moved to the 6th floor that was fine until the entertainment (if you can call it entertainment) started at 9 O'clock on the 6th floor in the bar.We rented a car for the whole of the holiday,but if you wanted to walk out for a drink in the evening forget it, you are to far from the bars and life without a car.Most people took taxi's,more expense.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back of the hotel facing the garden Floors 1/5 only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dorothy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

My husband and I spent our Xmas week at the Perla, arriving on 24th December and leaving on 31st. We were dropped off at the back entrance as the front road is too narrow for coaches, etc. We were a bit confused at first because the back entrance is actually the ground floor corridor and we had to take the lift up to the 5th floor where the Reception is. The Reception is a bit shabby and very busy (mostly with people waiting to complain). The Receptionist seemed like a very cheerful guy and very helpful - that is until I complained about something, then he became rude and arrogant. We didn't get a mini-bar as listed in our hotel details but we did have a small fridge which was useful for water, juice, etc. The food was terrible and we ended up going out for meals every day so it's a bit of a waste of money paying for all inclusive there. Having said that, some people actually liked the food and told us that they returned to this hotel year after year. We have had some really good all inclusive holidays and this is by far the worse one - never again. Apart from all the above, the hotel and rooms were very clean and most of the staff were friendly, although some of them are badly in need of a lesson in customer service.

Room Tip: None of the rooms have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VivGleghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
0.6 mi away
Interpalace by Blue Sea
Interpalace by Blue Sea
#68 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
24.1 mi away
Blue Sea Callao Garden
Blue Sea Callao Garden
#4 of 4 in Callao Salvaje
3.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
28.5 mi away
Hotel Palia Don Pedro
Hotel Palia Don Pedro
#1 of 5 in Costa del Silencio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
#20 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
28.4 mi away
Alborada Beach Club
Alborada Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Las Galletas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#17 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Perla Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perla Tenerife

Property: Hotel Perla Tenerife
Address: Calle Isla de La Gomera 3 | Urbanización Guacimara, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Perla Tenerife 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Onthebeach, TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Perla Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perla Tenerife Hotel
Hotel Perla Tenerife Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing