We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Lucky it was Shut”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Perla Tenerife
Ranked #44 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Spain
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“So Lucky it was Shut”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We booked into this hotel from Aug 24th to the 30th and we got a call from our agent to say that unfortunately the dates that we had booked were no longer available and the hotel was shut.
We usually go four star with a gym and all inclusive but we thought we would go cheap and if it was no good we would eat out, and walk a lot as we read reviews which said it was on a hill.
We were told they could move us to another hotel which was a four star near to the beach with no extra cost we looked at the hotel and thought this looks a lot better and would have been nearly double the price so we took them up on their offer.
The hotel was The Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa if you want to read my review later.
When we were on holiday we kept thinking about what the other hotel was like and why was it closed, so we walked 5kms one day to find it with our sat nav on the mobile lol.
It took us ages to find but eventually we got there, hot and sweaty, we were so thankful it was closed, it was in the middle of a residential area with hardly anything around but big hills as you will see from my pictures attached.
The hotel itself was on a slop and looked very dilapidated to say the least.
The reviews we read that said you can walk up and down the hill to the bottom in 10 mins must have been running very fast as we walked down to the bottom in 25 mins and we go to the gym almost everyday.
This was a lucky escape for us we will stay with 4 star in future and not op for cheaper.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MandySpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    149
    119
    46
    58
See reviews for
104
242
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heckmondwike, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

great little hotel, me and my girlfriend met some great people there, the bar man was a un happy bloke, the staff were excellent, the food was great, only prob really was the noise, if not the bloody cockrell, the people leaving for home in the early hours of the morning shouting and dragging there wheely bags over the tiled floor, you can imagine,ok its a bit of a walk to the beach, but I like walking , you get to see other places you might miss. I would go again... it was November 2011 when we went

Room Tip: if you get the ground floor, its the exit for the coach, very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chloejakemolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

we just recently back from staying in perla , was a lovely hotel clean and friendly . my only fault is the food it were hit and miss but plenlty full . there are a few cockrels around as others have stated but they not that loud . the hotel is not good for familes with small children as there no animation tea or facilities for them . you get clean towels and bedding everyday rooms are dated but very clean all in all we enjoyed our stay and would go back if wanting a quiet holiday again .

Room Tip: the rooms have no air con so for a cooler room the front is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tracey185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Got a shock when dropped off at the back and directed to Reception on the 5th floor arriving at the 5th We were on street level because hotel is built into the cliffside, food superb staff friendly, rooms large and airy, its quite a way up the hill but 4 euros in a taxi cures that prob. Town itself is lovely with lots to do if it takes your fancy

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front to avoid noise from the cockerels in the a.m.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leedscarnegie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Bad is tuff and sunbads are old not comfortable. Pool is very small and bit far from centre, high hill to walk back to hotel. Bartender xavier is the best and funny. Plenty 60ts 70ts songs playing in the bar,and 90/ costumers very old. Overall if you like natural life plenty chickens, goats, birds and lizards around the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cengizdawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Hotel is average, generally clean but a bit dated.
Rooms are adequate but again need a face lift, very small TV in room and bathrooms look tired
Beds are not great, mattress need replacing
Food in restaurant very bland and poor quality, not much variety, but plenty of it
Pool area pleasant enough,
Overall for approx £25 pppn quite good value
I would give the Perle Tenerife overall 7/10

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peruUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nuneaton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

we booked this holiday all inclusive at short notice. overall it was value for money. the food was average, most of the staff were very good for service. there is one guy on reception who was just an ignorant pig. the hotel is on a hill, if you cant walk far or have a problem with walking this is not for you. tenerife is full of hills and slopes

Room Tip: higher rooms have a view. the lower rooms have no view . try to get a room on fifth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
0.6 mi away
Blue Sea Interpalace
Blue Sea Interpalace
#69 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,085 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#16 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
986 reviews
28.5 mi away
Hotel Palia Don Pedro
Hotel Palia Don Pedro
#1 of 5 in Costa del Silencio
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Diamante Suites
Hotel Diamante Suites
#24 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
538 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartments Pez Azul
Apartments Pez Azul
#59 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol
Casa del Sol
#57 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Perla Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perla Tenerife

Property: Hotel Perla Tenerife
Address: Calle Isla de La Gomera 3 | Urbanización Guacimara, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Perla Tenerife 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Perla Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perla Tenerife Hotel
Hotel Perla Tenerife Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing