We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suited us, but won't suit everyone”
Review of Globales Acuario

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Globales Acuario
Reviewed 28 November 2013

It's a good, clean budget hotel. We had a small room with a tiny balcony on the 6th floor. It's a fine hotel if you want to be out and about, but not great if you want a hotel based holiday. It's a 15 min walk downhill into the town or beach, and a 25 min walk uphill back again. It's quite a slog back, not suitable for anyone with walking difficulties, unless you get taxis or buses. The 382 stops right at the hotel, but it's hard to figure out where to catch it. Loads of buses stop on the main road below the hotel, but even that still leaves a 5 minute hard slog uphill. We walked in and out of town sometimes twice a day and treated the walk as decent exercise to wear off the overeating at breakfast and dinner.

Breakfasts were what you expect, with cooked English and basic continental cold meats and cheese. Fills you up enough to not need lunch.

Buffet dinners were variable - once or twice really good (the rabbit and fish), but mostly OK and nothing special - there were always really good chips whatever else was on offer. Puddings were disappointing usually, looked mainly like kids food - jelly and icecream, but once or twice a very tasty rice pudding (thankful for small mercies!). All in all, probably a little better than you'd expect at the price paid (£191 for 2 for a week half board in our case)

It's in a residential area away from the tourist areas. Suite us - you see real Spanish life from the balcony, generally people hanging around in groups chatting in the warm evenings. We also saw some sort of religious procession complete with marching band, and a wedding celebration outside the bar below - not the normal things you see on holiday.

The gripes I have are to be expected I suppose. Only tepid water at morning shower time (hot later in the day when no one else wants a shower I suppose), and the freezing swimming pool, which was far too cold to swim in. Annoying, because on a couple of days the weather was very hot, and a dip would have been very welcome. SWo tyhe hotel shoul invest in a couple more thermal solar panels - one to top up the hot water, and one for the pool.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay and the location was an advantage for us. Staff were helpful and friendly, but only the reception staff spoke English - the second language I expect is German, and the guests were mainly German, so guard your toast as it's cooking! On sunny days, although their welcome pack states sun loungers can't be reserved with towels, on the two days we went to sit by the pool, many loungers were empty yet had towels on them, so we made do with chairs.

We stayed here because it's part of the same group as the excellent hotel we stayed at last month. This is at the 'value' end of their group I expect - nothing at all wrong with that, but don't expect many luxuries. It's a very good basic package for the price you pay.

Room Tip: You get excellent views of the mountains from the sixth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank graham c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

I stayed there as the part of my package holiday. On the whole I was satisfied for the price I paid. The biggest drawback of the hotel is the distance from the sea about 20 minutes uphill.

The hotel is clean, the rooms are cleaned every day, staff friendly and extremely helpful to provide (truthful) information, arrange activity or call and book the boat/bus ticket or so on.
The facilities are basic.

The food was not top notch, but some dinners were excellent. Every day there is fish on offer and also very delicious. Breakfast not bad but nothing to write about.

There is free WIFI in special corner but it the signal is not reliable and internet was too slow.

Tip for parking the car it is better to not to park in front of the hotel but use the car park behind the hotel where you can find a lot of free parking places. This is the place where locals meet and you can find good restaurant there and buy mineral water. There are others shops to buy wine, water, fruit minutes in walking distance or Marcado – supermarket minutes away. Unfortunately no fridge in the rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank duhoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This "hotel" is really bad located and with lots of parking problems. Of course if you don't have a car, stay away.

Well, generally, you better stay away. The low price is not even worth it. The staff in general are friendly except a certain Yonatan; you better not cross his way, because in case of problems all he does is puting poker face.

A hotel named Acuario (Aquarius) can not afford to have three aquariums in reception so dirty that it is even difficult to see the fish inside. That gives a clue to the rest:
- The food is pretty bad
- The facilities are outdated
- Lack of support
- The lack of respect for the environment

Our recommendation is to look for any other alternative accommodation on the island. Even a campsite will have better conditions.

Room Tip: Stay away from this facility
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JaiColl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in the 'Acuario' Sept 2013.... IF I hadn't had a car.... 'GULP'

Found the hotel clean & friendly, BUT a 1+ star is the most I could give it..... can see something about the hotel.. in every comment made on here.

Was CLEAN though.... so if your on a budget & have a car (or your as fit as Mo Farrah)... then I would use it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melndjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

So it is cheap hotel so dont expect that everything is in gold.
Hotel is clean everyday, you can pay 6.50 for breakfast and 9 e for dinner
Safe is worth 26 e per week
Rooms are nice but nothing special, there is no kitchen and even kettle if you pay only for room.
Free internet is very slowly so it can make you angry, premium internet is worth 6per day and 20 per week,.
At the back on the street is nice bar with good food

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank neomesjasz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Staff were very helpfull, hotel was basic but clean, food ok, nice and quiet, myself my husband both in 40s with a 6 year old, we enjoyed our stay, was a cheap last minute get away, first time in tenerife but loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kazza41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

I thought nipy70 was over exaggerating, so went with an open mind. My God, what a disaster, where shall i start !!! The poor fish in the reception were frozen in jelly, if there was an RSPCF i would report them for cruelty. WOW !! The room was so small and damp and cold, the fish would have been better off in there instead of the tank. Hot shower? mmm..... had to run the shower for 6 minutes to obtain hottish water, whilst using up half of the Tenerife reservoir supply on a daily basis. 25 Euros for a safety deposit box is over the top as i dont think any one would have entered the room anyway. Breakfast, what a delight.... we got lucky on the 6th day and managed to find a warm breakfast....which was just about edible. Waiting staff, lacked courtesy,and a smile, would have been nice if they cleared the table as well. They have a lift that manages to shake the hotel foundations every time it moved, and the doors banged ensuring a rubbish nights sleep.
Condensation was freely available on the windows in the room, in fact there was more water on them than there was coming out of the tap on our final day. Coffee machine was luke warm hence the creamer was congealed and floated on the top, bit like the fish really.
Warm water was supplied for the tea machine, however had a rather yellow tint to it, same as toilet water.
Two plus points - the large gent on reception was very helpful and the cleaners cleaned the room on a daily basis, if only the rest of the staff could up there game it would help.
Finally, this hotel is worthy of a 1 star rating as two is rather generous and must have been assigned by a family member of the owner. We were situated on the fifth floor and at one point suicide was considered. Please go there at your peril...........

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank shawny1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.9 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#17 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
389 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa del Sol
Casa del Sol
#49 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
149 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marte
Hotel Marte
#42 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Apartments Pez Azul
Apartments Pez Azul
#62 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
371 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Plaza Apartments
Park Plaza Apartments
#67 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
145 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Perla Tenerife
Hotel Perla Tenerife
#46 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Acuario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Acuario

Address: Lugar Parque de Las Flores 35 | Puerto de la Cruz, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: £29 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Globales Acuario 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Globales Acuario Hotel is located in one of the most peaceful spots of Puerto de la Cruz in Tenerife, just 1.5Km from the beach of Playa del Centro and 2km from the famous lake, Lago Martinez. The hotel enjoys impressive views towards Teide and across the sea. The Globales Acuario in Puerto de la Cruz offers great value as it has facilities for a comfortable stay making it the perfect destination for a relaxing holiday with your family. This hotel is the perfect starting point for discovering the most charming areas of the island of Tenerife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Globales Acuario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acuario Hotel
Acuario Tenerife
Globales Acuario Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing