We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro, charming, great location, stunning views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
Ranked #24 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Young couple on a full board and loved every bit of it. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were delicious.. There was always something tasty on the buffet. I especially loved their Croquetas and would reccommend trying them. Wines were decent and went well with food, cocktails at the bar meant strong business.

It was buzzing with guests of all ages and ethnicities. And by the way, the retired were the most fun! Pool table, live music, loads of activities. We didn't try the spa but went swimming in the outdoor pool. Long walks by the sea front are a must...the winter waves were breathtaking.

We had a room on the 6th floor with a sea view, bath tub with jacuzzi jets which were awesome surprise! The room was always cleaned to perfection and even our monkey teddy (bought from The monkey Park: totally reccommend visitting) was loved and cared for =D The furniture was quality walnut, retro looking, comfortable bed, with enough space to do my own yoga and a balcony with chairs and tables, even a clothes line to hang up the wet bits.

Staff was friendly, waiters working round the clock but still had a relaxed and down-to-earth, family atmosphere to them. We had an early breakfast once, and to our surprise, the whole buffet was set up at 6am, just for 3-4 guests!

The following is about the tourist agency, not the hotel: [I wouldn't reccommend the tourist agency located in one of the offices at the front of the hotel. We bought a trip to teide mountain and cable car when the staff knew the cable cars were not running due to strong winds! We ended up waiting for about 4 hours until the agent returned to the office to give us our cable-car money back! It was a tourist trap, couldn't really enjoy the view and insane mars-looking sights as we only had 10 min. here and there and back onto the bus again.. just trapped in a rolling vehicle with 40 tourists and a guide talking (what seemed like forever) in spanish and german, and translating a phrase in english we could barely understand cause it made no sense! And frankly, she didn't say anything remotely interesting, only managed to promote and promote and promote their junk tour offers! It was a recipe for headache and exhaustion. If you want to see Teide mountain properly, make sure you' re getting a decent deal or rent a car.]

Overall, it's a beautiful hotel...
We wish we were there right now! We'd go back in a heartbeat!
Thank you Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view... it's stunning and we could hear the waves roaring at night, it was like sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MonkeyBirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 1,240 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a family of 5 in two rooms during the summer season. Hotel is no where near 4 star more a 1/2 in my opinion. The food was average although long waiting times. Also some could see it as a bonus here, not many English couples/families. Overruled greatly by many loud German & Spanish. We stayed as All Inclusive and drinks provided were very very poor. More weak fruit juices then cocktails and the beer not too good. Staff were very rude almost all of the time and would it seems to me rather be somewhere else then there serving you.

All entertainment was absolutely rubbish. I wouldn't even say there was anything for the kids to do. One woman sorting it every night on her own doing the same routine.

There is an indoor pool however policy states swimming caps only and no kids. More rules!!

In all a very average hotel with dissapointing service. A place I would definitely not recommend.

Stayed: July 2013
2  Thank honest525152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My wife and I stayed for 2 weeks in January. This is an outdated dreadful hotel masquerading as a 4 star. The restaurant queues were massive, the food tasteless, luke warm and overcooked and the soft drinks and juices were watered down squash. The hotel leaked like a sieve when it rained and WiFi seldom worked anywhere, let alone in the bedrooms. Staff were generally unhelpful and the drinks on AI were not always the same as those, of the same name, purchased with cash. Find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 19Emslie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Had food poisoning as had several others In the party of 40 . Beds poor , curtains hanging off , blackout curtain torn / stitched up . Existed on bread , butter and soup after being ill . Two weeks too long and certainly not value for money .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Having just returned from this hotel I have to warn anyone reading this NOT to go there.

The worst aspect was the restaurant in which there were queues for everything, and the food quite awful.

Breakfast was on small cold plastic plates allegedly to stop people taking too much food. There were rarely any saucers. At times the staff were quite offhand.

Lunch was OK but dinner was shocking with poor food and long queues at every stage of the process

One guest had his room burgled and rain came into ours. My wife is still badly bruised by a dangerous lift door.

I could write another 1000 words but will just say AVOID

Room Tip: Don't go in the first place!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Seascape20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My wife and I spent a week in tenerife recently and stayed in the Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa,Puerto De La Cruz.
After a 4 hour plus trip we were subjected to an 1 1/2 hour delay before collection by the vehicle taking us to the hotel which took another 1 1/2 hours.
On arrival we were met by a person at reception who was lacking in basic hospitality and barked out requests for documentation.We were further delayed as this person confused my first name with my surname.This delay was rather embarrassing as people who arrived later were finalised before us.
The Hotel itself is very impressive and the room was fine.
The Restaurant though large tended to have very little space between the tables and the lay out of the tables was very sparse , it would remind one of a very cheap resraurant and not a 4 star hotel.The staff were ok but a senior person there again could do with some training in good manners .
The food though colourful was very basic and one would want to like Pork as it was served 6 nights out of the 7 we were there.
We had an early departure and requested some form of early breakfast but we were told this was not possible.I pointed out that they cater for dinner clients during the time we were leaving so why not breakfast which we were entitled to.Reception asked for some time to check this out and later confirmed that they would supply breakfast.
On the morning of our departure we went to the Restaurant as instructed and no one was there.We waited ,and knocked at the Kitchen door but to no avail.Eventually we went to Reception and the person there did as much as he could get something for us.
The acid test of any place is "will you return"?and in our case the answer is NO..

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Plastic bowls, breakfast on 6" side plates. Understaffed badly managed, kids playing football in the corridors. No managers available after 5pm or during the weekends or over holiday periods.
Don't go there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Legoals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Diamante Suites
Hotel Diamante Suites
#17 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
627 reviews
0.1 mi away
Be Live Adults Only Tenerife
Be Live Adults Only Tenerife
#37 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
2,193 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Best Semiramis
Hotel Best Semiramis
#23 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#19 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,150 reviews
1.1 mi away
H10 Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa
#8 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,791 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Las Aguilas
Hotel Las Aguilas
#9 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa

Address: Calle Antonio Ruiz Alvarez 7, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#17 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: £51 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acclaimed Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz and located almost 100 metres from Playa Jardín, one of the last projects by Canarian artist César Manrique. The Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa offers a wide range of services which cover the needs of all our clients. Our Welcoming facilities, including our Wifi spot, will satisfy all kinds of clients, adults and children, since we have all the necessary qualities to make your stay with us comfortable and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gema Turquesa Playa Hotel
Turquesa Playa Hotel
Gran Turquesa Playa Hotel
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing