We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 weeks of relax in summer”
Review of Hotel Las Aguilas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Las Aguilas
Ranked #8 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“2 weeks of relax in summer”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed in Las Aguillas for 2 weeks in August. It was our 3rd trip to Tenerife. This hotel is situated on a big hill with wonderful view on the ocean & vulcano. Rooms are big like suites, with bedroom, big bathroom & studio living+kitchen. Each room has it's own huge terrasse with a table and chairs. The best rooms & sea-veiw are on the 4rd floor. The breakfast is very noisy, staff is very lazy & slow, a lot of crasy children around you, and the same selection of food every day. But it is not a problem if you have a car, 'cause there are 2 big supermarkets close to the hotel - Al Campo & LIDL.
The location is wonderful if yoyu want to explore whole Tenerife.
Good Beaches are 15-30 min drive - depends which one you choose.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Multik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    400
    155
    47
    31
See reviews for
341
427
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
puerto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We booked this hotel for two nights Christmas eve and Christmas day. When we arrived the reception said he had only one room left but it was a lovely room on the ground with extra big terrace. When we got there it was actually the disabled room, nice but no bath just a disabled
type walkin shower. T.v was old war films. Luckily there was a heater on the wall in the lounge area which heated up the room but the one in the bedroom is only for cold air, so put blankets on the beds.The receptionist had also told us that the bar would shut at 11 to let the staff have their christmas with their families. But on checking the notices the bar was really shutting at 10.00. Entertainment was one game of bingo for prizes at 10.00 Some darts and bouls but
outside during the day. It was too cold to do any swimming in the lovely pool or play any games
so nothing was organized for inside.
We got a taxi and went down to Puerto and found a good bar with entertainment and returned
to the hotel at 1.30 am not a sound could be heard and the only people about were the receptionist and the night porter.
Food was the usual hotel food...no Christmas Fayre....so we had or breakfast and came back
down to the south of the island for some sun and entertainment.
If the hotel staff do not want to work at Christmas and New Year they should change there jobs.I was in the catering trade and had to work all holidays and had my christmas celebrations
on a rota...one year you got off next year you worked...that was the job you were in.
Hotel is in a lovely spot but could do with more indoor activities like turkish baths, sauna, gym
and a new entertainment organiser. If people book a hotel for christmas or any holiday they want entertainment or even back ground music. Not fed and watered to 10 oclock, game of bingo and then sent to bed as bar is closed and staff off to enjoy their Christmas.
No wonder people go to other places like Benidorm where they cater for their clients.

Room Tip: If you want a bath dont get the disabled room. If you want entertainment go elsewhere If you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happybee57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed here for one night using star alliance airmiles, so that we could visit Loro Parque. Rooms were spacious, gardens and pools extensive, views magnificent, food ok, entertainment not to our taste, but somehow it lacked atmoshphere, it was ok though. We had the sea view suite, bathroom floor could have been cleaner but not awful. Beware the whirpool jets in the bath though, thought we would try them and drenched ourselves and the bathroom! Not too hard to find as it is on top of hill next to junction 36 of the autopista, eventually found entrace to calle doctor barajas, it did infact have a sign but did not notice it the first time we passed.

Room Tip: sea view suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DelUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We stayed for two weeks on an all inclusive basis at this hotel in November 2011. The hotel has a spectacular position in Puerto with fantastic views over the town on the sea side and views of Mount Teide on the land side. By day the views over the town, sea and gardens of the hotel are beautiful and by night the views on both sides are enchanting with lights twinkling in the distance. If you want the sun on your balcony / room virtually all day long then go for a land side room (Teide side). We had a sea side room with beautiful views but the sun does not shine on that side for long, at least not in winter. The gardens are immaculate and a great deal of effort is made to keep them in good order. Palm trees of all varieties, geraniums, roses, variegated shrubs all combine to make it a very colourful vista.

You need to enjoy walking if you want to get from the hotel into town because its elevated location is quite challenging and takes about 35 minutes. There is a free bus service provided by the hotel but not always at convenient times. Otherwise a taxi is only €5 each way.

The hotel rooms are well appointed with good quality finish and many with double balconies. All fixtures and fittings in the rooms are of a high standard. A strange omission is that there are no tea and coffee making facilities in any rooms even though there is a small kitchenette with fridge. Somewhat ancient television sets mainly only show German programmes and that reflects the clientele the hotel enjoys. If you like to keep up with the news in the UK, you are going to be disappointed. There is a lack of information on the hotel in rooms and this is mainly confined to two photocopied sheets. This is a pity given what the hotel has to offer.

Hotel staff are friendly and helpful and make an effort to welcome guests.

Food is good and of a high standard with a wide range of dishes on offer from the buffet. There is plenty of freshly cooked fish and meat and a real attempt to vary the menu each day. Desserts are also varied and although we don’t generally eat them, you could not fail to be impressed with the variety. Salads and fresh fruit abound and at breakfast a variety of breads that many top class restaurants would struggle to provide. Cava sparkling wine served sunday breakfast - free.

Entertainment is surprisingly good with a different act on most nights. We saw an excellent flamenco troupe, a Brazilian carnival dance group and a really good vocalist. There was also a magician and a Motown tribute group.

There are three pools at the hotel. A ‘heated’ pool directly outside the rear of the hotel with a waterfall running alongside. I say ‘heated’, because frankly it was really just normal temperature with a slight warming effect. The main pool is about 20m x 10m with a big rock waterfall and loads of sun beds by the side and great views over Puerto. Then you have a children’s pool with play area including seesaw, swing and indoor accommodation for bad weather. A giant chess board and petanque pitch are close by.


Pluses and minuses

On the plus side this hotel has a commanding position over Puerto. The name ‘Las Aguilas’ means Eagle and you certainly get impressive views from both sides of the building.

Food is well prepared, varied and interesting.

The rooms are of a good standard and cleaning and maintenance standards are good.

On the minus side, a lack of room tea and coffee making facilities in a hotel of this calibre is really odd.

The position of the hotel may not be suitable for everyone. You either need to be reasonably fit to negotiate the steep climb or use a taxi or the infrequent hotel bus.

Room Tip: Rooms on Mount Teide side get most sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Julian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2011

very noise at night people moving furniture at all hours
only British in hotel nobody wants to queue up especially
our German freinds

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackflashone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Went on the 28th September for a week with mum and my 3 year old son. We thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and food choice and going all inclusive was excellent. The waiters and staff are all very friendly and spoke English just didn't meet any British people at the hotel think we were the only ones. The childrens mini disco went down well with my son and we're still singing the songs and doing the dance moves now at home. Didn't think that there was enough on for him in the day and the childrens room was closed all the time while we were there. We took a cab down to the Alcampo shopping mall at the bottom of the hill and the bus to the Martinez shopping mall and to the beach. The bus had a timetable so we used this a lot to get around and to see the beach.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sophiann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We booked to visit this hotel back in Feb 2011 and after reading all the reviews were a little nervous to say the least!

However, when we visiting in August we were more than plesantly surprised. The hotel was very clean and the check in process very efficient with receptionists all speaking english.

Our room was huge and although not the most modern, was clean and perfect for all of us (my partner and 3 children). The kids loved the corner jacuzzi bath!!

We found the food delicious! There was always plenty of fresh bread (rolls and loaves you could cut and help yourself), soup and salads, cheese and cold meats. On the hot counter there was a chef cooking a meat and fish dish freshly for you. Lots of fruit and pudding to choose from and even a little kids buffet which ususally had pasta, chips and either chicken nuggets etc!!

The snack bar where you could eat lunch was always stocked up with freshly cooked burgers and other bits and pieces.

We never had any trouble getting more than one drink at a time and were of good quality (we were all inclusive).

The entertainment was good, although more catered for the Spanish. My children enjoyed the mini disco every night and even ventured to the mini club once or twice! The pools we were clean and we never had any trouble getting a sunbed (even though it was August!).

The only negative point to this hotel is the weather (and you can't blame that on the hotel
!). Because the hotel is located on a hill we did find ourselves sat in the clouds some days, though this wasn't a problem for us as we had a hire car and just drove to find some sunshine!!

Loro Parque is a must see - we had a fantastic day there, as is Siam Park!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank poppyff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#10 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
1.3 mi away
H10 Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa
#9 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parque Vacacional Eden
Parque Vacacional Eden
#7 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.5 mi away
diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden
diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden
#28 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Aguilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Aguilas

Property: Hotel Las Aguilas
Address: Calle Doctor Barajas 19, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Las Aguilas 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star hotel Las Aguilas is located at the top of a mountain, surrounded by gardens of 10,000 sqm, with a spectacular view over Puerto de la Cruz and the Orotava Valley. It is just 3 km away from the city centre and from the beaches of Puerto de la Cruz and thanks to its easy accessibility this hotel is the perfect location for your holidays or your business trip. All of the suites dispose of one bedroom, one separate living room, a bathroom with Jacuzzi and a spacious balcony or terrace with wonderful views over the sea or towards the mountain Teide. Furthermore, all suites provide air conditioning, telephone, hairdryer, satellite TV, large beds, rental safe and refrigerator. Refresh yourself in the two swimming pools for adults (one of them heated in winter) and one for children, surrounded by ample gardens and areas with sunbeds. Try the variety of snacks and small dishes a la carte at our Snack Bar next to the pool and relax with the panoramic sea view. In our restaurant Amaltea you may enjoy the buffet with live cooking and theme nights and spend some time on its terrace with the amazing view over the Orotava Valley. The Vulcano Show Bar provides a large variety of drinks and international cocktails as well as an evening programme with shows and live music. During the day we invite you to participate in our activities for adults as well as for children (mini club for children between 4 and 12 years). You may reach the city centre of Puerto de la Cruz several times a day with our free bus service. WiFi is available in all rooms, the use of WiFi in the hotel lobby is free of charge. In 2005, the hotel was completely reformed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Las Aguilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Aguilas Hotel
Las Aguilas Tenerife
Las Aguilas Suites
Hotel Las Aguilas Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing