We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Up in the clouds and a room with a very good view!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Las Aguilas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Las Aguilas
Ranked #8 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Up in the clouds and a room with a very good view!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014


LOCATION -
On approach to the hotel, you'll see it's located on it's very own mini mountain that looks like a camels hump! You'll sweat enough water to feed the whole of Africa after climbing this everytime you go out for a walk down to the town, which is rare due to it being far too hilly.

FOOD - For us staying all inclusive, come day 4, eating in the restaurant was starting to get tedious. Saying this, the food was nice despite the varst amount of salt in the cooked food. The chefs pour it on in front of you while frying meat and fish. For vegetarians watch out. Some of the veggies dishes contain hidden meat. Usually ham! As I discovered. This maybe is a common thing. Also non of the bars served chocolate milk shake. Totally disappointed.

FOR KIDS -
If I had kids, I reckon they would of jumped off the balcony by day 2. Not a great deal to do and the kids play area looked as depressing as an episode of Eastenders, the swings didn't even have swings attached and the play ground was shut (at this time)!

ENTERTAINMENT - The evening entertainment was quite dire to be frank. One night a man playing naff songs on a keyboard and forgetting the words and miming. Reminded me of my first holiday to Spain in the 80's. Everyone in the evening bar looked like they needed to have fun.

THE ROOM - Ours was sea facing. Had an amazing view from the big balcony. The room had a dark lounge area which we never sat in, also with a kitchenette that had empty cupboards! The bathroom had a big Jacuzzi bathtub which was awesome. The bed wasn't the best, but managed to sleep thru some of the next rooms snoring - very thin walls. Could not fault the cleaning. Very clean as you'll smell, what with the over powering cleaning products used around the hotel.


THE HOTEL - The hotel grounds are very well kept and pool area. I would say the hotel is just about a 4 star mind. I have stayed in cheap 4 stars before, which golden-showered over this place! For some reason I thought paying all inclusive would mean NOT having to pay for everything, like the Tennis, the safe, beach towels, drinking water in room etc.

The hotel seemed quite German orientated, what with staff and guests. Not that that was a problem as I like Germans. The German staff were quite friendly, but not enough for you to want to go back for seconds.
There was something about the place, that, when there, I just didn't feel happy or comfortable, even when I knew I was on holiday and didn't have work the next day.
Possibly the decor and everyone's miserable face was the cause OR maybe it was the lack of......SUN......obviously the hotel isn't to blame for this, more the location.
Come 1pm the sun goes and the clouds are in. At this point you feel like you are back in England on a winters day. This happened all 7 days and since being there we heard it to be a common thing up north side of Island.
So banish thoughts of sitting next to the pool all day long.

SUMMARY - All in all we had a good stay. When I get home and my friends ask how my holiday was, I'll be lying in saying that is was brilliant. If you go and don't plan to hire a car, you probably won't see much sun!

I would recommend the hotel to a friend I didn't like. It would be a great place for a base to stop off for a few days up north, but any longer, then you may be wishing you had listened to the advice here.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kennyshinndig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotellasaguilas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Las Aguilas, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your description on Tripadvisor.

We are sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with regard to your stay in our hotel. Our entire staff is always doing the utmost so that our guests feel comfortable and have nice and pleasant days. It is a shame that we were not able to give you the feeling of a relaxing and convenient holiday. However, we do take criticism seriously and will forward your comments to the respective departments. Therefore, we would like to thank you for your honest and frank evaluation which helps us to reflect and improve our services offered.

Kind regards from Puerto de la Cruz,
your hotel las Águilas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    393
    152
    47
    31
See reviews for
334
417
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Absolutely no WOW factor in this hotel.
There is zero atmosphere and the restaurant staff needs serious customer training including the restaurant manager or FOOD and BEVERAGE manger in his suit and tie. Staff should greet the guests first and not vice versa. Only Gerardo makes and effort to greet and offer a good service to the guests. Sunday breakfast was a disaster, lack of staff and no service. No management is ever available. The food quality and presentation is 3 star.
On Saturday night at the Volcano bar there was NO SERVICE. Looks like all the guests had to order themselves at the bar.
No free WIFI in the rooms. No porter service. Shuttle bus was 20min late.outside hotel entrance tables were full of empty glasses for 4hrs!!!!!
Bath towels are old and thin and not replaced daily. For a 4 star hotel rooms should have standard 37" flat screen tv's and not 15" old box ones.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room close to the elevator or to the room maids storeroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Babelaas65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotellasaguilas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Las Aguilas, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor.

We are very sorry to hear that your stay with us was not to your entire satisfaction. At the same time, we have taken note of your evaluation and constructive criticism – our guests’ comments help us to continuously improve our services offered. However, please be assured that we do our utmost so that our guests have a nice and relaxing holiday. Therefore, if there is any query, such as e.g. that the towels were not changed in spite of them lying on the bathroom’s floor, we recommend to let us know at the reception desk immediately so that we may resolve it.

We still hope that you enjoyed your time on Tenerife and send our best regards,
your Hotel las Águilas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel. We found the hotel very professional with friendly staff from maids to reception staff who were always willing to help us . The hotel was very clean and the maid service good.Beautiful surrounding gardens and wonderful views. It was nice to be slightly away from the centre of PDLC but was only a short bus journey away from the town which is provided by the hotel at set times.Taxis will take you into town at any other time for 5 euros.The food on the whole was good .Great breakfasts and good choice of food for evening meals . May be the lunches served at the beach bar could have been better we have stayed at similar hotels that have barbecues and more choices of baguettes and salads at lunch times. The pools were fantastic and the sun beds very comfortable. Our children of 11 and 13 would have liked more entertainment for their ages .They suggested five aside football and water polo type games in the water. On the whole we loved the hotel and will stay again to explore PDLC and Tenerife more hopefully next year.

Room Tip: We had a wonderful apartment with with two bedrooms and bathrooms . Facing the mountain which we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rebecca g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotellasaguilas, Director de Recepción at Hotel Las Aguilas, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time and writing an evaluation regarding your holidays spent in our hotel Las Águilas on Tripadvisor.com.

We are very pleased to hear that your stay has met your expectations – especially in view of our personnel - and that you had a relaxing time.

Your feedback helps us to constantly improve our service. Therefore, we also thank you very much for your comments with respect to the variety of food offered at our snack bar as well as the entertainment for children, which we will forward directly to our chef and entertainment team respectively.

Hope to welcome you back in Puerto de la Cruz soon again!

Kindest regards,
your Hotel las Águilas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Just returned from a weeks stay. Wonderful hotel with fabulous all round views. Glad we had the car as was a bit of a way from the town...shuttle bus available if required. We walked down twice took just on an hour. Lovely walk though, through a nice park you would miss from the road. The staff were very friendly and hard working, everyone from the pools & garden staff to the housekeeping, bar & restaurant staff. All inclusive was good value as food and drink were fine. Entertainment was varied, depending on your taste some good, some not so. Animation kept the children busy, even though we had no need for it they all seem to enjoy the activities. Bedroom was a great size with super bathroom, only problem the sun did not hit our balcony at any time day or night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dipsy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotellasaguilas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Las Aguilas, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
ear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor and are pleased that you are recommending our hotel to other guests.

We are very happy to hear that you had a convenient stay at our hotel and that you enjoyed the facilities and services provided.

As the hotel is situated on the top of the hill, the rooms either face the mountain Teide and the sun, or the sea and therefore unfortunately the sun does not reach the rooms during the winter months. We still hope that you could enjoy the sun when being at the pool, beach or during your excursions

We hope to welcome you back soon in Puerto de la Cruz and are sending our best regards,
your hotel Las Águilas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Same comments as my previous reviews for this hotel. Still excellent sized rooms, good food etc. However having returned a few times now I would have expected them to have sorted a couple of issues out. Firstly the wifi is completely unreliable and very slow when you do manage to connect. This is not great considering we always use the conference facilities at the hotel, and for us to connect laptops to do work is impossible. This is very frustrating. Also, the rooms and their contents are becoming a little dated. Overall, still a great location in Tenerife with spectacular views. Evening entertainment in bar area has an acquired taste, but there are other places to sit upstairs to avoid this. Would still recommend as most people do not need reliable wifi when on holiday, but for us I wish they would sort out the internet service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkE_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotellasaguilas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Las Aguilas, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor with regard to your stay – we are happy that you have once again chosen our hotel for your holidays and that you have had a pleasant time.

As a returning visitor your are directly illustrating any variations or changes in our service and help us to constantly enhance it. All the more we are very sorry that you were not satisfied with the internet connection. Please be assured that we are working on improving the service offered.

We hope to welcome you back soon again in Puerto de la Cruz.

Kind regards,

Your Hotel las Águilas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights as a base for walking. Would recommend booking half board as the dinner buffets were excellent with a large selection that changed nightly, highlights for me were the sword fish and tuna steaks. Hotel is very convenient for motorway and the free parking was great bonus. Room was large and clean. Free WiFi in lounge was great. Pool looked good but weather was too cool to enjoy. Would definitely recommend and hope to return
someday as there is so much walking still to do

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank w00dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotellasaguilas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Las Aguilas, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive evaluation and description on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that you have spent pleasant holidays in our hotel Las Águilas and that, in particular, you were satisfied with our service and dinner buffets – we will be glad to forward your comments to our chef.

Hope to welcome you back in our hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Hotel las Águilas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We were impressed with many features of the hotel. Our room was spacious, clean and had a large balcony. The food and drink were of a good standard and the staff were pleasant and helpful. The location of the hotel and its grounds are very scenic, although being situated on top of a steep hill, means that you have a reasonable trek to touch base with civilisation.

The hotel was occupied predominately by Germans (about 90%), which meant that our daughter(aged 12 years) failed to find a friend, because of the language barrier. Additionally the majority of customers were 60 years +; this may well have been because of the time of year however. the actual holiday was very relaxing and the hotel very pleasant. Two features would have improved the holiday still further; firstly the hotel has no gym and secondly (although clearly no fault of the hotel), the weather was overcast for almost the entire week. We only had one full day of sunshine, so will be tempted to venture further south in Tenerife for return visits,

Room Tip: We selected a room on the ground floor facing the sea (No.10),; we may have paid slightly more for i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Offord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotellasaguilas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Las Aguilas, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive comment on Tripadvisor.com. We are happy that you had a pleasant time in our hotel and will be glad to forward it to our staff.

We would also like to thank your for your suggestion of providing a gym in our hotel and will forward your recommendation to our management.

With regard to the weather, it is true that is currently cooler as it is normally at this time of year. Therefore we would appreciate it all the more if we could welcome you again so that you may enjoy our hotel and our surroundings to the full extent.

Kind regards,

your Hotel las Águilas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#10 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
1.3 mi away
H10 Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa
#9 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parque Vacacional Eden
Parque Vacacional Eden
#6 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.5 mi away
diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden
diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden
#28 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Aguilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Aguilas

Property: Hotel Las Aguilas
Address: Calle Doctor Barajas 19, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Las Aguilas 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star hotel Las Aguilas is located at the top of a mountain, surrounded by gardens of 10,000 sqm, with a spectacular view over Puerto de la Cruz and the Orotava Valley. It is just 3 km away from the city centre and from the beaches of Puerto de la Cruz and thanks to its easy accessibility this hotel is the perfect location for your holidays or your business trip. All of the suites dispose of one bedroom, one separate living room, a bathroom with Jacuzzi and a spacious balcony or terrace with wonderful views over the sea or towards the mountain Teide. Furthermore, all suites provide air conditioning, telephone, hairdryer, satellite TV, large beds, rental safe and refrigerator. Refresh yourself in the two swimming pools for adults (one of them heated in winter) and one for children, surrounded by ample gardens and areas with sunbeds. Try the variety of snacks and small dishes a la carte at our Snack Bar next to the pool and relax with the panoramic sea view. In our restaurant Amaltea you may enjoy the buffet with live cooking and theme nights and spend some time on its terrace with the amazing view over the Orotava Valley. The Vulcano Show Bar provides a large variety of drinks and international cocktails as well as an evening programme with shows and live music. During the day we invite you to participate in our activities for adults as well as for children (mini club for children between 4 and 12 years). You may reach the city centre of Puerto de la Cruz several times a day with our free bus service. WiFi is available in all rooms, the use of WiFi in the hotel lobby is free of charge. In 2005, the hotel was completely reformed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Las Aguilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Aguilas Hotel
Las Aguilas Tenerife
Las Aguilas Suites
Hotel Las Aguilas Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing