We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quiet hotel, only german people, perfect location, surly staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel RF San Borondon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel RF San Borondon
Ranked #35 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Waterford, Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“quiet hotel, only german people, perfect location, surly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

1 week in San Borondon in September. Perfect location and enough good food - only two good things. Staff NO English at all, rude and unhelpful. Tiered looking rooms. Spa and gym - turned out to be a huge disappointment ( no lights in the gym, poor facility). It wasn't very bad hotel, but never come back here.

Room Tip: didn't choose a room with view sea, cause you will see other hotels windows and very far sea cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jelena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion. You help us to understand your point of view and to know the things that we should improve.

We apologize if you do not met your expectatives.

Our purpose is to make you feel us if you where at home, but we do not got it with you. Day a day, we are working hard for improving our service.

We hope you have spent a good holidays. We think so.

If you need to stay in our hotel in the future, do not hesitate to contact us. We will provide you with the best service.

Best Regards,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    110
    56
    16
    11
See reviews for
51
126
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

I arrived at the hotel on the 10 of September. Greeted by a staff memeber with poor level on english. Was not shown to my bedroom neither was I explained about the facilites other then the breakfast and pool. (there is mentioning of a spa and gym) which turned out to be a huge disappointment ( no lights in the gym, poor facility) The room i had been given looked nothing like on the web page and looked rather dated. I went to reception and was offered a different room. Nobody showed me the new room or helped with the luggage.the new room was more pleasant that the old one however i almost got hit by the wardrobe doors which were not fixed properly. Furthermore there was building noise which came from accross the street. Regardless I used the bar faclilty were an older staff memeber "welcomed "me and my partner rudley and seemed rather annoyed in preparing a drink for us. poor language skills, and very rude. When wanting to book a tour with the night receptionist who spoke NO english at all and was not willing to help I gave up on this hotel. the breakfast was ever chaniging and acceptable on one ouf of seven days.
My advise if you book this hotel: if you like a good location, are german and dont want to be surrouned by any other nationaily ,want poor quality of food, tiered looking rooms and RUDE and UNHELPFUL staff then visit this hotel otherwise there is surely better places to go.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oothy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Tim,

Thank you very much for let us know how you have spent your holidays at our Hotel.

We apologize, if we could not met your expectations. We always want to provide our clients with the best service and always want to know if we have not met their expectations. Your feedback helps us to improve our service and quality standards.

There are some different kind of rooms. If you want one of the best available room, you should book exactly this kind of room. If you book a standar one, you know that it do not offer the best equippment of the hotel. Anyway, in the reception desk, we always help our customers for choosing other kind of room if they need it.

We accommodate people from many different nationalities, not only german people. And nobody feel bad if you are not german.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back and get the opportunity to meet your expectations.

Best Regards,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto de la Cruz hotels

Punta del Hidalgo, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

San Borondon is just one of those small scale, good price-quality comparison, family hotels. Recently been the lucky one to have returned for the 10th time, and it was no different then other times....except for the swimming pool being repainted which was great.
Still the same cosy atmosphere, friendly people, great location, 10 mins from the centre walking, 5 mins from Playa Jardin with a lot of parking space there if you rent a car, 5 mins from the bus station. It s not your 5 star fashion hotel from the mass tourism sites, but from my point of view one of the best options in Puerto de la Cruz. Testing hotels regularly, but for me in Puerto everytime I go back i choose the San Borondon, even having tried some others in the area

Room Tip: My only advice is that it is not the room that makes the holiday, if not the experience outside it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidPunta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear David,

Thank you for kind feedback regarding your stay at our Hotel RF San Borondón.

It is a pleasure for us to welcoming you each time that you stay with us.

We always want to provide our customers with the best service and we feel really proud when we receive such kind comments. Thank you for recommending us.

As you already know, Hotel RF San Borondón is your home, and if you need something, do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottignies-Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

this little hotel near from the seafront is located in a very good area of the city. The staff is polite and always take care of the customer.
english, french, dutch, german and spanish fluently spoken in the hotel. I recommend this hotel if you want to spend lovely and quiet holidays

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daddie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a nice report. We really appreciate when our guest let us know about their experience as we can know how we are doing in it. We are glad that you have enjoyed your holidays.With this rewiew you have provide a good tip to future travelers.

We hope you can visit us in the near future, it would be a pleasure to receive you back. If you are planning to come back, do not hesitate to contact us, and we will help you with your reservation.

Thank you for recommending us.

Best Regards,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We loved our stay, the hotel is close to the beach and old town and we found it very quiet and the staff friendly, helpful and very chilled. Our rooms were simple but adequate, upgrading to a pool view room with a balcony would be a good option if you plan to spend much time at the hotel. Everything was clean, the gym was a bonus and it was a treat to swim in the pool surrounded by the low level, balconied rooms and palm trees. This hotel is popular with Germans and the food is definitely slanted to German tastes. The inclusive meals were 0k and reasonable value, but when we go again we'll just do bed and breakfast and eat at one of the many great bars and restaurants close by. This is a very Spanish town with lots of character; it was a great place to be. We did some day trips south (its hotter in the south) and the hotel worked well as a base for exploring different parts of Tenerife. Thanks to all at the San Borodon.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies have the best position, back rooms appear to be more basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louis2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear Louis,

Thank yoy very much for letting us know your recent experience at Hotel San Borondón.
It is a pleasure for us to read such a nice comment like yours. We feel very happy to know that you have spent a good stay.
With your review, you will help future travelers for choosing our hotel as first option for staying in Puerto de la Cruz.

We would like to welcome you again. If you are planning to come back to Puerto de La Cruz, do not hesitate to contact us, and we will help you with your hotel reservation.

Best Regards,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We arrived here on July 16th.we had booked self catering.
We had trouble checking in as nobody seemed to speak English.
Once we had we got taken past smashed glass and dead cockroaches on the way to our self catering room.
No kettle,no fridge,no kitchen....self catering!how?!! We asked at reception for a different room when all of a sudden he forgot how to speak any English ....even the words he used before!
Arrogant,rude,unprofessional staff.
Room was scruffy and old and very outdated.
Pool area very average.pretty much a hotel just for Germans.
Needless to say we left this hotel and went to another.
My advice would be to avoid this place.not a pleasant experience.not that cheap either considering!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miniBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear Guest,

We aopologize for the inconvenience, but I think your comment do not correspond to our Hotel and service.

Our staff have a very good level talking spanish, english, german and french, and they are very helpful with all the guests. If you have some problem, they try to fix it as soon as possible.

If you want a room with a kitchen and fridge for self catering, you should book a room exactly with these things, which is the studio room. If you book other kind of room, obviously, you will not get that.

We receive guests from all the countries in the world and we feel very proud.

If you want to come back in the future to the right kind of room, and let us provide you our best service, do not heistate to contact us.

Best Regards,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrevieja
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

The hotel facilities were as advertised but the standard of the room was not very good. Could do with a little updating. No aircon or fan and bathroom, paintwork etc needing renewed. The beds were terrible and creaked whenever you moved and, therefore, not much comfort or sleep. Our room was next to the roadway and quite noisy during the night until the early hours. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel did send some champagne to our room for our birthdays, which was extremely nice. Sorry! but would not stay at his hotel again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryTorrevieja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for letting us know about your experience in Hotel San Borondón.

We always want to provide our clients with the best service and always want to know if we have not met their expectations. In this case, we couldn't, and we don't feel good for that. Your feedback helps us to improve our services and quality standards.

Even if you have wrote that you wouldn't come back, It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back and have the opportunity to meet your expectations.

Regards from the staff.

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sun Holidays
Hotel Sun Holidays
#17 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#31 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel RF Astoria
Hotel RF Astoria
#29 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monopol
Hotel Monopol
#22 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Don Manolito Hotel
Don Manolito Hotel
#39 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Puerto Playa Hotel
Sol Puerto Playa Hotel
#44 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RF San Borondon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RF San Borondon

Property: Hotel RF San Borondon
Address: Calle Agustin Espinosa 2, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RF San Borondon 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel RF San Borondon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Borondon
Hotel RF San Borondon Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing