We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel RF San Borondon
Ranked #32 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Room was good value for money - not luxurious but clean and functional.
Location was really central, only a short (flat!) walk to the city centre.

Double bed wasn't the comfiest, two large single beds pushed together with quite firm matresses. We got lots of traffic noise in the night, but suspect this was due to location of our room at the end of the garden area (room 25). The patio doors don't fully seal when closed, so this was unavoidable. Fridge and air conditioning would be a nice improvement to the smaller rooms.

Breakfast was nothing special, mostly standard continental. Good selection, particularly nice cakes/biscuits and fresh rolls. Juices weren't very good and the machine dispensed them into tiny glasses. There was lots of congestion in the dining room especially around the juice machine. Didn't try the dinner.

Bar and pool area were really good, we enjoyed spending time there.
Internet access was fairly expensive. Staff were helpful and friendly (for the most part).

Overall it's not very fancy, but it's great value for money on a budget trip.

Room Tip: Room 25 was very noisy at night from the streets; lots of traffic and rubbish collection in the nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GT_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia G, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for share your sincere review with the Tripadvisor users and with us. We will try to improve those little things you pointed so that if you come back again to our Hotel you feel that it has increased its "value for money"

Kind regards,
Silvia G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    113
    60
    16
    11
See reviews for
52
132
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed here for the first 2 weeks in July. Its in a nice quiet location, yet only 5 minutes away from the town centre. I was bed and breakfast, which was fine with plenty to choose from. The hotel is clean and basic. The pool water is changed every so often and is salt water. Beware, after its been changed, the water is freezing and takes a few days to warm up. My only negative point is, the concrete around the pool needs repaired, but that did not spoil things.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hammy_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia G, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about Hotel San Borondón. I'm sure that TripAdvisor users will find it very useful.
¡We hope to take the chance of see you again back in Tenerife!

Kind regards,
Silvia G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The hotel is placed in a quiet but central street close to the Atlantic Sea, Loro Parque and the city center. Our room was clean but oldfashioned. We booked superior with a nice view to the pool (seawater). The pool was cleaned one day and couldn't be used that day :(
But besides that and the broken tiles ok. If i could decide again i wouldnt book breakfast anymore.... It was horrible: we couldn't hardly find something to eat so i had marmelade toast and cereal every morning... We're no gourmets but that was absolutely inacceptable! Strange eggs, strange cheapish ham and cheese - the waiter also was grumpy and we didnt feel welcome in the morning. If we'd ever come back to tenerife then we'd book another Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VreenyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia G, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review at TripAdvisor.
Our guests' opinion is very important to us so we will try to improve our service.

Kind regards,
Silvia G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Hotel San Borondon is a very nice hotel in close to everything. Clean rooms, a salt water pool friedly staff and an OK breakfast. Rooms toward the street can be a little bit noisy in the mornings. I would absolutly take the same hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask fore a room looking at the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n1ev2sandreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia G, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear client,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words following your stayed at Hotel San Borondón. We are so glad that you enjoyed your experience with us.

Kind regards,

Silvia G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My boyfriend and I visited Hotel San Borondon June 2012. The hotel was great. We had cleaners in every day, cleaning the floors, toilet, bath and making the beds. No insects at all. We felt safe here. We went half board for this holiday and we found that we only enjoyed some parts. If we didnt fancy what was on the menu, we could take a 15 minute walk into town where we found a lovely Italian restaurant, which we went to about 3 times during our week stay. It was very hard to find someone to speak english in the area around the hotel. During our week we did not see the sun which was very disappointing we had to make do with site seeing as you couldnt use the pool as it was not heated and was freezing to even attempt it. The north side of fueturventura doesnt see the beautiful weather like the South does as we discovered on the way home when we saw a few people who were on our flight on the way there and also on the way home and they looked so brown. Definately try the south side as the south doesnt have the mountains and clouds like the north does. Overall it was a lovely first holiday for my boyfriend and i.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jemma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariehamn
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This was our second stay at San Borondon. A nice, budget hotel in a very quiet neighbourhood in Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife. The one-room apartment we booked through Solresor, was in the same wing as we stayed last year, but this time, unfortunately, we got room 65.
That room is opposite of the offices where the cleaning-staff have their morning pow-wow and the Canarian-pine doors offer little in the way of sound-proofing. Hence, we were awoken at sevenish each morning, by loud conversation and occasionally the smell of tobacco-smoke. Apart from that, the apartment was nice and clean with a lovely patio, overlooking a garden, that had seen better days.
Since last year, the Hotel has been invaded by stray cats and their meowing (it was that time of year) sometimes kept us awake at night. One morning, a cat had gotten lucky and caught a pidgeon, judging by the feathery remnants by the pool.
Hotel has WiFi, but not free. Last year when we asked it was 50€/week which is overpriced. Try the free WiFi in the Martianez shopping centre or outside McDonalds.

Room Tip: Avoid room 65
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Hi! Very good morning. Thank you so much for visiting us again year after year!

We are very pleased that a general have very good impressions of our hotel and we appreciate your feedback.

We regret not being able to meet in those days stayed, precisely because such objections we have staff available at the front desk 24 hours a day that will be happy to assist you with any requests and recommendations.

In order to improve the quality of service will make a report with the points you have outlined and transmit it to the address.

Thanks for your time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chur
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I had specifically asked for a quiet room. However, I was given a depressing old and dark room right next to the kitchen. I was woken each morning at 5.00 am and could not sleep before 10.30pm because of the noise through walls that had no soundproofing at all.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank churroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Good morning, we are very sorry that he could not rest as you would like.

In general all of our hotel rooms are designed to give maximum comfort and welfare of customers, and try not to make noise about activities with them to ensure that rest.

We thank the comments as they will help us to improve our ways of noise about the rooms and so next time we can offer you a better break.

Thanks for your time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto de la Cruz hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.0 mi away
Don Manolito Hotel
Don Manolito Hotel
#40 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
151 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel RF Astoria
Hotel RF Astoria
#28 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sun Holidays
Hotel Sun Holidays
#19 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#37 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Trovador
Hotel Trovador
#59 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marte
Hotel Marte
#41 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RF San Borondon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RF San Borondon

Property: Hotel RF San Borondon
Address: Calle Agustin Espinosa 2, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RF San Borondon 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel RF San Borondon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Borondon
Hotel RF San Borondon Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing