We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“English Speaking Guest/s - Not Welcome” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Interpalace by Blue Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Interpalace by Blue Sea
Ranked #68 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“English Speaking Guest/s - Not Welcome”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

My wife and I have just returned after a 10 day stay at this hotel.
Ignoring and the less preference attitude towards the English speaking guests started on our arrival at the hotel reception to check in. Though my name was there on the list of arriving guests for the day, the receptinist seemed reluctant to accept my arrival and was asked to wait as he could not find my booking. After half an hour we were allocated our room.
The room cleaning and changing of the towels had to be reminded every alternate day at the recption.
Though I speak, read and write, reasonably fluent English, most of my requests for local guidance/information were either ignored or rejected under the pretext of not understanding my enquiry.
The same miserable looking reception staff jumped to attention with broad smiles and chirpy loud tones to greet and chat to the guests from Germany and Spanish from the main land.
To confirm our return transfer to the airport I made 2 local phone calls lasting not more than 3 minutes each to A2B Transfer's office for which I was charged 11.88 Euros. My repeated requests for clarification/break-up of the charges was ignored by the reception with one and only reply " Bill correct, you pay".
The staff at the bar and the restaurant were better. The food was varied and of a good quality. The other guests from Germany/Spain/France/Britain, etc were friendly as well.
I have been to more than a dozen European countries on a holiday but never experienced such anti English attitude from hotel management.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Patels_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    287
    293
    171
    192
See reviews for
291
492
41
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

I booked this hotel (now called Hotel Blue Sea Interpalace) from the Low Cost Holidays website for a group of 5 guys (aged from 26 to 43) as the hotel is a short distance from the lively resort centre. The hotel itself is indeed located a short taxi ride away from the lively centre. The hotel rooms were average and the pool is average. There is a pool side bar offering all the usual offerings. What we found most disappointing was the average age of the other guests. We (being 26 to 43) were by far the youngest group on this complex. I think the average age of the other guests must have been nearer 75! Being younger than the others we felt a little intimidated as our "antics" of drinking by the pool were frowned upon. Nonetheless we enjoyed ourselves. Food was satisfactory, had better but also have had much worse. I think this would bne a great place for the more mature couple. We found that there were a lot of german couples and very few English and no families.

Room Tip: Don't think it matters if you are roadside or not as situated in a quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Darenday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

My hubby and I have recently returned from Hotasa Interpalace Puerto de la Cruz, Spain
I wouldnt say it was four star, nevertheless it was a really nice place to stay.
The rooms were okay,we stayed in the ones facing the street which was absolutley fine. There was always something there to eat even for the fussy eaters (we were all inclusive). I would like to point out, you fly to the South airport as opposed to the North which is much nearer but I believe this is for internal flights only and a very small airport so the journey is around an hour and a quarter to the hotel. The weather tends to be a bit cooler in the North of the Island, this makes Puerto de la Cruz much greener and is visited by lots of Spanish. The Hotel is mainly Spanish & German but it was great. This resort is NOT for the young or children, the entertainment was not up to much. The beach & town is about 20 minutes walk downhill. Very conservative, peaceful and relaxing.

Room Tip: The front of the Hotel faces the street but such a quiet place this does'nt matter. The back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Having read recent bad reviews prior to going to this hotel - now called Hotel Blue Sea Interpalace and not Hotasa Interpalace - we were regretting having booked to stay the week. However, our room was large, clean and well appointed with a balcony overlooking the sea. The guests were mainly Spanish which gave a good atmosphere. The food was self-service and there was a huge selection for both breakfast and dinner (we didn't have lunch). It was all freshly cooked with plenty of fresh fruit and vegetables and always several choices of fresh fish as well as the meat and vegetarian dishes. Wine was 2 euros for as much as you wanted to drink and perfectly OK. Only downside was the charge of 3 euros a day for the room safe. Ignore the bad reviews and gived it a chance.

Room Tip: We requested quiet room facing sea on higher floor and got it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank wathompsonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

This hotel is very, very tired and dated. The furnishings are very poor and thread-bare - but clean. There are carpets in corridors and in the rooms which have holes in them and sometimes large pieces of carpet put over the top as a rug to hide stains and holes - not impressive at all. The safety deposit boxes do not work in all the rooms - we know we given two different rooms in as many days due to being disappointed. The breakfast was excellent and catered for all tastes in food and beverages. The lunch was good but the dinner was often not so good with little choice. The food was barely warm and brought worries concerning food poisoning - although we weren't ill. The bar at the pool was a joke. It looked like something you would set up at home for a BBQ. We used the sister hotel Bonanza for our drinks. The bar staff were efficient and the receptionists helped the best they could but weren't very effective. I would not use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the road as the sea view is poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto de la Cruz hotels

Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed at the Interpalace Hotel between the 5th and 10th April 2012. We arrived to friendly and helpful reception staff, who spoke excellent English. Our room was bright and airy, however the air conditioning could have been better. The food and restaurant was excellent, with a huge variety of choice for every meal. The area itself is lovely and Loro Parque,which is nearby, is well worth a visit! The pool bar is self service mainly and the cocktails are made in a machine which isnt the best, but apart from that there was no complaints. All in all we had a lovely holiday and would be more than happy to stay at the Interpalace again.

Room Tip: Rooms looking onto the street can be noisy at busy times. Rooms by the pool can also be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tommyinayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Great value holiday for a mixed family group. Friendly clientele - mainly German, Spanish and English. Food was plentiful, fresh and sufficiently varied. Indoor and outdoor pools were quite cold. Children's play areas and minigolf available. Not much information offered from staff about trips, free transport, evening entertainment, daily activities or shared facilities with neighbouring hotels, but available from literature in reception. Loro Parque is worth a visit via shuttle bus and free train service. Volcanic beach, characterful town and shopping centre is within short walking distance or by free shuttle bus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hazel1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
0.0 mi away
Puerto Resort by Blue Sea
Puerto Resort by Blue Sea
#66 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
#21 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
22.4 mi away
Lagos de Cesar by Blue Sea
Lagos de Cesar by Blue Sea
#10 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Diamante Suites
Hotel Diamante Suites
#23 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Perla Tenerife
Hotel Perla Tenerife
#41 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#19 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Interpalace by Blue Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Interpalace by Blue Sea

Property: Interpalace by Blue Sea
Address: Calle Acevino, 21, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Interpalace by Blue Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sea Interpalace is the ideal place to turn your holiday into a truly unforgettable experience. Located near the city centre of Puerto de la Cruz on the island of Tenerife, one of the largest islands of the Canaries with its spectacular beaches, it is the perfect destination for couples and families alike. The quality of the hotel and its beautiful surroundings in a peaceful residential neighbourhood will allow you to relax and enjoy your stay. Tenerife offers a wide range of activities for both nature and culture lovers with the presence of the volcano El Teide and the black sand beaches and with the impressive Carnival de Tenerife celebrations. It is also worth visiting the beautiful city of San Cristobal de La Laguna which was declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO during your stay. All of the rooms within the Blue Sea Interpalace are designed and equipped to make your stay as pleasant as possible. They have a separate bathroom and a terrace or balcony. There is also a mini bar and a safe (surcharge). During your stay, you can enjoy all the amenities of the resort such as the outdoor swimming pool, restaurant and tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo and Onthebeach so you can book your Interpalace by Blue Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotasa Interpalace Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Interpalace By Blue Sea Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing