We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get more than you should expect for the price”
Review of Apartamentos Alta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apartamentos Alta
Ranked #31 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Leeds, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You get more than you should expect for the price”
Reviewed 2 June 2008

First things first - be realistic. You will be paying budget prices for an appartment. My expectations were therefore not overly high but would have been happy with a reasonable appartment and service.
The location is just about as perfect as it is possible in the island - so handy for the main town that everywhere is walking distance. The appartment was not stuck by a noisy disco or bar area, contrary to one or two reviews that I had read previously. A Mall shopping complex was about 300 metres away and very handy for supermarket shopping. There were construction workers in the adjoining building, but that seemed to be the case throughout the island, and no issue on an evening or night.
The appartments were huge, well furnished and cleaned every day. There is a small pool that was adequate for a quick dip, knowing that the town municipal pool complex was about 3 minutes walk away.
Some of the staff had limited command of english, but without exception they tried very hard to be courteous, helpful and friendly. What I found refreshing was the 'nothing is too much trouble' attitude amongst the staff.
I must admit to feeling very smug knowing that people were paying literally twice as much in the adjoining hotel for rooms that were less than half the size, and a balcony about a quarter of the size of those in the appartments.
Could the rooms have been fitted to a higher standard - of course, but I found them to be fit for the purpose as intended - a resting place on an evening and occasionally a refuge from the sun.
In conclusion, exceptional value for money and suitable for all but the most demanding of people.

FV - Leeds, Yorkshire, England

  • Liked — Huge and clean
  • Disliked — Limited TV
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FrankVLeeds_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    78
    56
    14
    9
See reviews for
71
85
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
portsmouth
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2008

Having read the reviews on this site i was worried about staying here but when we arrived we were pleasantly suprised. the apartments are very clean and have recently been refurbished. staff are helpful and although the pool area is small we didnt have a problem with sunbeds and the lido is only a five minute walk. There is a nightclub behind these apts and as we were at the back we did here music occassionally but for the location at the price there has to be something that is less than perfect. I would recomend these apts to anyone wanting a cheap break in the centre of puerto.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise from nightclub
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lulu66Portsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2008

We are a family with two children aged 6 and 9, we chose the apartments as a last minute booking.

The apartments are run down and in our case very badly maintained. We arrived very late due to a delay with the flight. The car park under the building was very tight and difficult to use, only really confident drivers need apply. Our room smelt of urine, but by 1:30 am we were too tired to care. My children couldn't get the bed side light to work in their room as the plug had been removed from the wall I plugged it in and went to switch it on whereby I received an electric shock, I lost my temper, it could have killed my son! My wife calmed me down, there was no point in complaining as the girl on the night desk spoke no English at all.

In the morning we were awoken at about 7am to the sound of angle grinder from a nearby Hotel which was being refurbished.

The following morning I went to complain about the electrics and the smell and the noise, they apologized and offered us another apartment on the other side of the building, which we accepted, This apartment was better, but now we had to put up with a local disco which played loud music until 4 am each night - we bought some earplugs.

There was never enough hot water because each room had a small electrically heated tank which would not even fill the small bath. If you tried to use the electric stove whilst the water heater was on all the electrics in the apartment tripped out.

The shower attachment was broken, aren't they always.

Many of the face plates on the electric sockets were broken and some of the sockets were coming out of the walls, if this hotel were in the UK it would be closed down on health and safety grounds, I even got electric shocks from the case of my macbook.

The fridge was missing the plastic bit that you would put tall bottles in and the surface of the worktop was damaged.

The lock on the patio door was broken it couldn't be locked, probably not a problem on the 5th floor, but just another indication of how run down and shoddy this hotel is.

This apartment was cheap, too cheap perhaps. It was poorly maintained and in need of a lot of refurbishment I would never go there again and I would recommend you stay away.

About the only thing going for this place were the staff, who were very friendly and the pool area which was a real sun trap.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — can't think of anything
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vastream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto de la Cruz hotels

N. Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2007

I booked a 2 bedroom apartment through a travel agent (was just looking for a cheap holiday) and ended up in the Alta Apartments. First impressions were that the place looked a bit tired and worn. The apartment was perfectly clean but the small details let it down - wallpaper coming off the wall of the bathroom, a dodgy shower head which somehow was still fixed to the wall, a plastered over hole where a wall light had once been, etc. I had read previous reviews from this site and was slightly disappointed that it wasn't as good as I thought.
Having said that, the staff were indeed friendly, the apartment was cleaned every day and fresh towels were also provided each day. As we were out most of the time, it didn't worry us too much and to be fair, I may have just got a bad apartment.

One point to note, don't purchase the Satellite TV option as you will receive only one channel, which on the night I got it was showing hardcore porn (in Spanish during the minimal dialogue I heard - or maybe they were just groaning in a foreigh accent?)

The English instructions in the room do not warn you about this so avoid it if you have kids with you (as I did but luckily he was asleep when I discovered it). The pool is small and the table tennis table looked as if it had been in some sort of traffic accident. The adjoining cafe and bar was open now and again (just when they felt like it I assume) but again, you will be eating out a lot of the time anyway.
To sum up, if you aren't too fussy, the apartments are perfectly adequate. There is no air conditioning but the week I went was cloudy so it wasn't an issue.

  • Liked — proximity to Town
  • Disliked — General upkeep of the apartment decor.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bainsyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2007

The apartments that we got were really comfortable, clean and had well equiped kitchens. The location was great, just 100m from the sea and from the shopping/eating area.
Staff were really friendly too!
The only downside to this place was the carpark that was very crammed, altho this was also due to the fact that we were driving a van.
I totally recommend this place to everyone!

  • Liked — the kitchen
  • Disliked — the car park
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank val17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2007

We had a short stay at the Alta in January, the apartments were very spacious, spotlessly clean top quality. Very cheap average of 50 euro one bed apartment per night. Excellent value for money. Very central location close to the harbour beach. Excellent friendly staff. Small Lounge and swimming Pool but youll not spend much time there, Great irish pub directly behind the hotel, good craic!!!!!

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
18 Thank shirleyburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos RF Bambi
Apartamentos RF Bambi
#33 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
201 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apartamentos Teneguia
Apartamentos Teneguia
#43 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
156 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tenerife Ving
Hotel Tenerife Ving
#65 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sun Holidays
Hotel Sun Holidays
#17 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Apartments
Park Plaza Apartments
#61 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
134 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marte
Hotel Marte
#42 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Alta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Alta

Property: Apartamentos Alta
Address: Avenida Aguilar y Quesada s/n, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Alta 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Apartamentos Alta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Alta Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Apartamentos Alta Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing