We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of Apartamentos Alta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apartamentos Alta
Ranked #35 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Me and my partner stayed at the alta apartments recently. We have stayed in similar priced apartments in previous visits but were blown away at the size of the apartment. It was very spacious had a nice large terrace good sized kitchen though basic you could cook a basic meal like pizza or a burger and chips. The large supermarket across the rd provided all the little extras you don't get at a good price. The staff here were very friendly even though there English and my Spanish wasn't so good they made and effort to solve any questions you may have had. Out only bad point was out room on the first night was double booked but we were put up in another hotel with taxis sorted between both venues and on out return we also received complimentary safe for our stay and allowed to check out at 6pm on our departure day which usually incurs a fee. The little extras were way above what I would have expected for the inconvenience of out first night but certainly made up for it. The hotel is very central to the town square and restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jason2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

Last year we changed the apartment and I wrote Excellent. This year, however:Disappointment. Every year, when booking ask for a higher floor and Teide view, and each year the problem, because such apartment is not available when you arrive. This year we wanted to make a booking for next year already when we were their guests. We were prepared to pay a deposit to the desired location of the apartment. In addition to the 20% deposit is also required 5 eur higher price for the night. On the question of why the apartment is more expensive than usual, the answer was: because you have special wishes .. well, their hosts will not be more.
Otherwise, be careful which apartment you get. At first We had a one bedroom apartment on the ground floor. In the bedroom they were 2 different bed (one emergency)-see photo, moreover, were so dirty blankets ... if you're cooking, you'll need to buy: a knife, a splint for cutting, bowl salad, strainer, sponge for washing dishes and liquid ...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank uzitek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarquesaPlazaHotels, Director General at Apartamentos Alta, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your comments in the Tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear that although we changed you from the 2nd. floor to the penthouse when the room was available you did not enjoyed much of your stay. At this time of the year when is high season, most customer prefer a higher floor to have better views and because we have long staying customers sometimes an apartment may not be available for a few days. Booking in advance does not guarantee a high floor because at high season we need all the apartments and bookings are in blocks of 2,3 or more weeks, therefore a unit can not be left empty many days before your arrive. All hotels in the world work like this as our aim is to fill all the rooms everyday. We must apologize for the extra banquets and this could have been change on the spot. The prices for next year have gone up by 5,00 € and indeed you must bring your own washing up liquid and sponge which can be purchased in the supermarket opposite. Your comments help us to improve and keep offering the best value for money, thank you.

Nevertheless, we still look forward to see you again next year.

Kind regards,

The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My fiance and I had a lovely room, kitchen in open room with sofa and T.V. Small balcony with chairs and a table we would sit at almost every night with a few drinks and play some cards, bright light outside. The bathroom was clean and spacious, as well as the bedroom. Nice base for sleeping and chilling out after a long day. Breakfast was a buffet in the morning and we made some up for our lunch when we went out, lovely. And the pool was small but wasn't busy when we went in June so comfortably sun bathed and swam. The beach is only 5 minutes away also, and there is a lido just a 10 minute walk away that we went to almost everyday, this had around 3 swimming pools and plenty of seats and bar areas. Small entry fee. Bars and restaurants not far, lovely people, we asked to move from our first room as I don't like lifts and the room was up 5 floors and the staff moved us quite willingly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarquesaPlazaHotels, Director General at Apartamentos Alta, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Laura & Louse,

Thank you for sharing your comments with all our actual and potential customers in the Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read your comments and even more to see that you have enjoyed your holiday and have had a great time that I hope you repeat in the near future. Thank you very much in the name of all the staff.

Please check our website regularly for offers or contact us directly. It is great to read comments like yours, the drinks next time will be on us!!!

Yours sincerely,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here twice back in 2012 and 2013. Both thimes we enjoyed our stay and staff were very friendly. The hotel itself is very quiet (we stayed during carneval period in both occasions), suitable for eldery couples and families. We did not try the breakfast here as woke up quiet late every day. There is a bar nex door, which doesn't belongs to the hotel, we usually had lunch there (you must try their bocadillos:) )
We saw cockroaches maybe two times, but its normal in Tenerife, and compare to other apartment i stayed in, these 2 was nothing. As far as I remember, we had linen change every 3 days, however if we needed extra towels, toilet paper (we stayed there 4 of us) the housekeeper or the receptionist were always happy to help.
We would definitely come back again
Thank you for the nice stay

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edi86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarquesaPlazaHotels, Director General at Apartamentos Alta, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Edi86,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments about our apartments in the Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that we met your expectations. It is very hard to control insects because it has to be a general task for the whole town and even boxes and other staff that comes from the ports as cargo can be infected by eggs that are hard to detect or eradicate. With regards to the bar we have a limited service as most customers find interesting to use the facilities at the opposite shopping center and other cafes of the town, nevertheless our breakfast service last till 10:30 and then the bar stays open till 16:00 h. (almost as any coffee shop in the UK). We look forward to meet you again, and please check our website for special offers for repeating customers.

Hope you enjoyed the Hogmonay and wish the best for 2014.

J.C. Delgado
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Completely delighted with the accommodation, staff, facilities and location. Have been telling everyone about the fabulous 2 weeks we had here end October- beginning November. Only small gripe is small pool but proximity to sea and lido more than make up for that.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pauline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarquesaPlazaHotels, Director General at Apartamentos Alta, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with all of our actual and potential customers in the Tripadvisor. We are very happy to hear that we meet your expectations and I should pass on your compliments to the rest of the staff, thank you. This are the kind of comments we like to hear and the kind of customer we like to accommodate. Indeed pool is a bit small but apartments are big.

Should you wish to visit us again, please check our website for offers and promotions for repeating customers.

Kind regards,

The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

So would I stay here again – Absolutely!

The apartments are located close to the beach and all the amenities, you can reach the restaurants, Lido, shopping are and beach all within a few minutes’ walk.

The rooms and apartments are spacious - very surprising given the very reasonable price the accommodation. Whilst the decor is a little dated, they apartments and communal areas are kept very clean.

The 2 bed apartments had a full kitchen and dining area along with a sofa.
The bedrooms contained 2 single beds and again are spacious, with ample storage. 1 of the bedrooms contains a safe (keys issued at the reception).

I found the accommodation very secure, with 24 hour reception and locked gates at night (you just press the buzzer when you get back and are promptly let in). I found all of the staff to be friendly and helpful at all times.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarquesaPlazaHotels, Gerente at Apartamentos Alta, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Marc,

Thank you for sharing your comments in Tripadvisor. Indeed our appartments are in prime position very close to shops, beach and other amenities. May I also thank you on behalf of our staff who try hard to please every customer.

Should you wish to return in the near future, please check our website for promotion and offers for repeating customers.

Yours sincerely

The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

just returned from a month at Alta Apartments,have to concur with every body else about the size of them ,i think they are the biggest self catering apartments we have ever been in,large lounge with kitchen and breakfast bar,table and four chairs ,settee and armchair coffee table two other units one with the telly on and there was still plenty of room,bedroom very spacious with large wardrobe,bathroom equally as big.was in 407 then changed to 401 so have been on both corners ,better view on 401.,our housekeeper Amanda(lovely Person) kept us clean everyday and clean towels also every day.sun terrace on third floor,terrace and pool on second floor along with restaurant which closed at 4 pm when we were there plus one day in the week.Reception is on the second floor as well and you will meet two of the loveliest young women Evallia and Tina you could wish to have as receptionists and on there days off the equally lovely Monica,all in all a good place to stay,if i had a critism it would be that there glazing is not the same as ours so you can get traffic noise so if you not a heavy sleeper take some ear plugs.

Room Tip: any ending in1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roythefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarquesaPlazaHotels, Gerente at Apartamentos Alta, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Customer,

Thank you for sharing your opinions with the whole community of Alta customers in the Tripadvisor. We try hard offer the best family accomodation around and the appartments are large enough for permanent residents if necessary. It is true that if you face the main road, the traffic could be a bit noisy at night, but the peak hour is not when you sleep and if you are a light sleeper maybe we can offer you a quiter room at the back.

May I also on behalf of the staff thank you for your kind recommendations. We look forward to see you again.

Please check our website for special offers and promotions for repeating customers.

Kind regards,

The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos RF Bambi
Apartamentos RF Bambi
#41 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
214 reviews
0.6 mi away
Puerto Azul Hotel
Puerto Azul Hotel
#59 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartments Pez Azul
Apartments Pez Azul
#60 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa del Sol
Casa del Sol
#54 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marte
Hotel Marte
#46 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
384 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sun Holidays
Hotel Sun Holidays
#22 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Alta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Alta

Address: Avenida Aguilar y Quesada s/n, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: £28 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Alta 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Apartamentos Alta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Alta Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Apartamentos Alta Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing