We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”
Review of Dragos del Norte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dragos del Norte
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The apt was just fine, spacious living room but small bedrooms. Bathroom needs some maintenance work (shower head floppy). The front desk staff, especially Miguel and Angelo, were very helpful. The area is an elegant quiet one, a 15 min walk from the hub of town.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OnTheRoadPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

Was a bit concerned after reading some of the bad reviews but we arrived in Puerto de la Cruz with no accommodation and were running out of time. The apartment was better than we thought - separate bedroom. The bed was comfortable although would have referred a duvet to blankets. Our room was at the end of the hallway so we figured we'd be away from most noise. Unfortunately because of the layout of the hotel we could still hear the maids moving furniture and cleaning in the lobby.
The front desk staff were beyone great always happy to help.
Parking is on the street but no hassle ever finding a spot.
If you want breakfast (5 euros) you need to let the front desk know the day before. We showed up just in the morning but the chap was very gracious in explaining how it worked and still let us have breakfast.
Be prepared to "rent" or pay a deposit on many extras such as the TV gizmo, Hairdryer, and key for the safe.
Our unit was on the front of the building so you would get the morning sun for about one hour.
It takes about a good 15 minutes to walk down the hill to Plaza del Charco and about 20 to walk back up the hill.
If you want a restaurant close by go to Casa Juana - up the hill - a great Canarian experience.
Would we stay here again - for the price you can't beat it. Would try to get a top floor unit next time so we'd get the sun a bit more on the balcony.

Room Tip: We had room 203 - try for 303.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

If you are visiting Puerto for a walking holiday then these apartments are a good option. They are clean and tidy with plenty of space and a serviceable kitchen. The breakfast is a basic affair but does the job. Staff are friendly. Not fancy but pleasant and quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjcheeseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

The apartments are ok and spacious, although a bit outdated and rather cool and sterile. The balconies get sun in the morning, but no sun in the afternoon. Breakfast was disappointing - poor coffee and a very small selection of food.

The location isn't great - about 15 minutes walk out of town (a steep walk!). There are a few very simple restaurants nearby (hamburger joints) and we discovered the authentic non-touristy "Bar Juana" with good tapas if you walk about 8 minutes up the road out of town - but otherwise it's quite a walk along unattractive main roads to get into town.

The only good thing that I can say about this place is to praise the friendly and helpful staff (although they didn't manage to get our television working)

I wasn't a great fan of Puerto de la Cruz and glad we only spent a couple of days there. I was expecting more of a lively Spanish town and was disappointed by the large numbers of cheap and tacky tourist shops and restaurants - wouldn't return to Puerto de la Cruz.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rheinfarn69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Nice Clean well run spacious apartments in a quiet pleasant area, unfortunately some of the rooms have balconies or terraces facing a tall white wall. We got one of those rooms and tried to change immeadiately but were basically fobbed off (albeit in a nice way). Reasonably comfy beds,plenty of storage space , 2 ring hob,basic kitchen utensils ,fridge,microwave but no electric kettle, but there is a kettle you can boil on the hob.Theres a small flat screen tv which costs 3euros a day but we didnt bother with it. Safety deposit box 2 euros a day.There were only a couple of bars near the apts so we walked into town most nights , about 15mins there about 20mins back ( stiff uphill climb). Pool and pool area were nice but pool freezing . Theres a few sunbeds with mattresses by the pool and some more sunbeds in a couple of small sunbathing areas on the roof.Would probably stop there again but wouldnt rush back and would have to be assured of a room with a view. Puerto de la cruz seems to cloud over quite regularly and a hire car is a big advantage if your seeking the sun, and theres plenty of parking spaces on the street.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top 2 floors if you like a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dudley18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Visited Los Dragos Apts. during the last week of Feb. 2012. On arriving around midday we were were told that there was a "technical problem" ( no explanation) and we would be placed in the Casablanca Hotel for 2 days till the problem was fixed. No offer of an alternative room was given. The Casablanca turned out to be very nice. Had to book taxi back to Los Dragos on the Monday and book in. Somewhat disappointed with the room given which was on the ground floor looking onto a blank wall 5 feet away and very dark. A locked gate separated us from the pool and we had no outside table/chairs. We had requested a room with a balcony if possible. The room was clean but considering it was booked as self catering very basic eg. no electric kettle,no kitchen scissors, one kitchen knife, no washing up liquid/cleaning sponge etc. ( which we bought anyway and left) and drinking glasses and cutlery which looked as if they'd been put through years of service. No hair drier ( not that big a deal ) and 5euros per day for use of the safe ( a bit OTT ). Shower was pretty rubbish and towels dire. Beds were not made up at all and no change of bed linen at all for the entire week. Cleaning seemd OK but dirt under beds which had obviously not been swepy up during the week. Staff seemed helpful/friendly. Location OK. If you just want a reasonably clean roof over your heas and don't intend to spend much time there then perfectly adequate, but otherwise....!

Room Tip: Better off the ground floor away from a dark, sunless wall area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shortomatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This was our second stay at these apartments, we chose them because of the proximity to family living in Puerto.They are in a residential area on a busy main road. there are a couple of bars within a few minutes walk but the main resort is a 15 minutwalk away
On arrival this time we were greeted by a friendly receptionist who quickly scanned our passports and processed my credit card BEFORE going on to tell us that due to a problem with the bathroom the room wasnt ready and we would have to spend the night in another hotel in the town centre. There was no negotiating another in the Dragos and although he wouldnt confirm it we believe this was due to everbooking. We were able to move in the next day after 12 o'clock!!
The room we had was quite basic but functional. a kettle would have been nice!! The second bedroom is very small. A hot water tank is in each apartment and this only provides enough water for one person to shower. we were also unable to attach the shower to the wall and even though a man came to fix it, we still had to hold the shower. There is not enough water to fill a bath. We found the beds comfortable and the sheets clean, the towels had seen better days.
Do not stay in these apartments if you like peace and quiet to sleep. the walls are thin and noise carries easily between rooms and noisy furniture moving, toilet flushing, the tv and loud voices from the apartment above kept us awake on several occasions.

Room Tip: Higher floor, less chance of noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4445alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.7 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#16 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parque Vacacional Eden
Parque Vacacional Eden
#7 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
621 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sun Holidays
Hotel Sun Holidays
#22 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,675 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Casablanca
Apartamentos Casablanca
#3 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,830 reviews
0.7 mi away
diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden
diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden
#30 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragos del Norte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragos del Norte

Address: Avenida Ocho de Marzo 4 | Urb.Parque las Flores, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: £38 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dragos del Norte 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dragos del Norte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Dragos Del Norte Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Dragos Del Norte Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing