We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The comfort of a 3-stars for the price of a hostel”
Review of Maga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maga Hotel
Liege, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The comfort of a 3-stars for the price of a hostel”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Ideally situated on a square with a garden in the pedonal centre, this small hotel is nice quiet. . The room was well furbished with spotless bathroom, and a small terrace where we could enjoy the sun.watching the Teide (we were at the top floor). We spent 35 euros for a double room, breakfast included. According to my researches, this hotel is the cheapest in town and certainly the best.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PipingAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    20
    23
    16
    16
See reviews for
4
41
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uppermill, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

I don't think i have ever given a "1" rating on TripAdvisor before... that's how awful the food here was. In fact, it wasn't just the food.... the service, the atmosphere, the price.... all awful.

This wasn't just the worst meal I had in Tenerife, it was probably the worst meal I have ever eaten anywhere. To add insult to injury, it was also the most expensive meal we had on our trip!

Despite having no other customers (apart from a group of Germans watching the football) the waitress seemed to be in a mad rush for everything. This included not listening to our order and trying to guess what we wanted instead of letting us finish what we were trying to ask for.

To be honest, I am not sure why we chose to eat at Maga.... it looks unappealing, the menu is unappealing and there were no other real customers... however, we were tired, hungry and it was "right there".

Our "Selection Of Grilled Meat" eventually arrived (along with a plate of soggy chips which we hadn't ordered). For €26 we expected a lot better than a piece of bacon, a sausage, a tough old overcooked steak, a piece of pork that tasted of fish and a slice of chicken. Not only hugely overpriced, but not very nice either.

However, the biggest stunner was the salad. How can you go wrong with a salad? Maga can. It was covered in oil and salt. So much salt, it was inedible.

I honestly can't think of a good thing to say about this place. Easily the worst place I have ever reviewed for TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank calico_demon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto de la Cruz hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Have holidayed here many time in Puerto and decided to try somewher different to eat and saw the Maga restaurant. Menu was good and food okay, but the papa arrugadas did not come with mojo, which is usually served. Price was OK. But what did let this place down was the very sullen and bored waiter who made it clear that we were an intrusion. Shame because this could be such a nice place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bearscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Location of the hotel is very good. There is a free big car parking place near the harbour area. Everything is a bit worn, but it didn´t bother us. We had a double bed, which was only 135 cm wide and 180 cm long. It was too small and very uncomfortable. We missed refrigerator and extra blankets. Earplugs are recommended because of the lack of the soundproofing. Breakfast was basic, coffee was good and there was also a free wifi in the public area.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank finnmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Although this place is listed as a hotel it is not. I stayed on a Bed and Breakfast basis. Breakfast consisted of 2 white crusty buns with butter, jam , a slice of cheese and a slice of ham. No choice as to what youn had. It was just brought to you. The only choice there was is the drink. Tea or coffee. Staff friendly and rooms clean. However I did not have a balcony and there was no tv or radio in the room. This hotel has no outside area to sit in and no pool area either. Also if your out late at night you have to ring the bell to get the night porter/ security fella to let you in. The 'hotel' has a restaurant attached which is frequented by the local police and at the weekend there is a lot of noise from people until at least 5am. Would I stay here again..NO. I have stayed in better bed and breakfast places here in the UK.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biggirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Győr
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2009

This was the cheapest hotel we have stayed at during our trip in Tenerife: 40 EUR total/night for two persons. The price was usually approximately 15 EUR higher at other hotels (2-3*) on the island so we thought not to expect too much. And we were right. We got the value what we paid for. A big room with 3 beds + bathroom which was a bit stinky but we left the windows of it open and closed the bathroom doors, so it was ok :) The room was clean, not so modern, but with normal furnitures. We even got breakfast here - I wish we didn't -,well it was very poor, no choice (one type of cheese, with some fishy ham, jam, butter and coffee which tasted like boiled soil with sugar), some cleaning lady served it between sweeping and washing the stairs and the floor. Anyway the hotel has a very good location, it is located next to a tiny piazza, there are a lots of restaurants and shops nearby. If you want to save some money during your trip I recommend you to go there, but don't eat breakfast :)

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missmiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Plaza Apartments
Park Plaza Apartments
#60 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa del Sol
Casa del Sol
#57 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Teneguia
Apartamentos Teneguia
#42 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tenerife Ving
Hotel Tenerife Ving
#63 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
203 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartments Pez Azul
Apartments Pez Azul
#59 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
351 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Carabela Apartments
La Carabela Apartments
#61 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maga Hotel

Property: Maga Hotel
Address: Calle Iriarte 11, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Maga Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maga Hotel Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing