We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As if you are staying at your sweetest aunty's”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Don Candido

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Don Candido
Ranked #44 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Valencia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“As if you are staying at your sweetest aunty's”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed there for a few days and it felt very cosy with characteric wooden furniture, stairs, chrystal chandelier in de entrance hall etc.
It could have been the house of your old and rich aunty in the eighties. Good vibes. We had a room at the back, which was very nice with a view at the green and flowery wall in the garden. (but blocked the daylight a bit)

The only thing that needs improvement is to have more light in the room. The lamps are just not enough. And the bathroom needs to be refurbished. The room was clean and quiet.

I just read that it has new owners since last year. They are really, really charming and sweet.
A great stay with a personal touch.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sofia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    36
    24
    7
    14
See reviews for
8
58
25
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bromma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I have already written what I think of this little hotel, about 3 weeks ago, and now, to my horror I read that many people say the opposite ....... I want you to know that the owner now is a very friendly family so the hotel is not what some say. The new owners took over in November last year, 2012. try it, you will be happy there - NO SMELLING BEDS, NICE BREAKFAST, AND THE OWNERS ARE VERY, VERY HELPFUL!! // Kerstin, from Sweden

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BrommaTarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santos, SP
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

i was there about 10 days
very close to the bus stop and restaurants
this is a nice family hotel running by father and daugther and they are very helpfull and explain if you need some help and they try everything so you feel at home
the room was nice and there is a small pool, ping pong table and you can sit and plan your daytrip

Room Tip: i did not choose but i saw two people who change the room there
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ida E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

this is about the worst hotel I ever stayed in, I moved out after a short few days to check into another acceptalble hotel...despite having paid in advance .. the rooms are smelly old and stinking of desinfectant ... the lady owning the place is very unpolite and nosy .....breakfast is bad... well its just not even worse the 1 star that is has on the door...the beds are smelly very very old..danger of catching an invectious desease.. not joking... STAY AWAY of this .. rather recommending any youth hostal...

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jean1057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto de la Cruz hotels

Slovenia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2007

We choose this hotel because it was quite cheap and we were not disappointed at all. It has only 22 rooms and it's very quiet, though neighbours are not sometimes. Mainly elderly people are staying in this hotel but that's not a problem at all.
The only minus is that you can only have brekfast (not much of a choice: fresh bread, marmelade, coffe, cocoa, tea, juice, milk, cornflakes - or something else if you bring it with you, otherwise you have to stick with those) and there is no dinner (the onwner gives you a coupon for another hotel and you have dinner there (it was in casa del sol and it was not so bad)). And it's good if you speak german or spanish, cause the owner doesn't speak other languages pretty well (but I think she understands, though she always responds in german or spanish).
The hotel also has a swimming pool which is empty most of the time (water is a bit cold). In front of the hotel is a lot of space where you can park if you hire a car. There is also a place for children to play (a few swings and a lot of sand to make sand castles).
Rooms are big enough with own bathrooms. They are cleaned every day (also the towels are changed) and it's really tidy. We were lucky to have a room with a kitchen and a balcony (not all rooms have it). So we had an excellent view on Teide. In the room there is also TV and a safe, but you have to pay a bit extra for those.
Everybody has allowance to go to the rooftop. There are a few chairs so you can enjoy the view.
I really recommend it. I know for myself that if I ever go to Teneriffe again I'll be in this hotel for sure.

  • Liked — Peace and quiet
  • Disliked — Breakfast and dinner
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Sailorka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sun Holidays
Hotel Sun Holidays
#18 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Alta
Apartamentos Alta
#31 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Sol
Casa del Sol
#57 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#15 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
331 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Apartments
Park Plaza Apartments
#58 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Marte
Hotel Marte
#43 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Candido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Candido

Property: Don Candido
Address: Calle Portugal 10, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Don Candido 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Don Candido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Candido Hotel
Don Candido Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing