We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good all rounder”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotasa Puerto Resort Bonanza Palace
Ranked #73 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good all rounder”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Never left a review before but thought i should for this one! the place is clean and well managed. The food is plentiful and with great choice (even my fussy husband found something to fill him). The measures in the bar's are massive and although some of the staff can be a little off, so what! you don't have to live with them!! The location is perfect for a quiet, relaxed holiday with nothing more than a stroll to the local bars. There is a good free bus service to the town or just 4 euro's in a taxi, so if you need hussle and bussle it's not a problem! We went Easter weekend so the place was full of Spanish families and yes they did take over the place, but it is their country so fair play. Overall we had a really relaxing week with no problems or trouble at all. I'd go back given the chance. No complaints at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catswain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    33
    14
    14
    14
See reviews for
19
44
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Booked Bonanza palace,when we arrived we went to find there is no reception,were told to book in at the Canarife palace down the road.When we booked in we were told that our room was in the Canarife palace,which did not bother us,but when talking to other english guests they all said the same.some booked the inter palace and were in the bonanza and visversa.Three hotels with different prices but you can use all the facilities at the others.Anyway the roms were large with balconies.The all inclusive was good value with plenty of options and fairly good quality food.The stafff were very pleasant and helpful.If you like a beach holiday these hotels are not for you,the beach is down a massive hill.The resort is only about 2% british so there ar'nt that many british bars.

Room Tip: book the cheapest hotel because you might not get the one you wanted but you can use all 3 hotels fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lukethomas23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

I have found that the price was very good,the rooms are really spacious the food is nice but what missing to complete the holidays was the evening without entertainment were boring and the chambermaids without tip would only make the bed and change towels no bathroom cleaning or hoovering . Ideal for people looking for tranquility.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lionesse61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

Took the wife for a simple week away and on pricing Tenerfife a week all inclusive at the Blue Seas Puerto resort came out cheaper than self catering. The Puerto resort comprises of the Bonanza Palace and the Canarife Palace. Across the road is the Blue Sea Interpalace, the facilities of which can also be used. Our room was actually in the Canarife building

We arrived at 6pm and after a short wait got our room. We couldnt fault it. With a view of the pool and of Teide in the morning it was excellent. Housekeeping during the week was good.....when we got it. Basically 50% of the time, and it took two requests before we got extra pillows.

FOOD
Breakfast can be taken in either the Bonanza restaurant or the Interpalace. Both offer what I would call traditional buffet style breakfasts. Nothing special but also nothing horrendous. The restaurant at the Interpalace seemed to be less hectic (you will not believe how possessive senior citizens can be over their sausages!!!!). Dinner was very similiar in relation to how busy the restaurant were. Once again nothing special but Im a big eater and never came out hungry, my wife is fussy and could always find a good meal. She did prefer the fresh cooked hotplate items rather than the cabinets though. In a Wednesday and Friday they open the a-la-carte restaurant in the Canarife Palace for 25 guest. Book the day before as its wellllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll worth it. Just goes to show what they are capable of. If staying all-inc you also have lunch available. this again can be taken in the Bonanza restaurant or you can take a snack at either the Interpalace pool/ Bonanza bar. Hmmmmmm, you could if you wanted to. Not really to be recommended on this one as the food appears to be put out about 11am.............and stays out all day!

Drinks during the day could be obtained from either the pool bar or the main Bonanza bar with the usually "good measures".

Evening entertainment alternated between the Bonanza and the Interpalace and was your usually holiday entertainment. Daytime activities are available at the hotels but during our stay it was so quiet the staff were struggling to get enough people together to do some of them. (You can always rely on enough Brits to turn up to get a game of 5-a-side going though)

The hotel is located in a suburb of Puerto on the cliffs above the town. The fit people amongst us could walk down to the town but the steps back up (I think somebody said 250!) can be a trek on a hot day. The hotels does have a shuttle bus running to the commercial centre just outside the town centre (3 buses each way during the morning and then 3 more in the afternoon).

All in all, we couldnt fault the hotel for the price we paid. Yes it does have some issues (housekeeping reliability and the lunch time snacks) but for a week away in the sun we would go back.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Canarife Palace facing the pool also get a view of Teide in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthWestMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

We arrived late on the 25th October - we were dropped off outside Hotel Blue Sea Resort, when infact, our designated hotel was opposite, Hotel Bonanza. As we have never stayed in a hotel for a holiday before, we were pleasantly surprised. As we arrived late, restaurant was closed, so we were provided with a fine packed meal. Nice touch. Room was clean, spacious and cleaned daily with new towels provided. Food was varied but not wonderful. Bar staff in general were ok. Pools were great. Indoor pool however not heated as advertised. Some saunas not working but we made use daily of the jakuzzi and steam room. Waiting staff were lovely - polite and helpful. All inclusive is definitely the way ahead for this hotel. Mainly only have positive comments. This was sold to us as a 4* and we were happy, however, seasoned holidayers have advised it was more like a 3*. Family friendly. Weather on the whole was brill. So Hotel Bonanza gets a thumbs up!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tyronetryone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham, england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

I do not understand why my previous review of the Hotasa Bonanzo has been removed from this site. I"ve been there for the last 2 januarys and I had an great holiday each time. Friendly and polite staff, great food,clean and well appointed rooms and the use of 2 local hotels. Why would anyone complain about SAGA guests when they are mostly polite, quiet decent people unless they find good manners disquieting. Plenty of nice walks in the area coupled with free bus trips to beauty spots. I cant wait untill I go back sadly it wont be untill the end of March as I want to try elsewhere first. Go and you will have a pleasant and restful happy time. Christyx

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank christyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

Just having returned from a 10day holiday to Bonanza Palace,I felt I should make a contibution on Trip Advisor. Before we went,we tried to find decent reviews to see what we could expect,but sadly,were disappointed to find that there were hardly any and the most recent ones available weren't too favourable.
However,we went with an open mind and glad we did - it wasn't really as black as it had been painted. What you have to bear in mind when you stay in Puerto de la Cruz,is that it isn't the most popular place for any one from the UK,in fact,it is mainly favoured by Spaniards for their own holidays. When we were there,we could count the number of other British families on one hand,but thats not always a bad thing.
We had no real complaints about the hotel,our rooms were of a good size and serviced every day. The food was plentiful with lots of variety and as we were staying on an all-inclusive basis,this was a deal-breaker for us - we ate out a few times,but that was just for a change of scenery and nothing more sinister. Just remember that you are in a Spanish resort,with Spanish food,so don't expect Wall's sausages,Danepak bacon,perfectly fried eggs and PG Tips t-bags etc,and you'll be fine.

The hotel runs a good courtesy bus into Puerto de la Cruz throughout the day and at night we used local taxis on a couple of occasions,costing on average,4 Euros.

Its also worth mentioning that as this part of the island is very Spanish,the staff,locals and bar/shop owners do not speak the best English,unlike in the more British-orientated south part of Tenerife - a good thing,as this makes you try a little harder to converse with them in Spanish,which they appreciate. Another nice-to -know is that local banks do not exchange Sterling for Euros,so a cash-machine is your best bet.

We were travelling with 3 young children and a teenager and am pleased to say that the younger children were constantly entertained by the Animation Team,who did a great job. Our teenager was similarly entertained by the availability of Wi-Fi,although that did come at a cost of 25 Euros for a week- a bit costly,in my opinion.

The only downside, was the attitude of the less-than-friendly bar-staff. They were at best,miserable and at worst,ignorant and rude. They always favoured the resident Spanish guests,over us and even though queueing is a British past-time,they very often took it too far by continually ignoring us and serving locals first. For the first few days,we had use of an indoor bar which was then moved outside to a covered area,and became a serve-yourself facility,which we found quite odd. Plastic glasses were the order of the day,as you would expect from All Inclusive and we didn't mind that,however,when my boyfriend asked for larger glasses for lager,they point-blank refused and told him to use 2 smaller ones,even though larger ones were stacked behind the bar. This was typical of their attitude,coupled with the fact that they were so sour-faced and never once cracked a smile.

All in all,we had a great holiday with very little to moan about,hence the ratings we have given.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shazza066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#17 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Plaza Apartments
Park Plaza Apartments
#59 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Trovador
Hotel Trovador
#61 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Finca La Hacienda Rural Hotel
1.3 mi away
Apartamentos Teneguia
Apartamentos Teneguia
#39 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.4 mi away
Apartamentos Turquesa Playa
Apartamentos Turquesa Playa
#6 of 12 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotasa Puerto Resort Bonanza Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotasa Puerto Resort Bonanza Palace

Property: Hotasa Puerto Resort Bonanza Palace
Address: Calle Acevino 8, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Hotasa Puerto Resort Bonanza Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotasa Puerto Resort Bonanza Palace Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Hotasa Puerto Resort Bonanza Palace Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing