We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotasa Puerto Resort Bonanza Palace
Ranked #73 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disapointing”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Me and my husband booked this hotel with Lowcost holidays and was told this hotel was a five star hotel, well maybe it was 20 years ago but certainly not now.. We stayed at the Bonanza which is part of three hotels at first abit confusing with you booking in in at the interpalace then being sent to bonanza also a bit confusing regarding the dinning.. didn't take long to sort it out though..The rooms are large with a large balcony, we stayed for a week and only twice had our bed made no clean sheets. and I had to tell reception for the cleaner to change our towels. The entertainment was rubbish the drinks were help yourself and all out of plastic cups which is understandable around the pool area but not when chiiling inside. The food was repetitive. yes you can always find something to eat but when your paying good money you dont just want to find anything. We would defo go back to Puerto de la cruz town but NEVER back to this Hotel I DO NOT usually complain but on this occasion I felt I needed too. and I've never been to Hotel where I've had the need to moan... The resort was nice with lots of bars and shops but much going on maybe that was the time of year we went though. There were more Spanish and Germans then English That didn't bother us tbf It was just the food/drinks/entertainment and cleanliness of the rooms I've never been to an hotel where I've had to tell reception to get the cleaner to clean our room

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawnie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    33
    14
    14
    15
See reviews for
19
46
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Having read many reviews, were got what we were expecting - clean hotel with large rooms although they were only cleaned twice whilst we were there, good variety of food; if you can't find something at every meal, you must be REALLY fussy!, the complex was kept clean and in good repair and you can use the facilities at the other two hotels in the group (Canarife next door and Interpalace over the road). Check in is at the Canarife as the Bonanza has no reception. The staff are a bit hit and miss - some are helpful, others are not. We had a problem with the safe in our room and one of the reception staff made me feel as if I was being a nuisance when I told him about the problem. As other reviewers have mentiond, some of the entertainment is not very good - especially considering they have had all season to perfect it! There is also the usual problem of selfish people leaving towels on sunbeds and then not using them all day. The lifeguards were removing them if someone complained but didn't appear to do it as a matter of course. The hotel was not particularly busy when we stayed but i imagine this would be a real problem in high season. By the time we left, there were lots of German & Russian guests, giving it an "international" atmosphere. Considering we booked last minute and paid very little for the accomodation, I think we certainly got our monies worth and I would say that it's worth giving these hotels a go if you're looking to go to Puerto and don't mind a good walk (or short taxi ride) into the town centre.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jivegirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We booked this hotel not knowing whether it would be any good and we were pleasantly surprised. We got there very late due to issues with the hire car company and the hotel were very welcoming and provided us with a meal. The room was lovely, more like a suite. Pool area very clean and we watched them clean every morning. Food choice was really good and varied. I requested something different which was not on the menu and they couldn't have been more accommodating. The hotel maid cleaned the room everyday. The hotel entertainment was ok but more for kids and very silly grown ups!!
Must do's: Teide and Loro Parque!!!
Superb value for money and a great relaxing week!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the bonanza palace as their are 3 hotels on the resort and everyone we spoke to sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Becsboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorks
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Stayed here end Feb for 1 week.Three hotels together which you can share facilities.Clean throughout.The food was good but repetitive.If you are English speaking don't expect to meet new friends as nearly all guests were German speaking.
We had a hire car and found it to be a very good base for touring the island.Ample parking in hotel car park and adjacent streets.We walked down the hill to Puerto centre at night.Found Molly Malones bar to be the best entertainment at this time of year.Only 5 euro (with tip) for taxi back to hotel.Hotel entertainment very bad.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had a lovely time at this hotel. We got such a bargain I didn't have very high expectations, so I was pleasantly surprised with this place. We were booked into the Interpalace but were given a room in the Bonanza. The room was very large and clean, and had a view of the sea and the mountains. Lovely. The air conditioning worked but was not that effective, this is the only negative about the room. Check in was quick and easy, we didn't get our room cleaned every day but this only happened because we had a lie in and the maid had already done our floor, can't complain about that really.

The location was great too- it isn't a lively area but is very pleasant, it is a bit of a walk into town but some evenings we got a taxi up the hill for around £3. Puerto De La Cruz itself is a lovely little town with a pretty central square and quite a few nice restaurants and bars. The clientele of the hotel and the resort are older people, mainly German and Spanish, with some Brits and Polish people too. We're a couple in our late twenties and this didn't bother us, everyone we spoke to was friendly and polite. Also, there is plenty of free parking on the streets around the hotel.

The facilities in the hotel were very nice, the pools were good and the bar was excellent. There was also an indoor pool and spa with jacuzzi and sauna, but we ran out of time to try them. The hotel entertainment was reflective of the average age of the guests - it was mainly bingo and cheesy music, but you could get drinks to take up to your room if this is a problem!

We didn't eat in every night as it's nice to have some variety, but we were very happy with the food on offer. I should point out, however, that I am vegetarian and this isn't a great place for veggie food - but I don't think anywhere on the island really is, and I expected it. I still found plenty to eat in the evenings, as there was a good choice of salads and pasta, as well as chips and the local wrinkly potatoes, and some nights they had egg and rice dishes. Breakfast was much better, an excellent choice of cooked items (scrambled eggs, beans etc) as well as cheeses, fruit, yoghurts, cereals. The snack bar had cheeses and salad and bread rolls so you could make your own sandwiches. We never tried the lunch as we were always out for the day. My partner, who is a meat eater, was extremely happy with the selection of food. The drinks were even better, the local lager was very good and we had a bottle of red between us each night at dinner.

All in all, it isn't a high-end luxury resort, but our holiday cost £600 for the two of us, including flights, car hire for the week and all inclusive accomodation, so I was extremely happy with what we got for our money. I'd be happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MimiMagenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Never left a review before but thought i should for this one! the place is clean and well managed. The food is plentiful and with great choice (even my fussy husband found something to fill him). The measures in the bar's are massive and although some of the staff can be a little off, so what! you don't have to live with them!! The location is perfect for a quiet, relaxed holiday with nothing more than a stroll to the local bars. There is a good free bus service to the town or just 4 euro's in a taxi, so if you need hussle and bussle it's not a problem! We went Easter weekend so the place was full of Spanish families and yes they did take over the place, but it is their country so fair play. Overall we had a really relaxing week with no problems or trouble at all. I'd go back given the chance. No complaints at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catswain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Booked Bonanza palace,when we arrived we went to find there is no reception,were told to book in at the Canarife palace down the road.When we booked in we were told that our room was in the Canarife palace,which did not bother us,but when talking to other english guests they all said the same.some booked the inter palace and were in the bonanza and visversa.Three hotels with different prices but you can use all the facilities at the others.Anyway the roms were large with balconies.The all inclusive was good value with plenty of options and fairly good quality food.The stafff were very pleasant and helpful.If you like a beach holiday these hotels are not for you,the beach is down a massive hill.The resort is only about 2% british so there ar'nt that many british bars.

Room Tip: book the cheapest hotel because you might not get the one you wanted but you can use all 3 hotels fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lukethomas23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
16.9 mi away
Finca La Hacienda Rural Hotel
0.9 mi away
Park Plaza Apartments
Park Plaza Apartments
#60 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#17 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Trovador
Hotel Trovador
#59 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
137 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tenerife Ving
Hotel Tenerife Ving
#62 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
195 reviews
1.4 mi away
Apartamentos Turquesa Playa
Apartamentos Turquesa Playa
#6 of 12 in Puerto de la Cruz
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotasa Puerto Resort Bonanza Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotasa Puerto Resort Bonanza Palace

Property: Hotasa Puerto Resort Bonanza Palace
Address: Calle Acevino 8, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Hotasa Puerto Resort Bonanza Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotasa Puerto Resort Bonanza Palace Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Hotasa Puerto Resort Bonanza Palace Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing