We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotasa Puerto Resort Bonanza Palace
Ranked #72 of 81 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I recently stayed here on a late deal on my own for 4 days. But apprehensive after reading the reviews but very pleasantly surprised. Impressive reception area and lovely room, view not too good but lovely size balcony which had the sun late afternoon. Was bed and breakfast and the choice each morning was excellent, best I have seen for a long time, very closer to shops and bars but fair distance from the beach. Only negative I would say is, although the pool area was very clean and picturesque, to me there where far too many trees to be able to get any kind of tan, if yr lucky enough to get the sun it doesn't last long as you will soon be in the shade. Would def like to return here

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wrexham77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Hotasa Puerto Resort Bonanza Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

We visited in mid Oct for 1 x week All inclusive with our 2 x young children. I've read some recent negative reviews so this may add balance.

The room was spacious & clean & the pool areas were clean, tidy & in good order. I saw one of the lifeguards regularly 'patrol' the areas picking up what little items there were that needed binning. The pool was clean & in good order, a bit
cold at first but that's to be expected in October. We had absolutely no problem finding sun beds for all of us.

The food was good with a wide choice. Occasionally I found that it wasn't as hot as you'd want it, but also saw the staff regularly checking the temperatures. Staff were polite & friendly.

The drinks were good although a couple of members of bar staff weren't too friendly.

Any entertainment that involved the animation team was I'm afraid to say poor, although they were trying.

The kids club staff were great & our children enjoyed spending time with them.

I'm not sure I'd enjoy coming here peak season as I think it'd possibly be too crowded but overall we had a great week & for a cheap week at half term would recommend it.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank AndyBLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Where do I start........ They advertise this as a 4 star hotel, not a chance

The rooms are spacious but dated, thenTV has 1 British channel that doesn't tune in ..... 20 euros if you want more channels

The double bed was 2 singles pushed together but were about 3 inches different in height (so now cuddles for the wife)

Around the pool area is dirty. The pools are absolutely freeeeeeezing, the gym is crapn. Got a better 1 in my garage.

Pool tables out of order in both hotels, sauna also out of order

The food was terrible, cold , had breaded chicken 1 night and when I cut in to it peeled the breaded bit back and the chicken was raw

Not much choice of food for kids ... Ended up living on chips for a week

I've been on a few all inclusive holidays to 4 star hotels and this one compared to the rest was more like a 2star

Rubbish food, rubbish entertainment, nothing to do outside hotel .... Will never ever go to the north of Tenerife again and definitely never stay at a blue sea resort hotel

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
5  Thank Gavin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

stayed for 10 nights breakfast and evening meal was very good a lot to choose from, carnt say about the dinner because i wasnt around, hotel very clean, staff very friendly, rooms very big, overall a very good place to stay would go back again. Top tip; if your going to this hotel there is a free bus services which picks you up from outside your hotel to a town of martinez beach which is five minutes away, so you dont have to pay for taxis up an down the big hill:)

Room Tip: Dont ask for a room at the pool side. Also next to the all inclusive bar area, could be noisy.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeDyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We would have liked to know this ourselves before we booked:Nice room and clean, clean towles every day.and a nice area...BUT the food was not good! Seems like they warmed up the same food over and over again.same tastless sourses day after day..the chef do not use any salt ore spice ...Everything tasted the same...whether pork or chicken..how is that possible?.and we are not picky when it comes to food! Free alcohol BUT had to mix our own coctails...so know how to do that before you go there...and in plastic cups..you are not permitted to put it in a glass. If you do one of the staff talk to you like a kid and say "no possible"!most of the staff were nice but in the reception they look like its very inconvinient to help you. Every time we came to the reception people complained about things. One woman was there for the spa part, but nothing at the spa worked! You need to pay for the WF that does not seem to work other places accept in the reception area...and you dont want to sit there and wach a movie. At the breakfast the cleaning help need to use a noisey machine to clean close to where you sit while having breakfast...we have been to all inclusive before ,but this was not good. tried the food in a 3 stars hotel at another all inclusive and the food was fantastic!!!.. and when it comes to the entertainment..my advice...do something else than stay at the hotel. The staff thats there the hole day do most of the entertainment....terrible and waste of time! they really do everything in their power to save money at this hotel. We read some negative things about the hotel but didnt belive it...thinking the people were just negative..but we should have paid attention to the comments made...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank live r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Very good value.Spacious rooms,nice balcony,especially at the rear tooking out towards the mountains.
Good staff,Food very good,but all day snacks lacked variety.
Had one or two issues but were quickly sorted.
Courtersy bus service into Puerto town daily except weekends.Although a pleasant 20 min walk downhill into town a bit hilly coming back so bus good.
Entertainment on an evening ok ,nothing special.
Not that many English in the hotel whilst we were there,mostly German.
Alot more busy on a weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank topbowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

After a 4.5 hour flight you have another 1.5 hours coach trip to get to the hotel, we were dropped off outside one of the blue sea resort hotels and went to check in, only to be told that we needed to check in at the hotel across the road, so we had to take our 5 children (aged 13, 8, 6, 4 and 3 plus a pushchair plus 7 cases across a fairly busy (but one way) road went to check in, got our wristbands then told to go to the hotel next door! Our 2 rooms were beautiful nice large comfy rooms, with 4 single beds in one room and 3 next door, we were on the 5th floor with amazing views of both mount teidi and the sea.
The pools were FREEZING! Even when the temperature hit 32/33 degrees they were still just that little bit too cold, for the most of the holiday there were plenty of sun loungers available apart from Easter weekend when the whole hotel was flooded with the Spanish who thought it was perfectly acceptable to remove your belongings and take your sun lounger if you dared to leave and say go to get a drink or use the loo.........
The lifeguards were an absolute waste of space, a French boy dived into the pool and knocked himself out and guests had to dive in to rescue him as the life guard was too busy flirting with the Spanish ladies or emptying bins....
The food for 90% of the 9 days we stayed was lovely always being able to find something we all liked, but one evening (the Saturday) none of the food was even slightly appetising so we all just ate cheese and crackers!
The worst part of the holiday was when we all caught the norovirus (just had it confirmed by a doctor today!) we think it was spread by a French family as there was a young lad who was very sick, I have never been so ill in my life and my husband has a usually iron stomach was also extremely ill! We were first ill on fri 29 march and the last time one of the children was ill was the Tuesday just gone (16 April) when we told reception the children were sick (one of them was sick in bed) all they were bothered about was if they'd been sick on the carpets......
It's quite confusing that the restaurants were spilt between the 3 hotels, most days we just had food from the snack bar at lunch time as it was a bit of a pain getting the children dressed and taken to the hotel across the road, but I doubt any of us will ever eat another hot dog as long as we live!
The all inc drinks were brilliant, a serve yourself bar with all alcohol (local) and beer, a cocktail machine, water, juice, fizzy pop and coffee next to the pool and kids club
The entertainment could have been so much better, the mini disco lasted at most 20 mins and the staff would skip through the cd so the kids only got a few songs, then there was bingo.......
Would we stay again, probably not puerto de la cruz, it was nice for a change, but there was just nothing nearby for the kids to do, the walk to the town has some stunning views and I am glad we stayed on the north of the island for a change but we will definitely be going to Americas on our next holiday in the summer
We gave it 4 stars due to the fact we got a good deal, a nice hotel for what we paid but if you pay 4 star prices you maybe a little disappointed

Room Tip: Back of the hotel gets another hour of sun on the balcony after its gone from the poolside
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superstarmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.9 mi away
Park Plaza Apartments
Park Plaza Apartments
#66 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
142 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Carabela Apartments
La Carabela Apartments
#61 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
238 reviews
2.2 mi away
Maritim Hotel Tenerife
Maritim Hotel Tenerife
#34 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Alta
Apartamentos Alta
#33 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartments Pez Azul
Apartments Pez Azul
#63 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
364 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Trovador
Hotel Trovador
#48 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotasa Puerto Resort Bonanza Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotasa Puerto Resort Bonanza Palace

Address: Calle Acevino 8, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 81 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: £53 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Hotasa Puerto Resort Bonanza Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotasa Puerto Resort Bonanza Palace Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Hotasa Puerto Resort Bonanza Palace Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing