We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Cruz de la Palma, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We are still here! Leaving on 30th June.
Checked in at lunch time and was greeted by Domingo who relieved us of our luggage. Then fetched two glasses of champagne whilst Salvador took care of the booking and informed us that our room had been upgraded as we were celebrating our anniversary. Our meal that evening from the al la carte menu was excellent.. Another complimentary bottle was served at dinner along with
A celebration cake for dessert. The hotel is quite contemporary, with a wonderful sophisticated dinning room. The staff who have waited on us are all so friendly and very efficient.
Some names I recall, Teresa, Jose, Veronica. Good choice of food at breakfast buffet.
The rooms are cleaned to a high standard, with beds turned down of an evening and the complimentary chocolate on the pillow, which my husband has yet to realise, seeing as I get to the room first!
I appreciate that being June, which is generally much quieter for hotels here, the service may be better and quicker than in the much busier period between December and March.however,
We have two more nights here, and I am confident that they will be just as good as the start of our break. Would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to room with a sea and city view on the top floor with a corner balcony 466
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    993
    483
    144
    46
    25
See reviews for
299
796
77
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

My partner and I recently stayed at the Iberostar in Santa Cruz. As it was our first holiday together we spent quite a lot of money and wanted a real luxury experience. Prior to our holiday I contacted Iberostar four or five times using the message service on their website but heard nothing back from them which was a bit disappointing and didn't really put the hotel into a good light for us.

However, upon arrival we were so pleased...the hotel foyer is absolutely stunning, the grounds are perfectly maintained and the staff are all lovely and really helpful.

The pool was one of our favourite places as it was peaceful, beautiful and scorching! The only downside was that the hotel often hosts weddings and big parties and on one particular day there were at least 15 children running riot around the grounds which did ruin the atmosphere to an extent. I appreciate they are at a wedding but it is quite irritating when on a relaxing break!!

The blonde receptionist (I think she was called Suzanne?) was absolutely brilliant. Her English was perfect and she was really helpful in finding us car hire information, information regarding day trips to the Tiede and to the waterparks.

Our room was lovely (although no kettle which is a nightmare for Brits!! - but we ordered coffee in the morning (4 euro for a big pot and some baked goods) ) with a balcony, MASSIVE bed, separate dressing area and bathroom with separate toilet. It was peaceful and the decor was classic and elegant. The only downfall was that the aircon didn't seem to work too well so we were constantly boiling.

The only downfall in the hotel was the Casino. On our second to last evening we went down looking to spend the 150 euros we had leftover but were met by a really rude receptionist who looked us up and down and told us to go and get changed. Once in the casino we were greeted by grumpy members of staff who did not make us feel welcome and did not have good English (I know we should probably have spoken more Spanish but this is a 5* hotel). We felt very unwelcome so just spent the free tokens we were given on check-in and spent our money elsewhere! Very disappointed.

Overall, the hotel is stunning, i'm so pleased we spent a little extra and got such a beautiful hotel. There is no beach which was a massive shame but you can get to one via bus. There is a stunning (and I mean STUNNING) perfectly maintained park 1 minute walk from the hotel with water features. We enjoyed many picnics here - it was a real highlight for me. There aren't many top end restaurants and bars but lots of little coffee shops and cheaper restaurants. I would definitely advise you to hire a car as they are very cheap (around £30 for 3 days) as lots of the tourist attractions and the beach are a long way away by public transport (and quite expensive - it cost us £40 for a round trip to Siam Park!!)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

My partner and I decided to try Tenerife for the first time and stayed at the Mencey.

Two words... TURTLE POND... sold it for us.

Once we got there, the staff was lovely and accommodating. Not all the restaurants were open but what was, was delicious. They were welcoming and remembered us though the entire trip. Though we purchased though Voyage Prive, it was worth even more than we spent, especially when it came to the views and the breakfast. Who can argue Prosecco for breakfast? I'll tell you, no one. Especially with the choice of food. great way to start the day...tipsy.

The rooms were clean and huge for a Junior Suite, with a beautiful view than extended on for Miles over the water clear way to the other islands. Feeling a little lethargic? Take a lap around the room. Clean, White, and the most massive bed I have ever spent the night in.

Location was nice, as Santa Cruz is so small you can wander around easily for shopping and food. Definitely on my list of places to revisit.

Any other questions, just give them a call, they will answer all of them before you even arrive.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
1 Thank odellray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey for your visit to Santa Cruz and for this praising 5 star review you published on Tripadvisor, it is wonderful to hear we were able to meet your expectations in terms of value and service.

Moreover we thank you for pointing out the kindness and helpfulness of our staff as well as the comfort and beauty of our recently refurbished accommodations.

The passion for gastronomy being one of the prime pillars of our company we greatly appreciate your praising comments on our cuisine; our restaurant Los Menceyes is a gastronomic reference in Santa Cruz and our Expert Chefs will be delighted to hear your full satisfaction with their culinary efforts.

Last but not least we thank you for pointing out our location, within an easy walking distance to the lively Santa Cruz center.

Thank you again for your visit and kind mention for our Turtles; we hope you had a pleasant journey back home and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at your earliest convenience.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz De Tenerife
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Had a great stay, very friendly staff, nice location next to the beautiful park garcia sanabria. Great areas at the hotel site, a nice medium sized pool with good temperature outside, smaller one inside with fountain and what looked like cold/hot tubs as well. The terrace/bar is partly in shadow, and parasols are available if the sun gets to hot in the sunny part. Restaurant next to the pool serves great lunchdishes. Several green open spaces and what looks like nice training facilities (never tried them). The hotel is spacious and airy, gives a comfortable, relaxed atmosphere. Very enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com

Helpful?
Thank Silje Berg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,

There is nothing we love more than reading that our guests felt well cared after and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of their stay at our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey; we are very grateful for your 5 stars review and the time you took out of your day to share your satisfaction with the travel community of TripAdvisor.

Moreover we thank you for pointing out the genuine kindness and helpfulness of our staff as well as the beauty of our luxury hotel and public areas.

The passion for gastronomy being one of the prime pillars of IBEROSTAR, we are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the culinary delights prepared at our pool bar.

Last but not least, we thank you for pointing out our location, in a quiet residential area of Santa Cruz fronting the beautiful Garcia Sanabria Park and within an easy walking distance to the many points of interest.

Once again, thank you for your time, we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our IBEROSTAR hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

This is a really impressive hotel. We stayed in a really posh suite with 2 babies. Room 457, on the corner so we had extra room.

We had a massive room with an alcove with spare bed for our toddler. Very large comfy bed for us and a cot for small baby. Jacuzzi bath was great.

We have been on tour of canaries mainly in apartments but for Santa Cruz for a week we decided to treat ourselves.

We were really looking forward to spending a nice week here with all the comforts of not leaving the hotel on an evening. However after eating in the restaurant during the day we found the food medioca. Deciding it may have been a one off decided to eat there on an evening. The food again was very average to say the least. We ate out after this.

For such a prestigious hotel I found this extremely disappointing. The breakfast was ok but I've had better in 4 star hotels.

Also which left a bit of a sour taste is that you pay 110 euros for a massage and to use the spa facilities (jacuzzi, diff pools etc) they expect you to pay a further 15 euros to use these. Shocking!

We did enjoy our stay and Santa Cruz is a lovely city break. All staff are very happy and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moogle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is physically beautiful, but doesn't measure up to what I would expect from a five star. There were four parties ahead of us in line to register. There were two desk staff, but it still took 1/2 an hour to check in and everyone had a reservation. One party was two singles, one of which was not due to arrive for several hours. The hotel didn't want to allow the first to arrive to check in. Although I certainly don't expect all hotel staff in Spain to speak English, I do expect the front line staff in a large five star hotel in a fairly large tourist city to know enough English to answer typical questions. None of this was horrible, but all these issues were not a problem in any of the three or four star hotels we had stayed in the previous three weeks. The room was clean and nicely appointed, but nothing particularly remarkable. The breakfast buffet, however, was outstanding.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bike_california
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Chosen because of favourable TripAdvisor reviews we were surprised and impressed when we arrived. The hotel has recently been refurbished (c.2012) but this was not a 'lick of paint and new drapes' makeover - the hotel appears to have been rebuilt from the outside in. Cool marble in reception, modern attractive rooms, and clean lines everywhere. We were able to eat breakfast outside (good buffet, eggs to order) and had dinner in the hotel (we were not there long enough to explore the rest of Santa Cruz) - the food was good but not exceptional and the service was friendly but not intrusive. The price was very good value - but when the hotel regains its client base lost during the long refurbishment you may have to pay what the hotel is really worth!read less

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz de Tenerife
17.9 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
39.9 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
41.1 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#28 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.5 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,320 reviews
41.2 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,791 reviews
39.4 mi away
Tagoro Family & Fun Costa Adeje
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey

Property: IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
Address: Calle Doctor Jose Naveiras, 38, 38004 Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Santa Cruz de Tenerife
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As part of the architectural and emotional heritage of Santa Cruz de Tenerife, the IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey is a symbol of the island. Over the course of six decades it has imbued the stays of famous figures with elegance and good taste. And likewise, the stays of the numerous guests who have chosen this hotel on the Canary Islands as the place for their holidays, events and business trips. Today we want you to also contribute to the history of the IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey. Infinite relaxation. From charming stays for a romantic getaway to rooms especially designed for groups and exclusive suites with infinite space. Whichever you choose, relaxation is guaranteed! I do. Imagine getting married under a pergola of fragrant flowers, celebrating your ceremony in a garden lit up by lanterns and ending the night by dancing until sunrise. At this luxury hotel in Tenerife, you can personalise the wedding of your dreams to suit your every need. A universe of sensations. This is what awaits you in Spa Sensations. Discover the final frontier of relaxation in its water circuits and with its massages, or rejuvenate like a fine wine with the Wine Sensation therapy. A symphony of flavours. The traditional dishes of the island and the special touch of our chefs make each meal a moment to remember. Cuttlefish on a bed of tomato tartar, prawn salad, artisanal Canary Island cheeses … Music for the ears and the greatest of pleasures for your palette! In the heart of Tenerife. The location of this hotel means you have everything within easy reach. Spend an afternoon shopping at the shopping centres just a stone’s throw away. Or visit Parque Rural de Anaga and explore its lush laurel forest. All kinds of rooms for all kinds of events. This, combined with its terraces, the 7,000 m² of gardens and the best temperature in the world, make this hotel in Tenerife a unique setting to organise events. And, speaking of gardens… Don’t forget to pay a fun visit to the turtles that live in the hotel! All without even leaving the hotel. At the IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey there are an infinite number of activities you can try. Test out your culinary skills in our cooking master classes, refine your olfactory senses with our wine tasting sessions or challenge your partner to an exhilarating game of paddle tennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey Tenerife/Santa Cruz De Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing