We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Grand Hotel Mencey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

An amazing experience, despite being in the city it felt like we were in a peaceful place away from all the hustle and bustle. The room was immaculate, and the facilities provided were 5 star. We enjoyed the gym, and the large spa, along with paddle racket on the rooftop courts. The waiters at dinner were very friendly and helpful, as were all of the receptionists and bar staff. The food both at dinner and champagne breakfast was very good, overall a top experience. We look forward to visiting more Iberostar boutique hotels in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Karim,

We are thrilled we were able to provide you with an “amazing experience” at our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey; thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting Santa Cruz and for the time you spent to share this praising review on your stay.

Moreover we are grateful for your highlights on the beauty and comfort of our accommodations and are glad you took advantage of our Spa and sport facilities.

Our hotel being a gastronomic reference in Tenerife, we will not fail to share your compliments with our talented Chefs as we know this will mean a great deal to them.

Last but not least, we are very pleased to read such lovely comments on our staff; at IBEROSTAR we strive to deliver an excellent and personalized service to all our guests and lay high value on our personnel being guest orientated and welcoming at all times.

Once more, thank you for your visit and the courtesy of your time; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and remain at your entire disposal through our call center to help you choose your next IBEROSTAR destination among more than 100 hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,824)
There are newer reviews for IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

597 - 603 of 1,824 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

My husband was recently recovering from an illness while on holiday and we had to stay an extra week on holiday. I approached the Assistant Manager Christine for assistance in booking somewhere suitable for my family The Manager Jose and Christine organized full board for us and two beautiful bedrooms .We had a fabulous stay in the hotel and really enjoyed the top class service and relaxing ambience. The food was beautifully served in a lovely restaurant overlooking the pool.The kindness that Jose and Christine showed towards me was over and above the call of duty and I cannot praise them highly enough .My sincere thanks to you all .Margaret

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014


Excellent does not begin to describe our fantastic stay. From the courteous reception to the pool lifeguard nothing was too much bother. The food was very good with many interesting and well presented dishes. The room was also very good and kept very clean with pleasant views over the garden. The choice of bars and seating areas made choosing a difficult decision.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
2  Thank VicJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed mid july this year - we had only booked 3 nights as we heard the weather in Santa Cruz was not always great, but it was, and even in a hailstorm the Mencey would be worth it. Everything about the hotel was perfect - gorgeous room, really nice atmosphere and a fantastic hotel grounds. The location was nice and quiet but still plenty to do and not too far away from the busier side of things, and the hotel staff would provide us with whatever we needed. Was devastated to have to leave as this was without question the nicest experience I've ever had in a hotel, and I certainly hope to return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CamSadawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This really is a lovely hotel which comfortably lives up to its name. The rooms are large and nicely furnished and the staff are helpful and attentive. There is marble everywhere and the overall quality would not be out of place in the poshest resorts on the French Riviera.

The hotel is very close to the main shopping centre and a 20 minute walk from the Old Town. It is also virtually next door to the best park in Santa Cruz and there are many restaurants and cafes in the area if you want a change from eating at the hotel.

This hotel delivers outstanding value and I would not hesitate to use it again.

Room Tip: Avoid a ground floor room as some of them overlook an outdoor eating area and compromise privacy, pa...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This really is a Grand Old Dame of a Hotel.

Wonderful public spaces, tastefully restored only recently and extensive well maintained grounds. The feeling of space and grandeur is great, yet there is a pleasant informality to it. The Hotels own web-site does I think undersell it, very rare!

Pool, gym and spa outstanding, the pool is outdoor, salt water and very refreshing. When we were there it was not too busy. Gym has a full range of equipment, opens along one wall to allow a great flow of air, and has a range of free classes for residents. Spa very reasonable, we had full massages for €35 outstanding value in any money.

Food also very good and very reasonably priced, bar snacks, lunch and dinner had a nice array of local dishes and service charming by local staff, with some real highlights particularly seafood.

The rooms as are clean, minimalist and have great beds. Not the most extensive of facilities in them, but with the great public spaces this is not an issue. Agree with others that aircon an Wi-Fi could be better, but neither caused us any great difficulty.

We had a Superior rooms with sea views with a balconies, and I would go for this since the views were dramatic.

Best of all was probably breakfast. I have been in many hotels and buffet can be hit or a miss, but this was very extensive, very fresh, varied daily, could be taken in a lovely courtyard, and whilst decadent the Cava was a delight. Worth going for the B&B option since lunch not then required.

Would recommend to anyone and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view if you can get it. Go for the B&B option since breakfast is outstanding
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed 11th to 19th July 2014. First time for us in Tenerife. We found all of the staff very attentive, helpful and courteous. In particular, the lifeguard at the pool couldn't have been more helpful and professional - very attentive us and to all people who arrived at the pool. The food was excellent, the gin and tonics amazing (12 euros does seem a lot for a g&t, but when you see the preparation, knowledge and effort which goes in to the making of your chosen gin, you can see why - this is not an ice and a slice gin!)
The rooms and hotel were really clean- the only comment we would make was that the air conditioning could have been a little more effective. The cleaners were all polite and professional maintaining a high standard of cleanliness.
Unlike other '5 star' hotels we have stayed at in Spain and the islands, this, in our opinion, justified its claims in the brochure. The spa is an added bonus too and well worth a visit.
We found Santa Cruz to have some excellent shops and restaurants - a mix of high end designer shops, but also smaller gift shops and 'high street' shops. Also some really nice deli's to have a coffee and pastries less than a 10 minute walk from the hotel.
If you are like us and wanted to do something different - try the casino on the lower floor of the hotel.
A great stay - we would most definitely return, either as a couple, or with our family.

Room Tip: we had a basic room which was fine - for a better view, if preferred, there is an option to upgrade...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz de Tenerife
40.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
#16 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,705 reviews
17.9 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,650 reviews
39.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.9 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
39.5 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#14 of 59 in Costa Adeje
2,341 reviews
39.9 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey

Address: Calle Doctor Jose Naveiras, 38, 38004 Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Santa Cruz de Tenerife
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
Price Range: £89 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey is the most emblematic hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife. Witness to the radiance that Tenerife inspires in the most famous travellers on Earth, the Grand Hotel Mencey is now a fusion of styles that combines a respect for history and hotel tradition with the latest in services and facilities that a modern traveller will appreciate. The hotel features La Cocina del Mencey, a culinary space where you can experience all kinds of gastronomic offers; SPA Sensations with more than 4,500 m² of space for you to take some well-deserved care of body and mind; a luxury fitness centre with yoga and Pilates classes, as well as paddle tennis courts; and spaces full of elegance, an imposing architecture and unique services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey Tenerife/Santa Cruz De Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing