We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Horizonte(Santa Cruz de Tenerife)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
NH Tenerife(Santa Cruz de Tenerife)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Principe Paz(Santa Cruz de Tenerife)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Nautico(Santa Cruz de Tenerife)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Escuela Santa Cruz(Santa Cruz de Tenerife)
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Colon Rambla(Santa Cruz de Tenerife)
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Adonis Capital(Santa Cruz de Tenerife)
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Taburiente(Santa Cruz de Tenerife)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Silken Atlantida Santa Cruz(Santa Cruz de Tenerife)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Occidental Santa Cruz Contemporaneo(Santa Cruz de Tenerife)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,018)
Filter reviews
2,018 results
Traveller rating
1,203
562
171
54
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,203
562
171
54
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden viewfive star hotelsanta cruzindoor poolgreat facilitiessalt waterhotel guestshalf boardcolonial stylefabulous hotelbreakfast buffetpool sideper daypublic areasbeautiful parkjunior suitetown centre
Filter
Updating list...
669 - 674 of 2,018 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We booked a last minute holiday and were thrilled to arrive at this hotel. From the minute we arrived until we left, we enjoyed fabulous hospitality and service. Alex, at the pool was courteous and professional as were all the staff. Our room (a junior suite) was elegant and was wonderful to return to after days of sunbathing, shopping and eating. The hotel's location is across the road from beautiful gardens and a short stroll to the centre of Santa Cruz. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone and, in fact, we are trying to return in October.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
2  Thank manstan35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We have just returned from our 9 day stay in Tenerife ,of which we spent 5 days in the north of the island staying at the Mencey and 4 days in the south at Villa Maria suite hotel.The private transfer at night took 45 minutes and cost about £45 via resorthoppers. The drive into Santa Cruz with first impressions was a a little industrial ,but as we got into the centre of Santa Cruz
we were pleased with the hotels location and pleasant surroundings. The check in was
efficient and we were offered Cava and fruit juices for the boys and finding the first receptionist struggling with English we were passed onto a polite lady who was most helpful..A hotel porter to take bags from the taxi initially or one to take them to the room did not seem to be employed at the hotel.
We booked two rooms interconnecting which was good value for the space provided and refinement.A kettle for tea and coffee making would be a helpful addition.
A room tip would be to pay a little extra to have your balcony facing the gardens .As the view of the apartments from our balcony and the slight road noise on the first floor in the mornings would make this upgrade our choice if visiting again.
The hotel has been well designed and all areas are immaculate with good attention to detail.
with the mix of old and new build working together.I was unable to get a balinese massage on the day I wanted but was about 75 euro for an hour.
The pool area ,spa and eating areas have great attention to detail in design and certainly of a 5 star standard in appearance.
The hotel is situated on the top of a hill in the centre os Santa Cruz which is the capital of Tenerife.We would leave the hotel and walk through a lovely family park ,with art works
and beautifully planted beds .It felt so safe even late at night to walk through,no litter ,no vandalism felt ashamed of our own parks at home.We tended to eat out in town at night
and found some lovely Tapas bars/restaurants ,Cortxo was our favourite with some
excellent food .The setting looks a bit shabby at first but every night it was fully booked with locals so you knew it was good value and great food.
We loved walking back to the cafe at the bottom of the park ,which had a big screen at night showing kids films ,getting an ice cream for the kids and coffee for ourselves and chilling
before heading up to the hotel.
We ate at the hotel the first night as arrived quite late and also at lunchtimes at the pool bar.
The food is of a good quality the gin and tonic foam over the citrus ice cream was my favourite
dish.The prices are very reasonable for a 5 star hotel but probably twice the price you could find in Santa cruz.
My only problem we found at the hotel was the restaurant staff spoke or understood very little
English .Even simple requests such as for a wine menu ,large beer, cocktails were repeatedly misunderstood or what I found even more annoying ignored! Having travelled globally with the family found the communication skills of the restaurant staff probably the worst i have ever come across.This was not mirrored at other small restaurants in Santa Cruz or the 5 star hotel
we stayed in the south of Tenerife so is definitely an issue in this part of the Hotel. The problem seemed to stem from the two senior members of the restaurant staff who need to
be taken for retraining by the Hotel management as you cannot ignore 25% of your guests.
Onto positive comments for the staff ,the lifeguard who looked after us wonderfully each day ,and the lovely entertainment lady,
In summary a good Hotel,and good value ,if they could sort out the communication in the restaurant would make it really special.

Room Tip: room facing garden /pool spanish translator book
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank eldentooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed for a fantastic week at Hotel Mencey - myself, my husband and our 11 year old daughter. We booked a Junior Suite, this gave us a huge room with a single bed, sofa and chairs and desk at one end and a massive bed at the other. The bathroom had a whirlpool bath, large shower and double sinks as well as the toilet/bidet in a separate room. We also had 2 balconies overlooking the street outside. This meant there was some traffic noise in the mornings. The room was very clean, well appointed and housekeeping kept it that way. The beds were comfortable and the air conditioning worked well. We didn't use the TV much as we had ipods which we could play through the speaker system in the room. If I had a criticism (and I have had to think very hard for this!) it would be that we could have done with a couple more drawers in the very large wardrobe. I couldn't get the wifi to work on my phone, it did on my husband's.
Breakfast was lovely - lots of choice of fruit, breads, cakes, tapas style cooked food, drinks etc. Cava was also available. Staff were always topping things up. We ate on a courtyard outside which was great.
The pool area was, again, very clean and tidy. It isn't over full of sunbeds and we did have to wait for sunbeds once. However, this means that the area doesn't feel crowded as in other hotels. The pool attendant/lifeguard was always busy sweeping up, keeping the sunbeds tidy etc. and took a lot of pride in his job. The pool itself was saltwater and very refreshing after baking in the very hot sun. We liked the tree-side where we could watch the palm trees as we relaxed. Even the pool changing rooms and toilets were spotless.
There was a kids club where someone called Kevin would organise games for the few children at the hotel for an hour or 2, and our daughter very much enjoyed this. It also got her out of the sun when it was at its hottest.
We ate at the poolbar once - expensive but lovely salads and excellent service. In the evenings we tended to walk into Santa Cruz to eat. There weren't many really touristy places - I only managed a glass of sangria once - but we had some good meals.
The whole hotel is beautifully clean and luxuriously decorated. Staff are unobtrusive but friendly and so helpful.
We had a wonderful holiday and I felt a lump in my throat as we left for the last time. We thoroughly recommend this hotel - and hope to return sometime.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMAH67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed for 1 week at Hotel Mencey in August 2014. As per the previous reviews the hotel is very beautiful, quiet and in an excellent location. We stayed in a basic room which was more than adequate. A balcony would have been nice, however as we had the aircon on we would not have used it that much.

Tips for travellers:
Arrival from TNS Airport - I emailed the hotel twice prior to leaving UK to arrange a transfer from the airport with no reply. booked return private transfer with Clicktransfers and it all went to plan. The drive is about 45 mins.

On arrival we were given a free glass of champagne which was very nice. We ate in the bar, which was not too expensive and was adequate.

Swimming pool - there are not enough sun loungers. The lifeguard is very friendly, however as a result, the first day we were there we waited 40 minutes for a towel as he was engaged in conversation with two guests. I have since realised guests keep their pool towels in their rooms to enable "booking" of a lounger prior to the lifeguard being available (to issue the towels) at 10am. The pool however is a lovely area.

Gym - I am a gym user so this was a key reason for selecting the hotel. The gym is state of the art and has plenty of cardio and free weight equipment. There is also a smith machine. The glass wall is opened to let some much needed air into the gym. the gym opens at 7am and the glass wall is not opened until later - there does not appear to be air con in the gym at this time and it is very uncomfortable. there are fitnesses classes which will run if there is more than one customer. they are okay, a change from the norm. Suggestions for hotel re the gym 1) invest in a barbell rack (barbell necessity) and allow guests to use the activity room when there are no classes on - there is not enough space for fitness which does not involve the use of the equipment.

The service at the hotel is patchy - VERY few of the restaurant staff speak English. I appreciate I am in Tenerife, however always hope for some English in an international hotel. Bar menu could do with some cocktails and details in English.
It is one of those hotels where you think twice about asking for something as it is likely to be complicated´- for example an English version of the Spa brochure. Asked twice (at reception) in the evening - first told to come back at 10pm then to come back the next morning. Next morning, "no english brochures in all hotel". However, that being said, at other times reception staff were very helpful - it appears to be a hit or a miss.

the hotel is located very close to the old town (just head downhill). For UK type Latte only places to go are a small caffe "Latte" located at the bottom of the park and MacDonalds. Cocina Urbana across from the hotel is nice. A great italian is de Calina No 3 which is very close to the hotel also (cross the road towards Ubana, turn left, second right - I think). It´s on trip advisor and has huge portions at very good value. I would avoid some of the restaurants in the centre as they are typical tourist traps - expensive and poor value.

Supermaket - very close - cross road, turn left, first right.

Taxi rank right across the road.

Bus station is in the centre of town. there are no tours from Santa Cruz to the volcano. You have to take a bus to pureto de la cruz. Tourist information near water front has more information.

To summarise, the hotel is lovely, not 5 star and met all of our needs.

As per previous reviews, it would make SUCH A DIFFERENCE to a tea drinking nation if tea and coffee making facilities were in the room!

oh and website states hairdryer on request - there is one in the bathroom! (1 less kilo).

Wifi is free, you are given a unique password per device. It can be difficult to log in again, however if you type ap or pas in your browser you cookies will take you to the log in screen, long before it goes there itself!
happy to answer questions :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank Didley46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

A beautiful, clean and peaceful hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was great. While we were there it was my sons and my birthday on both days we had surprise birthday cakes put in our room which was a nice touch. We had a great stay there and would definately go back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews