We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Adonis Capital
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The hotel is noisy in its interior because every floor is tiled and there is a marked lack of soft furnishings, rugs, carpets or the like. In our room there was also no modesty curtain meaning those in nearby hi-rise buildings had to have their sensitivities preserved by our use of the heavy doorway curtain separating the balcony. Like the room the balcony was a good size, with plastic table and chairs. However, its light, like all the other balcony lights, cannot be operated. The staff told me they'd reported the fault but nothing changed during our ten day stay. The room, whilst large, is sparsely furnished and the location of the door is in conflict with the position of the en-suite meaning that much space was squandered by design. The TV had only one English speaking TV channel which in this day and age is unfortunate. Breakfast was good, albeit in an unavoidably cramped room in the event of two dozen customers attending at the same time. Breakfast staff amounted to the wonderful lady known as "Loli". She works on her own, very hard, cooking, washing up, doing everything to keep the ample buffet stocked, clearing tables for those customers unwilling to meet the basic responsibility of returning their used crockery to the counter they must pass as they leave, and she does it all with a welcoming manner. The management have a gem in Loli and she is surely worthy of special recognition for the service she provides.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed here for three nights in January 2014. We tried to contact the hotel prior to arrival (one month in advance) to request a quiet room, with no response.

When we arrived we were given a room facing the square on the second floor. This was probably one of the noisiest rooms in the entire hotel. The windows didn't even shut properly and there was no door handle/lock on the toilet. Afterward we moved (after a lot of convincing) to the third floor. Still, this was VERY NOISY until late at night.

The staff were extremely unhelpful and seems very frazzled and stressed. They seemed to have no overview of what rooms were available. First there were no free rooms because of housekeeping (no problem we said, we can wait), then it was because the hotel was suddenly fully booked. Then suddenly, they had to make room changes for other unhappy guests.. etc. Who knows. The last night we slept in an "interior room" which was excellent! Quiet and just what we needed. Why we couldn't have this room in the first place, I do not know.

On the third morning before leaving, I found a maggot (alive and moving) on my bread slice. Ok, I understand these things happen. It was not the fault of the kitchen staff as she explained the bread came from the bakery.

However, afterward, at the reception, I kindly requested a refund for my breakfast. The women actually asked me "are you sure you didn't eat anything?". I said that I lost my appetite. Then she told me the breakfast for one morning cost so little, was it worth a refund. My reply: Yes. And I should get a refund based on principle.

Overall, the staff need some basic training in hospitality and customer service.

However, to end on a positive note - the beds were comfortable, the rooms were clean, and the bathrooms were spacious.

Room Tip: Do not pay for your room until you see it. Once you have paid and take the key it is very difficult...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hools007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Just spent a pleasant few days here, the city has many pleasant squares and atmosphere. This hotel has a good view of Plaza Candalaria. The staff were most helpful during our stay, we had a high balcony room and had fantastic views of the sea and the city. Breakfast was excellent especially for the price, it would put 4 or 5 star hotels to shame, all fresh lots of choice, the coffee was very good, I think they must have changed the machine!..
Arrived here on the bus from Los cristianos, you must use the bono card, it costs 15 or 25 euros but it gives up to 40% off the bus fare in Santa Cruz you can also use it on the tram up to La Laguna, take the tram marked Trinidad & this will take you to La Laguna a in 30mins, all up hill but interesting trip, it cost 1 euro each. The bus station has an excellent cafe which does a very reasonably priced set 3 course menu, only found this out on the way back, but food looked good.
Caught the bus to playa de la Teresitas about 20mins away and it leaves the bus station every 15 mins. Bus goes to San Andres, but don't get off here it is the next stop. Toilets cafés and sun des here all reasonable price.
By the way if you are struggling or have children, macdonalds is downstairs of this hotel.

Room Tip: Balconys on top floor are huge and have a good view do the port and the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julie260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Very helpful reception guest staff, the location is good and the price appeared reasonable though it was off season but the rooms are basic and need to be better cleaned, especially the bathroom floor. Please note to take the very efficient 111 bus to Tenerife South airport you can use a Bono card (we had one EUR15 Bono card between two people and so we paid EUR6.70 each instead of if I remember correctly EUR9.20 each)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Imparare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Adonis Capital for two nights in March 2013, paying a total of 78 Euros for a medium-sized room with double bed, inclusive of breakfast. There is another Adonis Hotel (the Plaza) just round the corner, in the Plaza de Espana. I found the staff on reception and in the cafe pleasant and helpful.

As a previous reviewer remarked, they have gone rather overboard with the terracotta-coloured tiling, which cascades out of the bathroom into the bedroom! At least they cover only one of the walls there as well as the floor! The room overlooked a small light inner courtyard and was on the 5th floor, reached by an efficient lift. The soundproofing was not terribly good, as voices echoing in the corridor could be easily heard; this is partly due, I think, to the door being so flimsy. The bed was very comfortable and I slept well both nights. There was adequate hanging space and efficient Internet access, free of charge via wi-fi. There was also satellite TV, though I never watched it. The bathroom was fine and there was always plenty of hot water. The bath was even equipped with a plug - something of a rarity these days! I thought that the standards of cleanliness weren't that great, especially in the bathroom. They were, however, adequate.

Breakfast was served in the cafe on the top floor, which has great views of the port and city. I thought that it was above standard for a hotel in this price bracket in terms mainly of range rather than of quality. Fresh fruit was available, which was a plus. The coffee, from a machine, was pretty awful, however.

The location, on a small side street leading from the central Plaza de Espana, could hardly be better. The nearest tram stop (ideal for getting to the UNESCO-listed heritage town of La Laguna) is only a few minutes' walk from the hotel and it takes only ten minutes to walk to the ferry station (I arrived by hydrofoil from Gran Canaria). There are plenty of decent cafes, bars and restaurants within a short walk of the hotel and the area felt very safe at night.

I was quite satisfied with my stay and would return there and recommend it to budget travellers. Hotel accommodation in Santa Cruz is not cheap and I don't think that you're likely to find many hotels in this category offering better value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cosmo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adonishotelsresorts, Director of Sales at Hotel Adonis Capital, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear Sir,
We thank you for your comment as feedback from our guests help us to keep our services at the highest possible level and we appreciate your overall positive evaluation.
As you experienced during your stay our mission is providing our customers the best price/quality ratio in the center of Santa Cruz with a nice atmosphere and a friendly service!
All the Staff & Management thank you and we are looking forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

OK, for this price range, we did expect some basic lodgings, but...
Upon arrival, the room wasn't ready yet, though check-in time specified 11AM. We had to return twice (!) before ther room was at last ready at 2:30 PM. Luggage room was not locked.
The room was awful, fully tiled, even the doors and wall. They must have sprayed an entire can of either pot pourri or insecticiede, cause the smell was horrible.
The lock of the door had been forced apparently as damage around the door frame and lock was still visible.
The furniture was cheap, but we did have a large balcony! However, the doors to the balcony weren't easy to open as the curtains were tied together (untying them revealed that they were hanging up by three pins) and could'nt be opened from the left, right or center.
We only had one bedside lamp (we do both like to read before sleeping or find the way to the bathroom). The bedspread was dirty and showed old bloodstains. Single glazing - which means that the room is quite noisy at night.
The bathroom was dreary and damp, the toilet paper remained moist during our entire stay, despite not having taken a shower. The toiletries were leftovers, as the soap was already used and sort of repacked.
Breakfast was served across the plaza in the sister hotel, as the current hotel was undergoing refurbishments. Quality wasn't excellent, but what bothered us most was the very unfriendly and even rude staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah_BE_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We chose mostly because it was the best offer for Santa Cruz. The location is great. The room was really basic and it looked weird beacuse it has hone in the room even on the wall. It was quite clean though.
The breakfast was awfull. The restaurant was dirty. The tables were not cleaned at all and there was a lot of dirt on the floor.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alina_vo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz de Tenerife hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Adonis Plaza
Hotel Adonis Plaza
#13 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Horizonte
Hotel Horizonte
#9 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Occidental Santa Cruz Contemporaneo
Occidental Santa Cruz Contempora...
#5 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pelinor
Hotel Pelinor
#16 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Tenerife
NH Tenerife
#3 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
598 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Nautico
Hotel Nautico
#10 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adonis Capital? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adonis Capital

Address: Calle Cruz Verde 24 | Esq. Pza. Candelaria, 38003 Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Santa Cruz de Tenerife
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
Price Range: £31 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Adonis Capital 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Adonis Capital reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Adonis Capital Tenerife/Santa Cruz De Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing