We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel but work on your customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Escuela Santa Cruz
Strabane, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel but work on your customer service”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

When you go to a Hotel that takes you over 3 hours to find and even the locals have great difficulty in describing how you get there, you think your stay is going to be all that and more. But surprisingly the stay was amazing except for the last activity ... leaving the car park.
I had booked 2 knights to take advantage of the annual festival, 2nd largest behind Rio, and the superb location. The fact that the parade went past the front of the hotel was a bonus. I took great pictures and the whole experience was priceless.
The last evening of festivities was coming to a close and I had arranged with the hotel to leave our car in the hotel car park to collect later.
When arriving back early in the morning to collect the car I was asked what room I was in. I told the gentleman over the intercom I was in a specific room, but he closed the garage doors and said he did not have me as being resident. I informed him of the arrangement I had with the hotel and he called me a 'Liar' If I did not have guests with me that were very tired and wanted to go home, I would have marched up to reception and asked for an apology.
He was cheeky, arrogant and disrespectful. I have written to the hotel to inform them of my treatment and as of yet I have received no reply. Needless to say, I won’t be recommending this place to my work colleagues from a customer service perspective. Shame really ... it was pleasant stay which was ruined by bad manners and a lack of customer service follow up.

Room Tip: Higher floors have spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rj9963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
38205Montse, Community management at Hotel Escuela Santa Cruz, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Sr.:
Hemos intentado ponernos en contacot con usted varias veces, pero sin exio.
Lamentamos mucho el incidente ocurrido. No le quepa la menor duda que hemos dado un toque de atencion a nuestro personal, para que esto no vuelva a ocurrir. Necesitamos saber exactamente el día y hora en el que sucedió este hecho para saber quien estaba de turnoy poder corregir esta mala accion.
Si usted lo desea ne podría facilitar su número de telefon y correo para ponernos en contacto con usted personalmente. Mi correo elctrónico es msalamanca@hecansa.com

Sin otro particular y agradeciendole su critica se despide de usted atentamente
Montse Salamanca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    111
    36
    14
    6
See reviews for
27
105
8
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed at the Escuela for one night whilst at the Carnaval in Santa Cruz. It was very good value for a hotel during a busy time in Santa Cruz and we were surprised that breakfast was included in the price

The public areas of the hotel are very impressive and the swimming pool looked inviting, but the rooms were a little tired. The room smelt of stale cigarettes, the mock suede bed cover and cushion covers were a bit grubby and the beds were not very comfortable. Having said that I must stress that it was exceptional value for money.

The breakfast was good and had an extensive continental buffet including Cava and smoked salmon. The staff were efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulaHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
38205Montse, Coordinador de alojamiento at Hotel Escuela Santa Cruz, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Google Translation
Estimada Sra. Paula:

Le agradecemos mucho su comentario. En la fecha en la que usted nos visitó nuestro hotel estaba al completo y muchas veces los clientes fumaban en habitaciones de no fumadores.
Lamentamos mucho este hecho. En cuanto a los plaid y los cojines intentaremos mejorar lo máximo posible.
Sin otro particular y agradeciendo la confianza depositada en nosotros se despide atentamente

Montse Salamanca
Coordinación de alojamiento
Community management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

That's a really perfect hotel for journeys by car round the island! It's situated in the city center and very close to main Tenerife autopista. Parking garage (included in room rate) is very convenient. Staff is helpful. Room is comfortable. Breakfast is outstanding! (Good food, freshly squeezed orange juice and delicious pies). Hotel's design is great. I really enjoyed my stay here. Great experience!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denis-from-Fulham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Located near the football ground up a hill with a small swimming pool which does not attract too much sun.

The hotel is a school for training staff into the industry and unfortunately some of the trainees have little idea although they try hard.

We asked for a restaurant recommendation and what we were given could best be described as barely adequate. They only had there own house wine and whilst the food was OK and plentiful it was NOT what we expected as the total bill for 4 people was €48. Yes it was cheap but if I am staying at a 4* hotel I expect to pay more than this for dinner. We asked for bath and shower gel and after 2 hours nothing had arrived.

The first day the breakfast was excellent with a wide a varied choice with plenty of staff. The second day which was a Sunday, every table had been taken and with only 1 waitress 80 % of the tables had not been cleared.

We had a junior suite which was good value with a large bathroom and separate living area and probably worth paying more for the facility

Room Tip: pay extra for a Junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Grabybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Petherton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The hotel is very well located within a 10-minute walk of central Santa Cruz for the market, old quarter and restaurants and of the Ramblas. Staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful and it was great to see so many young people being trained in the hotel industry. Free garaged parking is a great asset. Our room 104 overlooking the pool was quiet, large, modern, immaculately clean with excellent bed, safe and minibar/fridge. Bathroom had a very good shower as well as an over-bath shower! The buffet breakfast was magnificent with anything you could possibly imagine or want, with cooked food available on request (superb French omelette).
Outstanding value and quality.

Room Tip: Our room on the reception level was immaculate in every way, maybe others have not been renovated re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hh13rh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We spent 1 night in Tenerife lately in Oct 13 and stayed at Escuela hotel after a colleague advise. The Staff was very sympathic, available for help at any time and took their time to show us best places in the city.
The hotel itself is very well located as close few shopping centers and restaurants.
We were really surprised by the quality of the service and the standing of the hotel, especially for the low price we paid (around 60 Euros). Great architecture, clean, with swimming pool.
We will definetly go back for another stay there any time we travel to Tenerife.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Consty225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hale, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

Arrived with 3 colleagues in the early evening to be told - very casually - that I was sharing a room with one of them. I made it clear that this was unacceptable. They said the hotel was full. The staff then brought a manager who said I could have another room. Laughably, this was a room allocated to another of my colleagues. Finally I told them to cancel all 4 rooms and we would find another hotel. They made some more calls and, magically, a spare room appeared. The hotel is old, needs a refurb, air con was ineffective, IT systems lousy! I won't be back

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank IRT68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz de Tenerife hotels
0.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,786 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silken Atlantida Santa Cruz
Silken Atlantida Santa Cruz
#4 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
654 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Colon Rambla
Hotel Colon Rambla
#2 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Taburiente
Hotel Taburiente
#6 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
588 reviews
0.8 mi away
Occidental Santa Cruz Contemporaneo
Occidental Santa Cruz Contempora...
#5 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
995 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH Tenerife
NH Tenerife
#3 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Escuela Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Escuela Santa Cruz

Property: Hotel Escuela Santa Cruz
Address: Avenida San Sebastian 152, 38003 Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Santa Cruz de Tenerife
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Escuela Santa Cruz 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Escuela Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Escuela Santa Cruz Tenerife/Santa Cruz De Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing