We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, functional and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Occidental Santa Cruz Contemporaneo
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I was in Santa Cruz for a business conference and we were put up at this hotel. Apart from missing a bath (they are becoming rarer and rarer!), the room was light and airy, well designed and the bathroom was cleverly thought out with plenty of space for one's toiletries which is not always the case. Very extensive choices for breakfast - and a terrific cafe/bar to chill out in the evenings offering delicious snacks/tapas. Staff very helpful and accommodating. Issues with speed of Wifi but that was the case at the three surrounding hotels, one of which was a 5 star!! They were also very flexible when we moved some of our delegates from another hotel - charming and efficient. A great find!

Room Tip: Make sure it is not one which overlooks an internal lightwell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,083)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 1,085 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 5 nights at the end of January when we booked a last minute trip away. The hotel is nice and quite modern, however the room was quite small and had no balcony, which made it feel like a box. The room was clean, it could have done with a bit more attention though, there was quite a bit of dust around the skirting and bedside table. The room card stopped working quite a few times, which was annoying as we were on the 5th floor and had to go back down to reception for them to fix it, 3 times on one occasion. If you're looking for a cheap hotel and are not planning to spend much time in it apart from sleeping I'd say this one would be fine, it's certainly not a bad hotel. The location is OK, everything it Santa Cruz is within walking distance. If I was returning to Santa Cruz I would likely look for an alternative, however I would not rule it out completely.

Room Tip: Don't keep your room key/card next to your phone, apparently this is why it stopped working, whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank monkeyboy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed here 24-31 of December. It was Lovely. Rooms are clean and very nice. Excellent bathroom. Staff is lovely. Breakfast perfect. One big plus is the roof terrace with the pool. That really was a retreat travelling to Tenerife in December. Don't miss the hotel bar. Lovely space and delicious small dishes.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

at check in was given wrong information about were to eat for evening half board meal
also was not given the key to activate safe,even though we asked if room had a safe,on trying to use the safe found if didnt work
shower head in bathroom was hanging off,plus water temp very difficult to control
sound proofing as advertised cant possible work with an ajoining room door,could hear their tv/conversation
half board meals was poor on saturday and sunday ( didnt eat on sunday due to same menu),dessert was a pot of yoghurt or 2 pieces of fruit,mondays meal was better
couldnt get wifi to work
breakfast was good quality and balcony was nice

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I arrived Saturday for 4 nights and was on half board
The restaurant is close on the weekend and they send you to the bar , it can be noisy on weekend...
They have the same menu and only a choice over 2 entrees and 2 main so hopefully you like both of the selection otherwise you will be served the same food on Saturday night and Sunday night
Bier is not included in the half board only wine or mineral water
Food is extremely average and I will not recommend to eat at the hotel specially since the city centre is only a few minutes walking distance

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank tck1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed here a week for the Christmas in room 214, a standard room with basic amenities. Our room had a small frig, desk, good lighting, a safe (Need help from the front desk with the setting of the lock), a few hangars, bathroom amenities(with a small bit of soap for hand washing), heavy blanket in the closet in case it gets too cold, and a flat screen TV on the desk….however for Eng.channel just the BBC World News, or if there’s more choice would have been good. The room was very clean, bed was comfortable and floors were hardwood. The breakfast buffet has everything you could want to eat. Though not all staff speak English they are polite and very helpful. Swimming pool on the 5th fl, looks OK but we didn't try this time. The location is excellent....just a short walk to the nice park, the city centre and a bus (nr921) stop right in front of the hotel. By bus921 it takes just few minutes to the bus terminal, where we can take the buses to the North shore and the South part as well as the Airport South. If you don’t rent a car, then take the collective transport, but don’t forget to buy a Bono travel Card(the card is not personal. One card can be used by several persons since the cost is printed on the card each time)…..it’s so convenient with that in hand! For eg. We went to the North shore several times….the pyramid i Güimar, La Laguna and don’t miss the exciting bus ride on the mountain ride to Taganana(not for those who are fear of heights) We got very gd info at the tourist Info Centre.
Not so good: noise interference from outside the room or adjacent room noise for eg. in the early morning. Perhaps improvement needs for the free wifi, too. It is available in the hotel but perhaps for certain amount of time, you are forced to log in over and over.
Overall it’s a good hotel and we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mia987_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed here for one night
. Hotel contemporary decor, check in ok except they wanted passports and we are residents in the south so don't carry our passports they finally accepted our NIE.
Room was adequate shower very good and nice quality toilet paper!!
We only had one set of towels for two, but a call to housekeeping they brought extra quickly.
Floors were wood throughout so very noisy when walking on corridors.
Breakfast to look at was very nice, to eat and drink was bad. The hot food was cold, the juices were watered down and horrible. The sliced bread was only fit for toasting as it had gone hard with being exposed.the cheese looked watery and slimy I didn't even try it.
Our friends had a triple room which was so tiny you couldn't walk round beds.
The hotel is as I have put completely average wouldn't stay again but only because of breakfast, it's the worst I've had anywhere I stayed before.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sassysarah85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz de Tenerife
18.5 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#19 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
397 reviews
39.5 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
2,105 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Tenerife
NH Tenerife
#2 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey
Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,875 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hotel Sun Holidays
Hotel Sun Holidays
#22 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
218 reviews
39.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Santa Cruz Contemporaneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Santa Cruz Contemporaneo

Address: Rambla de Santa Cruz 116, 38001 Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Santa Cruz de Tenerife
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
Price Range: £53 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Occidental Santa Cruz Contemporaneo 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Barcelo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Santa Cruz Contemporaneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Santa Cruz Contemporaneo Tenerife/Santa Cruz De Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing