We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Occidental Santa Cruz Contemporaneo
Madrid
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had a really good stay here, The hotel is modern, clean, very well located for exploring Santa Cruz. it is classed as being in the "Chic" district, the area did seem nice compared to some other parts we walked through. There are lots of restaurants nearby, We'd recommend Victor Cruz- tapas restaurant round the corner underneath the hotel. it did seem more like a business hotel, but worked really well for us. We sat out for a couple of hours by the pool late one afternoon which was nice, bit too cold for swimming but it was a real sun trap with plenty of seating to read and enjoy the fresh air. There is limited underground parking available- ask at reception they can see the car park on their screen and let you know if there is a space, it is free of charge and just around the corner, if not it will be street parking which is quite busy but you would find something so don't let this put you off the hotel.
We didn't think the air con/fans worked very well in the room, so it was quite warm, but perhaps it wasn't warm enough for the air con to kick in. It was good value, clean and in a good location

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Britishgoabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    384
    187
    85
    41
See reviews for
108
373
71
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I was in Santa Cruz for a business conference and we were put up at this hotel. Apart from missing a bath (they are becoming rarer and rarer!), the room was light and airy, well designed and the bathroom was cleverly thought out with plenty of space for one's toiletries which is not always the case. Very extensive choices for breakfast - and a terrific cafe/bar to chill out in the evenings offering delicious snacks/tapas. Staff very helpful and accommodating. Issues with speed of Wifi but that was the case at the three surrounding hotels, one of which was a 5 star!! They were also very flexible when we moved some of our delegates from another hotel - charming and efficient. A great find!

Room Tip: Make sure it is not one which overlooks an internal lightwell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 5 nights at the end of January when we booked a last minute trip away. The hotel is nice and quite modern, however the room was quite small and had no balcony, which made it feel like a box. The room was clean, it could have done with a bit more attention though, there was quite a bit of dust around the skirting and bedside table. The room card stopped working quite a few times, which was annoying as we were on the 5th floor and had to go back down to reception for them to fix it, 3 times on one occasion. If you're looking for a cheap hotel and are not planning to spend much time in it apart from sleeping I'd say this one would be fine, it's certainly not a bad hotel. The location is OK, everything it Santa Cruz is within walking distance. If I was returning to Santa Cruz I would likely look for an alternative, however I would not rule it out completely.

Room Tip: Don't keep your room key/card next to your phone, apparently this is why it stopped working, whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monkeyboy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed here 24-31 of December. It was Lovely. Rooms are clean and very nice. Excellent bathroom. Staff is lovely. Breakfast perfect. One big plus is the roof terrace with the pool. That really was a retreat travelling to Tenerife in December. Don't miss the hotel bar. Lovely space and delicious small dishes.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz De Tenerife
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2014

at check in was given wrong information about were to eat for evening half board meal
also was not given the key to activate safe,even though we asked if room had a safe,on trying to use the safe found if didnt work
shower head in bathroom was hanging off,plus water temp very difficult to control
sound proofing as advertised cant possible work with an ajoining room door,could hear their tv/conversation
half board meals was poor on saturday and sunday ( didnt eat on sunday due to same menu),dessert was a pot of yoghurt or 2 pieces of fruit,mondays meal was better
couldnt get wifi to work
breakfast was good quality and balcony was nice

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

I arrived Saturday for 4 nights and was on half board
The restaurant is close on the weekend and they send you to the bar , it can be noisy on weekend...
They have the same menu and only a choice over 2 entrees and 2 main so hopefully you like both of the selection otherwise you will be served the same food on Saturday night and Sunday night
Bier is not included in the half board only wine or mineral water
Food is extremely average and I will not recommend to eat at the hotel specially since the city centre is only a few minutes walking distance

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank tck1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed here a week for the Christmas in room 214, a standard room with basic amenities. Our room had a small frig, desk, good lighting, a safe (Need help from the front desk with the setting of the lock), a few hangars, bathroom amenities(with a small bit of soap for hand washing), heavy blanket in the closet in case it gets too cold, and a flat screen TV on the desk….however for Eng.channel just the BBC World News, or if there’s more choice would have been good. The room was very clean, bed was comfortable and floors were hardwood. The breakfast buffet has everything you could want to eat. Though not all staff speak English they are polite and very helpful. Swimming pool on the 5th fl, looks OK but we didn't try this time. The location is excellent....just a short walk to the nice park, the city centre and a bus (nr921) stop right in front of the hotel. By bus921 it takes just few minutes to the bus terminal, where we can take the buses to the North shore and the South part as well as the Airport South. If you don’t rent a car, then take the collective transport, but don’t forget to buy a Bono travel Card(the card is not personal. One card can be used by several persons since the cost is printed on the card each time)…..it’s so convenient with that in hand! For eg. We went to the North shore several times….the pyramid i Güimar, La Laguna and don’t miss the exciting bus ride on the mountain ride to Taganana(not for those who are fear of heights) We got very gd info at the tourist Info Centre.
Not so good: noise interference from outside the room or adjacent room noise for eg. in the early morning. Perhaps improvement needs for the free wifi, too. It is available in the hotel but perhaps for certain amount of time, you are forced to log in over and over.
Overall it’s a good hotel and we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mia987_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz de Tenerife
18.5 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#17 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
363 reviews
40.5 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#6 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3,204 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Tenerife
NH Tenerife
#3 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,760 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Colon Rambla
Hotel Colon Rambla
#2 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
543 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#10 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Santa Cruz Contemporaneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Santa Cruz Contemporaneo

Property: Occidental Santa Cruz Contemporaneo
Address: Rambla Santa Cruz 116, 38001 Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Santa Cruz de Tenerife
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Occidental Santa Cruz Contemporaneo 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Barcelo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Occidental Santa Cruz Contemporaneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Santa Cruz Contemporaneo Tenerife/Santa Cruz De Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing