We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As nice as any 4* hotel”
Review of Hostal Rocamar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Rocamar
Ranked #4 of 24 Santander B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2013

I'm not sure why this is called a hostel as I've stayed in worse 4* hotels in Madrid. At €36 a night for a twin room this was a bargain. The rooms are newly furnished and bright with free wifi, flat screen TVs and a safe.
There is a bus stop and a city bike rental point outside the front door. A 5 min walk away are the fabulous beaches and some decent restaurants, a 15 minute walk through the nearby tunnel brings you into the city centre. There is also a decent cafe in the same building which is very good value. Staff were also very friendly and I would stay here again no problemo!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Treblecle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostalrocamar, Gerente at Hostal Rocamar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Thank you very much for your comment, we are pleased to meet you and we hope to see you again. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Rocamar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2013

The hostal is a bit far from the centre, but not so far if you go through the tunnel, and there are bus stops in front of the hostal that will bring you to the centre in 5 minutes. When we got there, a nice man brought us to our room, in the third floor and when we came in, we were surprised by the cigarrette smell. Anyway, we decided not to say anything and leave the windows open until we came back. But, when we came back, the room smelled even worse, so I have to go to complain. The woman in reception gave me apologies and she showed me another room, which was ok. All the furniture, the bathroom and everything is new. The first room we went too was not too clear, there were hairs on the floor, but the second one was better.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellergirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostalrocamar, Gerente at Hostal Rocamar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

We appreciate your comments and we apologize for those people who are not too much polite and although be prohibited they smoke in the rooms, causing discomfort while commenting you even washing bedspreads and curtains.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for one night in February 2013. We were shown to a room on the 3rd floor and as soon as we walked in the door we were greeted by a very powerful smell of cigarettes. The people before us must have had a smoking party or something because it was very unpleasant. We opened all the windows and went out as we didn't have much time to waste. We came back about 8 hours later and the smell actually seemed worse, actually it was unbearable so we went to complain. The girl at the desk was very nice and apologetic and within 5 minutes we were in a new room. Which was fine, but quite noisy as it was close to reception. The hotel is close to the beach and has bus stops outside with frequent buses to the centre of the city. We both slept very well, the beds were comfortable. The shower was nice and big. So really apart from the Cigarette party room everything was fine.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Wonderboy1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostalrocamar, Gerente at Hostal Rocamar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

We appreciate your comments and we apologize for those people who are not too much polite and although be prohibited they smoke in the rooms, causing discomfort while commenting you even washing bedspreads and curtains.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

Recently spent a week in Santander, Spain while taking my son to start a college exchange program in Universidad de Cantabria, last February. This little hostal has an excellent location. A bus stop is located in front and across the street, you decide where you want to go. Within walking distance of the beach and the city center, also a few blocks away to the University. The staff was very helpful, providing information on the bus routes, places to eat and area attractions, as well as pointers that we would not be known to tourists (such as the locations on the supermarkets and where not to go at night and places to buy last minute necessities without going broke. There is also a diner in the building. The only problem we had was upon arrival, they were closed for lunch, between 2pm and 5pm, but we waited at the cafeteria. Everyone was nice an willing to help! I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostalrocamar, Gerente at Hostal Rocamar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2010

Thank you very much for your comment, it help us to improve. Reception is not closed by now on lunch time, it is open in winter from 8 until 24 h, and in summer it is open 24 h./day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2008

Stayed here in August 2008 with my girlfriend. Our room was very cramped and quite dirty with cigarette burns on the floor tiles. We left a night early as we were not enjoying ourselves.

The only plus is that it is a 10 min stroll to the beaches at El Sardinero.

Our accommodation in the rest of Spain was similarly priced and of a much greater standard (Hostal Begona in Bilbao and Hostal Poblenou in Barcelona). I had booked these because of the excellent reviews on TripAdvisor.

Avoid Hostal Rocamar!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank red_sox_rik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostalrocamar, Gerente at Hostal Rocamar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2010

Dear guest, thank you for your comment ... those problems have been resolved with the fully hostel refubishment in 2010.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Guscal00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santander hotels
4.2 mi away
Chateau La Roca Hotel
Chateau La Roca Hotel
#13 of 32 in Santander
291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Santemar Hotel
Santemar Hotel
#15 of 32 in Santander
972 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nh Ciudad De Santander
Nh Ciudad De Santander
#5 of 32 in Santander
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Chiqui
Hotel Chiqui
#6 of 32 in Santander
917 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
1,241 reviews
1.0 mi away
Silken Coliseum Hotel
Silken Coliseum Hotel
#9 of 32 in Santander
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Rocamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Rocamar

Address: Avenida Castros 41, 39005 Santander, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Santander
Price Range: £46 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Rocamar 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Rocamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing