We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”
Review of Vincci Puertochico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vincci Puertochico
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Certificate of Excellence
South Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed 22 May 2007

We stayed at this hotel in May 2007 and were impressed immediately by the level of service offered. We arrived at around 10pm and were greeted by a friendly receptionist who then gave us a map and recommendations of bars and restaurants in the area.

Everyting was within walking distance from the hotel and we were provided with a sea view room which was definaltey worth it!!

The facilities in the hotel were excellent - the rooms are modern and very business like though perfect for a short stay!

It is an extremely clean hotel and very well presented.

I would definaltey stay in this hotel again and for the price we paid it was a bargain!!

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank NishaSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincciHotels, Community Manager at Vincci Puertochico, responded to this review, 29 June 2011
To our esteemed guest:

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.

We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    202
    92
    30
    21
See reviews for
70
288
11
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chorley
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2007

Paid £166 for two people, two nights with breakfast. Room very small overlooking a side street. No balcony and not safe to open the window very far. No restaurant here so when we arrived late (Ryanair flies in at 10pm) we made do with the minibar options. There isn't really much to do in Santander, the town is very sprawling and finding places to eat and looking for good shops became quite tedious. Couldn't fault the breakfast on offer but for 12 euros per person per day you would expect it to be very good. We had lunch on our last day sitting outside on the terrace (pavement) and it was awful however. We were given a room with twin beds (hmm) but it was clean and quite modern. The standard of the paintwork on the wall left a little to be desired. As other reviews have said the reception staff are very friendly and happy to help.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank laTRIPMONSTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds - england
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2007

For the price (£44) this was an absolute bargain - we were only there 1 night so didn't bother with a seaview (when we return we probably will pay the extra). Spotless room and ideal location.

We'd spent the previous 2 nights at the Hotel Miro in Bilbao which was more than 3 times the price, there wasn't much to choose between them!

  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mdstephenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2007

Very clean, reasonable and friendly hotel. We arrived at 10pm and the room wasn't quite ready. However, our bags were looked after and the friendly staff gave us a map and info about Santander. Very welcoming. Shame we were only there 1 night!

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scott007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincciHotels, Community Manager at Vincci Puertochico, responded to this review, 29 June 2011
To our esteemed guest:

We appreciate your comments. We will pass along your praise to the hotel’s entire staff. That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day.

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2006

We booked on-line. Reasonable price. Upon arrival we found that we had been allocated a room at the rear of the hotel overlooking a side street. Our room was "not quite ready yet" and as such we where offered a "room with a sea view" for an additional 20euro per night. We declined. Returning later to take up occupancy.

In our opinion, and experience, room 805, (laminate flooring throughout with limited storage space and very noisy) and especially the bathroom (strangest shaped and claustrophobic we have ever encountered, to say the least), did not justify the hotel rating. We found the air conditioning (Dec 2006 !!!) and ventillation totally inadequate.

Particularly annoying was the sound of early morning telephone calls for other occupants echoing into our room disturbing our zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzs or shoud it be zs.

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Happyholidayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2006

We arrived early on a Monday morning and where greeted with smiles by the receptionist. She duly booked us in and allowed us to deposit our luggage in a locked room.
The hotel is very clean and very modern!! We where given a rear room and didn't experiance any other the other visitors problems.
The mini bar was well stocked if required!! and the bathroom had a hairdryer and a large supply of toiletries which was replenished daily.
The only thing we missed was a kettle!!!
We would certainly visit again.

  • Liked — Clean, well situated, Central
  • Disliked — No kettle!!!!
  • Tips/Secrets — Flat shoes as plenty of walking can be done between bars!!!!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carole-Preston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincciHotels, Community Manager at Vincci Puertochico, responded to this review, 29 June 2011
To our esteemed guest:

It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2006

I have recently come back from a half term break in Santander. We stayed at the Puertochico and I would like to recommend this hotel for the excellent and charming treatment by the staff both at reception and also by those preparing our rooms.

The staff at reception could not have been more helpful or gracious and are adept at advising on clear directions as to places to visit.

The hotel is excellent value for money, as I did not deem the rates to be terribly expensive yet the hotel is clean, light and stylish. The location is excellent with a beautiful view over the marina on the elegant c/Castelar. There are cafes nearby for breakfast and snacks and the main area for shops and restaurants is only a 5 -10 minute walk , which is very beautiful in any case, as the view all the way is of the sea and mountains.

We got great weather in Santander too - 22 degrees and sunny in October - it was raining "a cantaros" in the rest of Spain.

I did not have a marina view from my hotel room - instead I looked out onto the back street which I was very glad about as it is a beautiful street with old buildings with "cristales" - glazed balconies, a beautiful church and a cafe and shops used by locals - a snapshot of real spanish life which is what Santander is all about really - an elegant, stylish town with charming people which has retained its identity notwithstanding its popularity with tourists.

  • Liked — Charming Reception staff
  • Disliked — Rooms not ready till 3pm
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MJD74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincciHotels, Community Manager at Vincci Puertochico, responded to this review, 29 June 2011
To our esteemed guest:

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.

We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santander hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
1,213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nh Ciudad De Santander
Nh Ciudad De Santander
#5 of 32 in Santander
231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eurostars Hotel Real
Eurostars Hotel Real
#8 of 32 in Santander
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Santemar Hotel
Santemar Hotel
#13 of 32 in Santander
940 reviews
4.1 mi away
Chateau La Roca Hotel
Chateau La Roca Hotel
#14 of 32 in Santander
280 reviews
0.8 mi away
Silken Coliseum Hotel
Silken Coliseum Hotel
#10 of 32 in Santander
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci Puertochico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Puertochico

Property: Vincci Puertochico
Address: Calle Castelar 25, 39004 Santander, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincci Puertochico 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vincci Puertochico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing