We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Beautiful Place to Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peninsula of Magdalena

Peninsula of Magdalena
Ranked #1 of 85 things to do in Santander
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
3,467 reviews
3,089 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3,057 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Place to Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

The Magdalena Peninsula is a very good place to visit because it is quite beautiful. We saw the Magdalena Palace and then we saw the Museo El Hombre y La Mar, which had replicas of the ships used by Columbus to discover the New World. We enjoyed seeing the seals and penguins there too.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank BennyMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,406
    669
    86
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Worth a stroll”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were catching a ferry home and spent our last day in Santander. No 1 daughter and I decided to walk all the way along the waterfront to the palace and what a nice day we had. We passed the marina, saw people fishing, passed a pleasant beach, supped a cool beer and finally arrived at the peninsula. The "zoo" is a bit over named but there were seals and sea lions. We saw replicas of ships and read about their story. The parkland in the peninsula was very relaxing; the views were lovely and finally we saw the palace. Quite spectacular. On the way back there was another beach which took my fancy. We didn't stop at any of the cafes on the peninsula and so I cannot comment but they seemed popular enough.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AJMacD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Incredible Views, Great Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is a must see for people who love scenery!! Lots of beautiful flowers and picture perfect views of the water. I am so glad we stumbled upon this place!! We spent maybe 2 hours wandering around checking out the sea lions and taking pictures of the incredible views. It was a great way to spend a chill afternoon.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer704910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

So nice to visit the seals and penguins. Also a replica of old sailing vessels, and interesting historic information. A beautiful palace in the park, with breathtaking views of the Cantabrian Sea.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BCLOVER2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great peninsula with variety of views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Although the peninsula is small, there is a very interesting variety of things to do! You can go to the beach, walk in the small forest, watch the pinguins and sealions, rest a bit with the great view of the palace or go to the great beach and the sea. Very much recommended to wander around when visiting Santander!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank pauweldesmedt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peninsula of Magdalena also viewed

 
 

Been to Peninsula of Magdalena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing