We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Majestic coach trip”
Review of Santemar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santemar Hotel
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Reviewed 20 September 2013

There were quite a number of people on this trip who had done it before, including someone who was doing it for their seventh time, which gives you an idea of how good it is. Sardinero has fabulous beaches and parks and bars and restaurants and the casino. The coach trips were all very good. The journey back was not so good coming back to Portsmouth when we had sailed from Plymouth and the coach went to Taunton before coming back eventually to Plymouth.
With regards to the hotel, the room was very good and we had no problem at all.
Food: Buffet breakfast very good. A buffet evening meal which always consisted of a salad starter which was a bit boring but very nice. The main meal was very good except they didn't seem to understand the concept that hot food needs to be eaten hot. It wasn't very hot to start with and then you put it onto a stone cold plate! The service was very poor - one poor waiter for the whole party. Dishes just left piled in the middle of the table without being collected, but we were provided with free wine every night which was a nice surprise.
The other area for improvement is that there was no entertainment in the evening or even anywhere to sit for a drink after dinner.
The staff in general were very grim-faced especially in the reception area, but on the whole the package for this Majestic holiday was very good and we'd do it again.

Room Tip: Best at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,021)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 1,021 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

The hotel is nearby of the most glamorous and historic parts of the city but far away from the city center. You will need to walk around 20 minutes to reach there or get a taxi. The Disco in the basements is ok in weekends but the liveliest places are in the city center. I would recommend it for people searching for a quite hotel in the upper range. Staff was very attentive.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chavernys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Having only recently returned from a 4-star hotel stay in Sorrento in Italy I would seriiously doubt that this hotel is anywhere near the same rating. This was a short 5-day break for a mother and 2 daughters.

Their complete lack of the English language certainly made our stay extremely difficult and the
service in the restaurant was appalling. Ordering of the food was done in Spanish but if we wanted to make any changes the waiter spoke no English and was very was certainly not prepared to help us. In fact their attitude was not good and they showed no respect or pleasantries.

There was no tea and coffee making facilities and there was no swimming pool - despite being a 4-star hotel. Overall this hotel was not really geared up for any holiday makers - unless you are Spanish.

Would not stay in this hotel again. Serious staff problems with their attitude.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ray s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

staff was friendly, parking beneath the hotel, easy access to your auto. room was quiet, good internet connection, lovely view of beaches from the room, ,. taxi stand and bus stop nearby.very nice neighborhood also

Room Tip: beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ftg923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

With a Secure Car Park that lets You walk from the Car straight into Reception Life could not be easier. A 5 min walk takes You to the Beach and a range of Bars and Restaurants

Staff are friendly and Multilingual and It's a 10 min Drive to the Ferry Port

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larryauto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

It is nicely located close to the beach, it feels a bit old, but rooms have good space, in 5 min you are walking on the sea front, quiet area and comfortable bed made it for a good sleep. Several restaurants around, and close to the Casino (if you care about it).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfromportugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed in this hotel on a mini break with "Brittany Ferries". The reception area was very impressive very large and marble clad. The reception staff were friendly and the booking in was painless. The room we had was on the sixth floor and had a great view of the sea and a headland in the background. The air conditioned room was large, well decorated, furnished with a minibar and safe. The bathroom was well appointed with all the usual facilities. We did not dine in the hotel apart from breakfast which had a very extensive range of hot & cold food. A great start to the day.
The location was fabulous, only a couple of minutes away from the famous "Sandinero beaches".
There are numerous walks from the hotel along the well maintained beaches, gardens and promenades.
The city centre is a short bus ride away with a frequent service.
I would certainly return to Santander and the friendly Santemar hotel.

Room Tip: The higher floors have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 937Grampus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santander hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
1,284 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Chiqui
Hotel Chiqui
#6 of 32 in Santander
952 reviews
4.6 mi away
Chateau La Roca Hotel
Chateau La Roca Hotel
#13 of 32 in Santander
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Silken Rio Hotel
Silken Rio Hotel
#17 of 32 in Santander
584 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nh Ciudad De Santander
Nh Ciudad De Santander
#5 of 32 in Santander
272 reviews
1.4 mi away
Silken Coliseum Hotel
Silken Coliseum Hotel
#9 of 32 in Santander
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santemar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santemar Hotel

Address: Calle Joaquin Costa 28, 39005 Santander, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santander
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santander
Price Range: £39 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santemar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hoteles Santos , Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Santemar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santemar Hotel Santander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing