We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location”
Review of Santemar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santemar Hotel
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Derby
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“location”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

location was brilliant
great for ferry to UK
no cheap breakfast option-13euros was a bit steep- went across the road for 6 euros for 2
staff couldnt find my booking at first and kept me waiting half an hour in high temperatures while it was sorted, usually wouldnt be a problem expect we were in full biking kit
had booked underground parking but they were fully booked when we turned up from arriving on the evening ferry.. we werent impressed. but they let us park in the laundry area for free instead.

Room Tip: no idea-were only there 1 night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    383
    231
    55
    29
See reviews for
213
308
26
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

If you go there with lower expectations of a four-star hotel, you'll have a very pleasant stay. The bed is not the most comfortable, compared to higher end Hilton/Marriott chains, the overall decor is outdated, and noise level is a problem at night if you don't tightly close your windows. On the other hand, location is great (just a 2 minute walk from your room to the beach; 5-7 mins walk to supermarket, Lupe Mercado; nice stroll to Peninsula de la Magdalena); hotel restaurants served decent fare; housekeeping staff were very friendly and very efficient; front desk staff were less friendly but helpful enough when prompted. Finally, if you're traveling with children, staff and facilities were very family friendly. TIPS: 1) ample FREE off-street parking and 2) ask for hotel's beach towels at front desk.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLK417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

I had a room on the 7th floor and I had a bit of a view of the sea but the trees were in the way. One floor higher and it would have been perfect. But its not the view alone why I would choose this hotel again. Its also because of the central location (beach nearby) and the generous breakfast buffet. I had a twin bed room with a fridge, A/C, TV. Basically all you need for a nice stay. Since I am sensitive to noise I liked the fairly quiet A/C during the night. If I woud have to mention something negative I would mention the beds. Two single beds but not very comfortable, easy to slide around in the room and fairly small.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank flindstroem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Spent here 5 nights due to a conference. Everything here is by the book + great location. The mini bar in our room did not open, and we had to ask 3 times for assistance. However, we had a wonderful time there.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ePreter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Really nice Hotel. Short distance from the port. Room very comfortable and clean as was the rest of the Hotel. Food was excellent on each of our eight nights stay. Reception staff and restaurant staff all very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROBERT W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhodes, Greece
Level Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Friendly English speaking staff and helpful when a reservation issue occurred. Tasty breakfast. Convenient location, not in the city center but not very far. Nice sandy beach and nice walk to Magdalenas Castle. And above all, clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VivianStudios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located less than a block from the ocean. The breath taking beach at the end of the street is alone worth the cost. The rooms are a bit worn and the walls are thin, but they do offer a very good breakfast Buffett.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Cubanjimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santander hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Victoria
Gran Hotel Victoria
#8 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Sardinero
Gran Hotel Sardinero
#4 of 32 in Santander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Chiqui
Hotel Chiqui
#7 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
1.4 mi away
Silken Coliseum Hotel
Silken Coliseum Hotel
#10 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vincci Puertochico
Vincci Puertochico
#11 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santemar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santemar Hotel

Property: Santemar Hotel
Address: Calle Joaquin Costa 28, 39005 Santander, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santander
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Santemar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santemar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santemar Hotel Santander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing