We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,199)
Filter reviews
1,199 results
Traveller rating
250
537
296
73
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
537
296
73
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspleasant areacoach tripbin mencourse set menuwalls are thinunderground parkinglarge hotelwifi receptionbars and restaurantsearly riserslaundry servicebig showergood sizelocation is fantasticchoose this hotelpleasant hotelhotel is located
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 1,199 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2017

We stayed as part of a big group. The hotel itself is well run, and the rooms comfy. They are, however, not at all soundproof. It is very close to the beautiful beach, and breakfast had a wide selection and good coffee.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FelixLeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL SANTEMAR H, DIRECTOR at Santemar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,


Francisco Agudo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

Santemar is outdated and badly in need of modernization. If you are looking for a REAL 4 star hotel, this isn’t for you. We paid for a double room and got a family room connecting us to ANOTHER ROOM. Although we could lock the door on our side there was absolutely no soundproof and we could hear the couple next door even whispering. I called reception straight away to ask for another room and the receptionist said they had none. I asked to speak to a manager and he said the managers were all gone home. No more, not even an apology. So there you go. Pictures show a camp bed instead of a decent double bed, an ancient minibar, a dilapidated hallway and the connecting door to the room next door.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank IrelandsIslandHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL SANTEMAR H, DIRECTOR at Santemar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Sincerely,

Francisco Agudo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

I spent 4 nights here last week and the hotel staff were fine, but the services are really more two star than four. Breakfast is totally self service, and staff are needed to serve coffee and tea for the number of people at breakfast.
There are no tea and coffee making facilities in the bedroom or ironing boards.

The bar is more like a cafeteria and it closes early around 11pm, so there is a lack of service there too. When staying at a hotel I expect these services as a norm, because it is not a hostel and has a four star rating.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Sher3154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL SANTEMAR H, DIRECTOR at Santemar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

Francisco Agudo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

We stayed here as part of an organised coach trip to Santander & the surrounding area. Our rooms were on the first floor and, although there was a lift up to the first floor, there was then a short flight of about a dozen steps up to the corridor with the rooms. If you have heavy bags it might be worth getting a member of the hotel staff to bring them up for you.

Our room was a good size, twin beds, clean & well maintained. Large TV, generally good wifi reception in the room. (We only had problems with wifi reception once, on a Friday evening and that was probably because there were a lot of people using it.) Large bathroom with a big shower & selection of toiletries. There was a fridge in the room with some expensive drinks and also some expensive snacks available. Buy your own in the supermarket just behind the casino instead. The supermarket also stocked some local craft beers which are worth trying and can be kept cool in the fridge too.

As is pretty normal in continental Europe, there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room so if you like a cup of tea first thing in the morning bring your own kettle, teabags & cups. Milk is available in the supermarket (beware - except for the bakery section, it's not open on Sundays) and can be kept in the fridge.

Others have mentioned the poor soundproofing between rooms and I can confirm this. The walls must be very thin. Luckily we were at the end of the corridor and only had one neighbouring room and they were fairly quiet. There was also quite a lot going on outside at night - bin men at some ungodly hour and there's a disco on the ground floor too. There was a wedding reception on one night when we were there - I'd suggest bringing earplugs, even if you don't end up using them.

Breakfast was good, buffet style with a good selection of food. I'd like boiling water for tea instead of boiled water in vacuum flasks and maybe an extra toaster but that's just nit-picking.

We tried the bar when we first arrived - my wife asked for a sangria to be told 'no' by Mr Grumpy the barman so we just had a glass of wine each. That was the only time we used the hotel bar - there are other places with friendlier staff nearby.

There's not much to do in the immediate area. The casino if you like gambling, superb beaches and some nice walks along the coast and around the Peninsula de la Magdalena. It's a pleasant 30 minutes walk into the main part of town, or you can get a bus.

As part of our coach trip, an evening meal was provided by the hotel. Some of our party weren't too taken with the food provided but we had no problems, there was a reasonable choice and always a large selection of cold meats and salads if you didn't fancy the hot meat or fish dishes. It might have been useful if there were labels, though - On one evening many of us ate the sauce intended for the fish thinking that it was the soup. I should stress that this food was provided especially for our coach party and was not the meals provided in the hotel dining room.

We found the staff to be generally pleasant and friendly, it's a nice hotel and we'd be happy to visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianRelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL SANTEMAR H, DIRECTOR at Santemar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Francisco Agudo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

We stayed for 5 nights, and found the desk team really welcoming ,we were lucky enough to get the last room on the 9th floor , so we were semi detached as such, so neighbouring rooms did not bother us with noise as in previous reviews, the breakfast was lovely loads of choice and no queuing the team in the breakfast room were lovely. The downstairs restaurant was another case however, we tried our best to speak Spanish as it is polite, but the staff were rude ,also the food was not the best. My husband left his whole meal as it was not to his taste, the waitress took it away without even enquiring what was wrong. What a shame this restaurant gave the hotel a bad name.

Room Tip: Top floor last room
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cath066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL SANTEMAR H, DIRECTOR at Santemar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Francisco Agudo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews