We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”
Review of Santemar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santemar Hotel
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Reviewed 13 November 2006

Just returned from 3 night break at the Santemar and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Ryanair flights were excellent and a real bargain at £37 return!
Hotel Facilities/Service: Hotel is a pretty ugly concrete building from the outside, but rooms are nicely furnished, modern and well maintained. Check in procedure went smoothly and our room was ready for us despite arriving at 10.00 am. Maids did an excellent job and room kept very clean, with beds turned down each evening and a complimentary chocolate. Didn't seem to have air conditioning, which would be a huge problem in the summer months. All you can do is open the window, which didn't help much. Bathroom is modern and toiletries are replenished daily. Powerful shower and good hair dryer. No brewing facilities - we took our own kettle as we're typically British and love our cuppas. We stayed room only as breakfast at hotel was expensive. Got a good rate of £50 per night for a triple room - try venere.com as you pay on checkout. The walls are really thin, as per previous reviews, but we were fortunate to have considerate neighbours so no problems for us. Comfortable bed so slept well. You can purchase breakfast locally for 2.25 euros at a bar near the Casino.
Location of Hotel: The hotel is located outside of Santander in the El Sardinero area. Some rooms have sea views (ours didn't but was fine) Absolutely gorgeous beaches, huge size, immaculately clean and very quiet in November despite the weather being quite sunny and warm when we were there. No litter, promenade hosed down and sand cleaned daily. You won't find many nicer beaches in the whole of Spain! Would love to retire here! Quite a surprise really.
Local Amenities: There is a local supermarket "Lupa" near the Casino which is just around the corner, and quite a few bars and restaurants around the Plaza Italia - the Mexican restaurant next to the supermarket highly recommended with cocktails for 3 euros. Places to avoid are the Chinese "Mulan" - very smelly carpet and mediocre food - and "Cafe Bar Oh" where we were ripped off on a massive scale - 20 euros for 4 drinks which had been costing 8 euros elsewhere. Gutted! Be warned - steer clear of this bar and its extortionate prices and service with a scowl!
Language: English is not widely spoken and although I do speak a little Spanish, my pronuniciation confused a few of the locals! My pocket dictionary came in very handy, especially with the menus!
Transport: Their transport system puts ours to shame. Taxi from the airport costs approx 17 euros but is well worth the convenience. Regular bus service into Santander, takes 10 mins and costs 1 euro single, preferred staying in El Sardinero because of the lovely beaches and easy access to Santander.
Things to see: Santander Cathedral, Town Hall, Mercado de Este, promenade, Palacio de la Magdalena, Cabo Mayor lighthouse. You can walk right along the promenade from El Sardinero into Santander. Takes about 35 minutes and is very pleasant. Local footie team Racing Santander - their stadium is in El Sardinero about a 10 minute walk from hotel. We went to see them play top of league Sevilla. Good experience but at 30 euros for the cheapest seats, comparable price to the UK.
Prices: Food and drink is generally cheaper than the UK - apart from Cafe Bar Oh, rip-off merchants (see above)
Overall, I would highly recommend a visit to Santander, particularly with a cheap Ryanair deal. The Santemar is a good place to stay, but you would definitely need air conditioning in the summer.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jules K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,048)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 165 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2006

I initally stayed at the Santemar for 2 nights in Feb-05 and returned for a visit with my partner in May-05. I booked directly via the hotels website and received an excellent rate of approx £38 per night for the room. The hotel is close to the beautiful clean beach separated by a busy road. We requested sea facing room but upon arrival at the room found our request had not been met. On returning to the reception, we had trouble being understood as the staff spoke very little English but eventually our request was honoured. The room was an average size, but with executive style furniture and minibar. The bathroom had white marble & crome fittings and was clean, and although the shower was fantastically powerful, temperature fluctuations were a bit annoying. We had taken a portable music player with us and had it on low, but rather embarassingly for us the occupants from the next room banged on the door asking us to turn it down. Later we discovered that the hotel had very thin walls as we were subjected to our neighbours bedroom activity (!) and then their snoring, and we also heard their 6.00 am call VERY clearly. The nightclub beneath the hotel had a dress code, served very drinks and the music was typically Spanish. In May it was full of locals - very few toursits in May. Overall the hotel was smart and it met our needs and the nearby beach restaurants and cafes were excellent. Although close to the beach, the Santemar is not near the main historic and shopping centre of Santander which is about a 30 minute walk/10 minute car ride away. Very few locals in the town spoke English so ordering food wasn't easy. Learning a few Spanish phrases would be useful.

  • Stayed: May 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2005

Just spent the weekend at the Santemar. The hotel is situated in the northern part of Santander in the "beach" area. The nearest beach is 50 meters from the hotel and very clean. There are plenty of restaurants in the nearby location, which can cater for families. English is not widely spoken in the area, but with a few of the basic phrases you can easily get by. The main shopping area of the town is about a 45 minute walk from the hotel along the sea front. The hotel was very clean with excellent room service. The hotel restaurant was a bit expensive but the food was good and served to a high standard. The front desk personnel were polite, helpful and spoke English. I found the rooms to be comfortable and clean which is what you need. They do not have coffee making facilities in the rooms though. I would certainly stay at the location again. Visitors to Spain do need to be aware that smoking is very common in everyday life and there are very few non smoking restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lumpyfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London England
12
Reviewed 6 April 2005

We twin sisters had a lovely mini break, we found the staff all to be friendly and helpful, going out of their way to make our short stay a welcome one. The surrounding area was peaceful but still interesting shopping, walks, bars and restaurants. Santemar we love you

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2004

Just got back from a 5 day stay at this hotel - big modern convention centre type of hotel -location, food and cleanliness of rooms all tip-top, but hotel was let down by very poor soundproofing between rooms - could hear every word of conversations in surrounding rooms, not too mention every bathroom sound and was kept awake by man next door snoring so loudly all night that it seemed the room was shaking! Walls must be made of paper.
Pity because otherwise everything very good.

  • Stayed: September 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Basilino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Rochester, MI
18
Reviewed 8 August 2004

This is the worst experience we had at ANY hotel. We (I and my friend) had an all paid reservation for three nights and were there for a conference. Upon arriving, the reception told that we have room reserved only for two nights. We immediately showed thenm the paid credit card receipts, the credit card bill, confirmation and receipts from conference and all but they refused to honor any of it. Conference organizers also talked to them but that was no help either (hotel's reason was that they have a bankers' conference on third day but I still wonder what happened to our reservation). We had no choice but to move to another hotel for the third night.

The two nights wwe spent there were no better. We asked them to give us a wake up call at 6:30 am which never happened. Realizing that this is a hopeless place with hopeless service, we did not ask for a wake up call the next day, but we got a wake up call promptly at 4 am as if to make up for thier previously missed call!! I really sympathize with those guests, who actually got our call the first day and whose call, we got the next day. I bet that make us three unhappy parties.

So, what is my recomendation?? You may very well sleep on the beach but don't even consider this hotel. This is hopeless!! By the way, I did tell them, before leaving that I am going to post my negative review of their hotel on web, so here it is.

Good luck if you still plan to stay there!!

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ricardo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santander hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
1,336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silken Rio Hotel
Silken Rio Hotel
#17 of 32 in Santander
617 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
#1 of 32 in Santander
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Chiqui
Hotel Chiqui
#5 of 32 in Santander
976 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Victoria
Gran Hotel Victoria
#9 of 32 in Santander
504 reviews
1.4 mi away
Silken Coliseum Hotel
Silken Coliseum Hotel
#8 of 32 in Santander
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santemar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santemar Hotel

Address: Calle Joaquin Costa 28, 39005 Santander, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santander
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santander
Price Range: £30 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santemar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hoteles Santos , Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Santemar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santemar Hotel Santander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing