We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous Hotel, highly recommend!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bahia Santander

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Bahia Santander
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Certificate of Excellence
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Hotel, highly recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

This is a gorgeous hotel, well appointed, spacious room and bath. It is well located in the city, restaurants and shops are mere steps away. The walkway along the harbor is across the street. The staff was helpful and friendly. It is in the middle of everything, but our room was very quiet.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ5605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    405
    61
    13
    5
See reviews for
262
496
36
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

As others have said great location for the ferry terminal. You just walk across the road as a foot passenger. And the hotel even helped us across with our luggage.
We had a huge room plus separate lounge (416). On the corner with double aspect albeit views of the ferry terminal and port.
Hotel felt in need of refurbishment but was comfortable and service was generally good. Food was poor and very overpriced.

Room Tip: Corner Junior suites are big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

After a wet ride back from Portugal I needed a room to warm up and spend the night whilst waiting for the Ferry.On arrival I was warmly welcomed despite walking into this 5 star hotel in all my wet biking kit , Lid in hand.
Car parking charges seemed a bit steep at 13 Euros a night but my motorcycle was allowed to park for free.Finding your way to the Underground carpark is an adventure...
I obtained an excellent room for one on the seventh floor with all required faclities except tea and coffee making etc..
I was charged 60 euros for the night which included free wifi.this was 10 euros less than was advertised on the internet so it should be worth haggling.
Breakfast was great, lots of food not just bread.However Hot Dog sausages for breakfast was a little surreal.
The complementary toiletries welcome pack was very comprehensive...including boot cleaning equipment!!
TV, Wifi, Mini Bar, Air Con,Towels, Room Service, Large bathroom.
Would definateley recomend an overnighter here as its in the heart of the city and 20 metres from the ferry entrance with local bars and Tapas easily within walking distance.
Liked the hotel and the City of Santander so much I am considering a short city break there later in the year.

Room Tip: Try to get breakfast included in the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom975478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

We wanted to have a night and morning in Santander prior to catching the afternoon ferry. So I wanted a hotel that was central and near the ferry terminal. Hotel Bahia met the criteria. The suite I booked was spacious and the bed large and comfortable. The set meal in the restaurant was good value. The only negatives were that there was no tea/coffee making facilities in the bedroom, the internet facilities were not working and the english TV channels were very few . Oh and we never got to do any sightseeing as it was pouring with rain all the time

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foxdown88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

Ideal hotel if you are using Brittany ferries back to the UK. The entrance to the ferry is directly across the road from the hotel.
We paid extra for a front room, overlooking the Bay of Santander and watched the Cap Finistere sail up the bay until she docked! The rooms are pricey but for such a sea view worth it.
The underground carpark is expensive at just over €14 per day but otherwise you would be lucky to find anywhere to park!
The restaurant did not have much choice although the fixed price menu was good value for money - for 2 of us we had 3 courses, a full bottle of wine, full bottle of water and tea/coffee for €18 each.
There are instructions for the free wi-fi in each room and they worked! No need to contact reception - very easy to follow.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mald03ives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

Port towns tend not to be attractive and Santander is mostly 70s type high rises with some older sections (much of the centre was destroyed by a fire in the 40s). But the city merits a stopover if departing or arriving in Spain via ferry. We were travelling back to the UK on the Brittany Ferries MV Pont Aven and spent a welcome night here after driving up from Santiago de Compostela. We detoured off route on entering town to fill up with Spanish non-perishables (ok, Riserva Rioja) which was probably just as well as locating the car park entry was not easy. Tip: set the satnav to the hotel and pull up at the hotel entrance, offload and have them expain how to get to the carpark (essentially, turn 1st right on roundabout then 2nd exit on right). Entry takes some negotiating but don't let previous reviews scare you too much. You descend in an admittedly tight car lift and then there are a few tight turns -keep your nerve and don't go above 5mph and you'll be fine. As there was space I turned my car to face forward which was a good idea when exiting next day in a much fuller carpark. Hotel is a hop,skip and jump from port so just leave car there until you are ready to go -anything worth seeing is in easy walking distance bar the beaches. You only need to be at check in 45mins before departure so don't get caught up in the "park early but be back 2 hrs before departure" crush. That alone makes the carpark charge a worthwhile investment.Hotel is like an early 80s Crowne Plaza/Marriott. Lots of marble and glass. We were on the top floor (10th). There's a quite noisy machine room above so if returning I'd go for a high floor (bay views) but maybe floors 8/9. Big, comfortable, generically kitted out rooms with large bathrooms, good showers, A/C, satellite TV and great views. Rear view is to city and overlooks the (unremarkable) Neo-Romanesque cathedral. Breakfast buffet is large and good (try and include it in tariff). Promenade along front of the hotel is a pleasant walk and you're not far from the Market and excellent restuarants and tapas bars. Free wifi. Some street noise (you're in a Spanish city centre at a port, after all) but good double-glazing. Rooms a bit dated and there's no pool/gym.Helpful,friendly staff were a real plus. Instead of the anticipated stopoff this was a fun part of our trip and we rose relaxed and refreshed for our onward journey.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ARDNAHOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

Stayed 2 nights b & b as part of Brittany Ferries package, excellent large room facing sea, everything worked well including a/c. Underground garage served by vehicle lift, would be slow to access at busy times. Staff helpful in direction and there waiting to unload car.
Food good, excellent Gin and Tonic (huge) very welcome after late arrival. Central location, generally flat walks to sites.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank forester696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santander hotels
1.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Sardinero
Gran Hotel Sardinero
#4 of 32 in Santander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
#1 of 32 in Santander
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silken Coliseum Hotel
Silken Coliseum Hotel
#9 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Victoria
Gran Hotel Victoria
#7 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Chiqui
Hotel Chiqui
#6 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
1.3 mi away
Eurostars Hotel Real
Eurostars Hotel Real
#10 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bahia Santander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bahia Santander

Property: Hotel Bahia Santander
Address: Calle Cadiz 22, 39002 Santander, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bahia Santander 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bahia Santander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing